We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

HomeBase Melville

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
HomeBase Melville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
Start your review of HomeBase Melville
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The accommodation is suited for backpackers. The Hostel is located in Melville. Supermarkets, shopping malls or the famous 7th street are a 5min walk away. The dormitories and 2-person bedrooms are cosy. There are enough toilets and showers, the kitchen is well equipped and quite huge. The common areas, pool, bar, and outdoor lounge provide a comfortable atmosphere. All common...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kersten K
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very friendly and helpful staff. Went asking for a single room instead of sleeping in a dorm. This was arranged within a minute. Showers were good. Location was close by some shopes a supermarket and restaurants. There able to arrange a safe airport transfer for you.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacobgoudsbloem
Florence
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Love the place, friendly staff and nice place . Love the caramel vodka and the barbaque. 😊😊😊😊😊😊 Just a stop over for the trip down to Kimberley and the animals. All ages stayed here so its a good mix.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tone M
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Homebase for 2 nights as part of SAVE. This was my first time staying at a hostel and I was very happy with my experience. Location was off the main strip. Conveniently located within walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants. The rooms were clean and sufficient with different options available. I appreciated that the gate required...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brit120
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Hostel located in a safe neighborhood of Johannesburg. The staff is nice and helpful. Basic breakfast included, so do not expect a big variety. We used a private double room, which was small, but comfortable. The bathrooms were very basic, but clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxime A
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here the first day of our Africa adventure. We had a nice room with a great bed. Which I always find great after a long day traveling. The hostel does a lot of work hosting volunteer workers for animal centers so we met some nice people there. The guy running the place told us there was a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeroen V
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

A home converted to hostel! Basic breakfast but ok! Clean enough, in a safe neighbourhood and really warm "home" atmosphere. Really helpful and friendly staff and young people from all around the world to interact with!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex K
Wenhaston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2016

This hostel was recommended to me by a fellow traveller and on the whole it was okay. A shaky start when all the activities I had prearranged with them via email, started to change in price due to me only being one person, even though I had stated this in the emails. The trip I did do through them was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Frankie B
Reviewed 7 June 2016

I hardly ever write reviews about most places we have stayed because I understand what can happen in backpackers... and even in this case i was not going to until i saw a review about racist treatment - so clearly it was not a one off. My experience at HomeBase Melville left me with a bitter taste in my mouth....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tendai88
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 7 May 2016

Two of the three double rooms we had booked were rather smelly and one of the bed was quite terrible (springs poking through). Showers do work, you just need to wait for a good 5 minutes until the warm water arrives. But once it's there, it's good. Atmosphere isn't what one would typically find in a youth hostel. The tv...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel_Sbt
Jaysoncvl, Owner at HomeBase Melville, responded to this review

Hi there Rachel! We apologies for the discomfort of your stay. We have found the mattresses that you mentioned in the review, and we have replaced it with a new one! Thank you for letting us know! It was unusually quite during the period that you stayed with us, and that may have been why you didn't feel there was...

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
6.5 km away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#1 of 93 in Johannesburg
184 reviews
10.5 km away
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
#3 of 93 in Johannesburg
180 reviews
0.7 km away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#4 of 288 in Johannesburg
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
The Birches Backpackers
The Birches Backpackers
#6 of 93 in Johannesburg
29 reviews
3.8 km away
Once in Joburg
Once in Joburg
#1 of 1 in Braamfontein
31 reviews
0.9 km away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#3 of 288 in Johannesburg
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Offering an outdoor pool, HomeBase Melville is located in Johannesburg. The property has BBQ facilities and guests can use the shared kitchen and TV area. Free WiFi access is available. Other facilities offered at the property include a garden, tour desk and free parking. The hostel is 3.1 km from Parkview Golf Club, 8.1 km from Johannesburg Stadium and 11.2 km from Gold Reef City & Casino. O.R. ... more   less 

Additional Information about HomeBase Melville

Address: 37 First Avenue, Johannesburg 2109, South Africa (Formerly Melville International Backpackers)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: €12 - €38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HomeBase Melville 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your HomeBase Melville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from HomeBase Melville staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from HomeBase Melville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Travel from OR Tambo to hostel -> gautrain to city center (station 'Park'), take cab from there. Gautrain: 150 ZAR, cab: 100 ZAR, both safe”
 of 5 bubbles 379gertjans, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Shared room 8 beds Female”
 of 5 bubbles 758mariliaf, 5 Jul 2015 | Read review
“There can be problems with them with fi availability ”
 of 5 bubbles Monkfis, 1 Jul 2015 | Read review
“My room was cheap because i booked a week from online and from my country Ghana before i arrived. Every guest have a key to enter their room, a locker, and electronic security code to go in and out when you want. They also have books which you can enjoy on the roof top. I can only stay in Melville when in Johannesburg.... saves money, make you know people, breakfast is free, if you know how to socialize then everything you are looking for is in Melville *wink*. my name is Percy and am from Ghana, West Africa.”
 of 5 bubbles 633percya, 3 May 2015 | Read review
“Dorms looked clean but basic, there is camping space on a raised deck which looked nice, but the timber cabanas are the way to go if you can”
 of 5 bubbles 14Sparrow, 19 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5