We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 45: English reviews
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

I got squashed in a single bed for one night......very uncomfortable. big up to the reception staff and specifically Ntate Joe, what a jolly guy to customer. The location of city Centre is not that viable but at least the parking is safe .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thobejsj
Pieter V, General Manager at BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central, responded to this review

Dear Thobjsj Thank you very much for your review after your recent stay at the BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central. I am glad to hear that you were impressed with the service that you received from our reception staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central. Kind Regards Pieter van Rooyen General Manager More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I attended a conference at the hotel. It is an old hotel,very clean and a central location. i wouldnt comment about the rooms because i didnt not see them. The furniture is vintage/old type, food was average but the staff members were very professional and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank silindilec
Pieter V, General Manager at BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central, responded to this review

Dear Silindilec thank you very much for your feedback after your recent conference at the BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central. I am glad to hear that you were impressed with the service received from our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central. Kind Regards Pieter van Rooyen General Manager More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2016

a city is a city but the hotel is centrally located. I felt safe with basement parking and room security. Linen and towels were new, clean and fresh and care have been taken in preparing for our stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank jacojacobs50
Pieter V, General Manager at BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central, responded to this review

Dear jacojacobs50 Thank you very much for your feedback after your recent visit to the BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please be assured that I will congratulate the Team for doing a great job. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central. Pieter van Rooyen... More 

Harrismith, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2016

The hotel was very noisy at night. Guests who arrived late made noise in the corridors and we heard in the room as if they were in the room. The room was spacious. The toilet was very noisy when it was flushed. The cleanliness of the room was not the best but was acceptable. Check-in and check-out were acceptable. Parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank MsimangaMR
Pieter V, Director of Sales at BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central, responded to this review

thank you for sharing your comment with us and once again thank you for choosing Bon hotel during your stay in bloemfontein in future we promise to provide world class service from the reception are to the rooms and we will make sure that the food is up to standard,and we will provide fast service in our bar More 

Bloemfontein
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

Spend the day at the hotels conference centre. The venue was very clean, neat and tidy. Coffee and snacks were tasty. The venue has projectors and wireless mics and speakers. All worked exceptionally well. Their was water and sweets on every table, which was replenishing often. Lunch was presentable and tasty. Lunch room was also neat and tidy. This is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike_de_Meyer
Pieter V, General Manager at BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Mike de Meyer Thank you very much for your feedback after attending a conference at the Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Central yesterday. Your positive feedback is much appreciated and I will definitely congratulate the team for doing a great job. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Central. Kind Regards Pieter van Rooyen... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2016

I think the worst thing about this hotel is the location. It is in a truly dangerous area, so much so that security didn't allow me to go outside after hours. The hotel is very close to clubs. The hotel itself I experienced as average. I had no complaints, service was reasonable and the rooms were good and clean. Parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank KirstenPTA
Pieter V, General Manager at BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central, responded to this review

Good Afternoon KirstenPTA Thank you very much for your feedback after your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Central. I am glad to hear that you were happy with the service and facilities of the Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Central. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with our location. Kind Regards Pieter van Rooyen General Manager More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2016

I spent the night of Thursday, April 7, 2016 in this hotel, in Room 510. The room was big, and had a fridge with a complimentary bottle of water as well as a safe deposit box. The room was spotlessly clean, and it had a good wi-fi connection.On the second floor was a classy, English-style pub, which closes at 11.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Moronge O
Pieter V, General Manager at BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central, responded to this review

Good Morning Moronge O Thank you very much for your feedback after your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Central. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please let me know what the exact problems were that you experienced with the elevators so that we can correct the shortcomings. My e-mail address is gm@phbloemfonteincentral.co.za Kind Regards... More 

Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night during our trip back from CPT. We looked online and found a promotion. The hotel is not well located but the service was fine. The staff worked hard to get us rooms and were very nice to us.

Helpful?
Thank JPratas
Pieter V, General Manager at BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central, responded to this review

Good Afternoon JPratas Thank you very much for your positive review after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Central. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the service received from the STAFF. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Central. Kind Regards Pieter van Rooyen General Manager More 

East London, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2015

the hospitality provided to me makes me want to come again, I will definitely recommend the place into my friends i wish the service I received will be rendered to other clients as well, the receptionists were so welcoming

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vidorizo
Pieter V, General Manager at BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central, responded to this review

Good Afternoon vidorizo Thank you for your positive feedback after your stay at Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Central. I will definitely congratulate the STAFF for doing a great job. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Central. Kind Regards Pieter van Rooyen General Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

Aircon stopped working so I was transferred to another room where the aircon also wasn't working. Transferred to a third room where is also wasn't working. Eventually I just gave up. The process of being moved took forever. The breakfast is very poor and the buffet bacon and sausages was cold every morning.

Helpful?
Thank 899jadea
Pieter V, General Manager at BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central, responded to this review

Good Afternoon 899jadea Thank you for your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Central and for giving us your feedback. Please accept my sincere apology for the problems that you experienced with the air-conditioning. We unfortunately had problems with the central air-conditioning during your stay. This has been fixed and the air-conditioner is working normally again. I am very... More 

Travellers are raving about these Bloemfontein hotels

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
2.1 km away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
3.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
7.3 km away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#14 of 23 in Bloemfontein
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
#4 of 23 in Bloemfontein
77 reviews
2.5 km away
Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Southern Sun Bloemfontein
#1 of 23 in Bloemfontein
292 reviews
3.0 km away
Anta Boga Hotel
Anta Boga Hotel
#2 of 23 in Bloemfontein
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Bloemfontein’s business district and rated one of the best hotels in the Free State, the three star, stylish BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central is centrally located – ideal for the overnight traveler or business executive. BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central is a three star hotel, offering four star services and facilities, and is conveniently located in the Bloem Plaza shopping centre, close to all transport nodes, businesses and tourist attractions. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service to all guests around Bloemfontein and to and from Bloemfontein Airport which is just 10 kllometres away. Our hotel has 115 spacious and comfortable rooms, each with en-suite bathrooms and complimentray wi-fi. Make your choice from a selection of Suites and Standard Rooms. Our 6 conference rooms can accommodate up to 420 delegates and provide modern, open spaces for gala dinners, themed events, product launches, trade shows, workshops and weddings. There is also a 24 hour business centre to cater to all your business needs. The Courtroom Restaurant is open daily for breakfast and dinner and offers a delicious carvery buffet. There is a grab-and-go breakfast option for the early riser too. Alternatively you can relax at the Judges Bar with colleagues and associates or grab a quick lunch in between meetings. At the end of a busy day you can enjoy your favourite cocktail at the bar. For the gym fanatics there is a fitness centre 500 metres from the hotel, an indoor heated swimming pool, tennis and squash courts and a golf course. The more adventurous traveller can horse ride, water ski, hike, or take in a scenic city or game reserve tour. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central provides a good base to work from. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central

Address: Bloem Plaza, East Burger Street | Free State, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Central)
Region: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Price Range: €47 - €76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rather choose Protea Bloemfontein if you want another Protea. If you forced to stay at this hotel choose a room on the uper floors”
 of 5 bubbles Jozijay, 10 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Consult with Reservations and give them your specifications.”
 of 5 bubbles Mzi_Mvimbi, 17 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Rather pick a B&B outside the main CBD.”
 of 5 bubbles Divediva22, 15 Nov 2014 | Read review
“The rooms on the Northern Side overlook Nelson Mandela Statue”
 of 5 bubbles Q6560WRjanem, 16 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Great to stay if your staing for a while in Bloemfontein”
 of 5 bubbles suppyvvs, 21 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay