We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Outlook Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Outlook Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Outlook Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 231: English reviews
London
Reviewed 12 May 2016

A great place, it really feels like home. Francois and the team are so welcoming. The food was brilliant. I loved the room so spacious with everything you need. It's so close to the airport and not far from a shopping mall

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirsty M
OutlookGM, General Manager at Outlook Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Kirsty I am pleased to hear that you felt welcome and comfortable at Outlook Lodge, we want our guests to feel friends and the team at the Lodge are extremely good at doing that. I hope that you will stay with us again should future travels bring you our way again.

Bellevue, Washington
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Very efficient. Knowledgeable always there when needed. Inn keeper was great. breakfast was fresh and ample. Free Wifi in lobby The safari was wonderful. Very accommodating Gave us warm ponchos in the morning drives. Fabulous breakfast & dinner Only complaint was no hot water X2days & TV didn't work for 1day at the Johannesburg lodge

 Report
Helpful?
Thank devaultj
OutlookGM, General Manager at Outlook Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there I am happy to know that your safari with Outlook was such a great experience. Our team in the Kruger National Park make us very proud. At Outlook we always try to do our bit for the planet and to avoid contributing to global warming. To this end we replaced all our hot water boilers with heat-pumps and...

Maryland suburbs of DC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

We booked the Outlook Lodge when booking our Outlook Safari because it was simple and I knew nothing about Johannesburg - we just needed a place to lay our heads and recover from our 17 hour flight from the US before heading to Kruger. We arrived to a warm, gracious welcome from Francois, an excellent dinner and a clean, well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan G
OutlookGM, General Manager at Outlook Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Susan, I am very happy to read about your stay at Outlook Lodge. Francois and Milton are wonderful people and we are lucky to have them on our team. We look forward to having you stay with us again some time in the future.

Krueger national park
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Room was dirty-mold in shower. Sheets in bed smelled like very musty old rags. There is no real reception/check in area. Staff greeted us inside the building, handed me a key and that was it. While staff friendly, the facility is poor -not in good neighborhood or condition. Good attempt in breakfast but food cold.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S4957XFanns
OutlookGM, General Manager at Outlook Lodge, responded to this review

This person did not stay at Outlook Lodge Lakefield. We do not understand why a person who has never been a guest of ours would fabricate a poor reviews, we do however invite him / her to stay with us so he / she can see what Outlook Lodge Lakefield is really like Thank you :)

Marble, NC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Granted South Africa is a long way from the USA--we knew that; but after 28 hours of travel, we needed the "comforts" of home. The Outlook Lodge became our home away from home. From the meeting at the airport by Moss to the greeting at the lodge's doorway by Francois, we were ushered into a relaxed atmosphere that left us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FarmerDaveMarble_NC
OutlookGM, Manager at Outlook Lodge, responded to this review

Hi FarmerDaveMarble_NC I am so happy to read that you felt at home with us :) It was lovely having you as our guests and I look forward to another visit from you. Kind Regards Francois

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016

We chose Outlook Lodge based on the location ( we were visiting our elderly parents who live in the area) and reviews and we weren't disappointed! Francois, the manager is absolutely charming, very accommodating, friendly and helpful. He makes the guests feel special and valued with his very personable manner. The lodge is situated within a gated community in a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan & Monique W
OutlookGM, Manager at Outlook Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Alan & Monique W, Thank you very much for your review, it will help us immensely in bettering our services and making it more comfortable for future guests. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure having you as our guests :) I look forward to having you visit us again...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 April 2016

This review is long overdue but, here we go. My wife and I stayed at the Outlook Lodge for 2 nights (1 night before and 1 night after our safari). Francois is a wonderful host, actually he went up and beyond being a host, he's very friendly and accommodating. Offering you different activities to do while you're in Joburg as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
OutlookGM, Manager at Outlook Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Jim :) I am so happy to read that you had such a good stay with us, it was a pleasure having you as our guests and I look forward to having you visit again. Kimani is a big boy by now and is keeping us on our toes. Kind Regards Francois

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 April 2016

In Februari we stayed at the Outlook Lodge and I would like to share something about this. We had a great time. In the first place our driver Moss, who picked us up. What a great driver and friendly guy. Then our arrival at the lodge. The welcome was super and warm. It felt like coming home. Francois is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlies B
OutlookGM, Manager at Outlook Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Marlies B, I am very pleased to read that you had such a good time with Outlook, it was really great having you as our guests. I can't wait to have you visit us again. Kind Regards Francois

Reviewed 30 March 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights on my trip to South Africa in between safari in Kruger National Park and Cape town. The lodge is beautiful with stunning rooms with exceptional bathrooms! We were picked up and dropped back to the airport hassle free. Francois who runs the lodge is so lovely, very sociable and made us feel very welcome!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola ✩ H
OutlookGM, Manager at Outlook Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Nicola! I am so happy to read that you liked staying with us ;) It was lovely having you as our guests and I look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Francois

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We very much enjoyed our stay here. Francois was very welcoming. Food was delicious & plentiful! The rooms were very cozy & spacious. The location was just right. Close, but not too close, to the airport. We would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
OutlookGM, Manager at Outlook Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Susan, I am so happy to know that you had a good time stay with us. It was lovely having you as our guests and I hope that we will have you staying with us again soon. Kind Regards Francois

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benoni
9.1 km away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 25 in Kempton Park
1,624 reviews
4.4 km away
Silverbirch @ Birchwood
Silverbirch @ Birchwood
#1 of 7 in Boksburg
304 reviews
10.1 km away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#3 of 25 in Kempton Park
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
4.6 km away
Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
8.4 km away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Outlook Lodge offers great value for money with home from home comforts in a tranquil gated community. We cater for discerning travelers, professionals, avid safari enthusiasts and families alike.Originally established as an overnight stop for guests embarking on safari with us, it now boasts a 4 star grading and confidently claims to surpass international standards, maintaining the highest possible levels of professionalism, hygiene and comfort.The rooms are tastefully furnished to celebrate South Africa's wonderful diversity of wildlife and spectacular landscapes. Breakfast is a scrumptious affair, while lunch and dinner is served on request at minimal extra charge. Special dietary requirements are catered for.Being right next to a golf course and within 5 minutes' walk from a gym and the Korsman Bird Sanctuary offers our guests activity on our doorstep. Day excursions to explore all that Gauteng has to offer can be booked through the lodge.We have been operating safaris to the Kruger National Park since 1998 and specialize in this region of South Africa. All safaris are conducted by professional safari guides employed by ourselves. You will deal with us personally and safaris generally leave from the Outlook Lodge. Options vary from budget camping to luxury lodge safaris.We are situated about 15 minutes' drive from Johannesburg's OR Tambo airport and offer transfers to and from the airport by prior arrangement at a minimal charge.We look forward to meeting you!. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Outlook Lodge

Address: 1 Ambleside Avenue | Lakefield, Benoni 1501, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Price Range: €41 - €64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outlook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Outlook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outlook Lodge Benoni, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Outlook Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Outlook Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 is my room, please look after it!!”
 of 5 bubbles Plaste1, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in one across the courtyard and up some steps that was quiet and spacious..”
 of 5 bubbles alanr302, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The queen room is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles ragboat, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Every room is perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles Balu_Szabo, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in room #1, large bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles boo98, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay