We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Splash Guest House

TripAdvisorUS$67*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$67*
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Splash Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Splash Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Alberton, South Africa
Reviewed 16 December 2016

The family room we stayed in was clean. The guesthouse itself very nice and close to the beach. The owner or lady who runs it, Jean is her name I believe, was very rude and was just in our face. They lied on their website about having cartoon channels for the kids, this was one of the reasons we chose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DimiThugwana
James D, Owner at Splash Guest House, responded to this review

Hi guys, we don't have cartoons for kids as the majority of guests asked said it is not needed. Jean has always had wonderful reviews. I'm not sure what happened on this occasion, but this is very unusual!

East Londen
Reviewed 20 November 2016

No window in bathroom. Shower door broken. Reception not good. Made us wait 20 min outside the gate. Was about to leave when gate open. Will not go back there again. Room too small. Bathroom inadequate.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1daf2016
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Very nice guest the lady who runs the place is extremely friendly and accommodating. I was in a room inside the house which was a little noisy due to the wooden floors so if possible I suggest an outside room. Other than that it is a beautiful house in an amazing location would definitely recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tyr0nnee
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 November 2016

I am a single woman, travelling alone throughout the country and as a result i have stayed in hundreds of establishments and consider myself an expert in this regard. I am extremely meticulous and have had some dreadful experiences. Firstly - the website for Splash is 100% on point, it is exactly as you see it..Beautiful. Some establishments do not...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O2638ZTmichellef
James D, Owner at Splash Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind review!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

I really enjoyed my stay. The house has been very clean and the service was reliable and excellent. I'm sure I'll be back whenever I am in Africa again. Thank you very much, the meals were delicious and I loved the shower.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P5454BQroberts
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We booked 2 nights here in October, and had a great stay. We were in room #5, which was a seperate room from the main house, with a lovely patio and easy access to the pool (if it was summer). We also were able to check in early since the room was available when we arrived. That made our experience...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 6455traveling
James D, Owner at Splash Guest House, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 20 September 2016

This guesthouse is very close to the beach and close to a number of tourist attractions in the area. The booking process was easy and the room had free Wi-Fi and was neat. My only concerns were that I had to kill a cockroach in my room the first evening and the extraction fan in the bathroom needs to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jakes N
James D, Owner at Splash Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Jakes, the roach flew in on a very hot night. We have very specific rules on pests and get regularly inspected. Sorry about that, but it is a rare exception!

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

I made a booking on Booking.com with free cancellation, I cancelled my booking and still have not received my refund. I cancelled my accommodation on Monday and still haven't received my money back. I'm also not receiving any feedback from the guest house.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bianca V
James D, Owner at Splash Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Bianca. Refunds have to be processed through the bank if the payment was by credit card. It could take a few days and is out of our control. I'm sure you have been refunded by now.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We had such a lovely stay at this guest house. We made last minute bookings but Jean accommodated us. We stayed for 3 nights and we really felt at home. She gave us the best service and i would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissBonolo
James D, Owner at Splash Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks guys!

rheinberg
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Nice Service , nice room.i would like to come back.the location is nice too and the contact with jean was very nice. The Distanz to the beach is Short and to the next Restaurant too. I live this location

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbarae861

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.5 km away
Villa Tuscana
Villa Tuscana
#6 of 13 in Summerstrand
113 reviews
14.4 km away
Le Blue Guesthouse
Le Blue Guesthouse
#18 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
87 reviews
8.4 km away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
520 reviews
0.8 km away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
326 reviews
2.6 km away
Conifer Beach House
Conifer Beach House
#6 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located a 400 metre walk from Port Elizabeth’s beachfront, Splash is a brand new guest house in the center of the golden mile, suitable for business or leisure travelers!Our beautiful rooms and facilities have: New en-Suite bathrooms with showersCrisp White Cotton Linen on King or Twin BedsDaily Servicing, Fresh Towels and SoapsBar Fridge, Tea, Coffee, Sugar, MilkFlat Screen Satellite TV, Free WIFIFantastic Breakfast at Kaffeine RestaurantTwo Bedroom Self Catering Suite AvailableBraai/Barbeque and Swimming PoolSecure Parking Behind Remote Gate ... more   less 

Additional Information about Splash Guest House

Address: 53 Brighton Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Price Range: €45 - €65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Splash Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Splash Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Splash Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Outside room might be quieter”
tyr0nnee, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is the largest”
BrianE263, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room with air conditioning next to the pool.”
36Candice36, 18 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Splash guest is the best choose it.”
Tiea2014, 23 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Brighton Drive is quite a busy road, so opt for a room towards the back if you have the option or if traffic noise really bothers you. But it's not a major factor - we're talking a suburban through-road, not a major highway!”
PippaPJC, 26 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$67* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates