We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bayview Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Bayview Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bayview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 72: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 14 January 2016

From the moment i made my booking with Amanda via email in June till the time we checked in we were treated like royalty. The receptionist on duty was very friendly and knowledgeable, She booked our cabs and all our activities during our week long stay. Our room was clean. airy and well stocked with shampoos and clean towels every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GUSTAV100
East London, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2016

I don't have time to write this review, first we were given the wrong room, then the room we got had an air on that didn't work only to be told there are only two air cons in the whole hotel! The pic on the Internet of the room next to my confirmation has an air con in???the carpets were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 529fayn
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I can only apologise for your experience at our property. The cleanliness of the rooms is of utmost importance to us and we are busy implementing more staff training to avoid situations like this in future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Booked the honeymoon suite because everything else seemed to be booked in Plett for the Christmas/Summer holidays. The room was spacious and the balcony had a nice view of the bay. Staff were friendly and helpful. However, first impressions were a bit mixed as although the room was spacious and the view of the bay was nice the bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ALee79
jhb
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

I'm not sure Wat other people experienced in this hotel but my family and I had a great time here. The staffing were friendly and very helpful and the rooms and baths were very neat. thanks guys you made our stay in plat a good one.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seanchetty
Gurgaon, India
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Don't go buy their pics on the websites.. You don't have see facing room at all.Secondly they claim to be 3 star category of hotel but i will give just 1 star.. I stayed 27 and 28 dec'15 with my family... My experience was very bad.. Reception will tell you to drink the water from washroom basin as they don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanjoy_Aaheli
Edinburgh, Scotland
Reviewed 29 December 2015

I stayed in the Bayview hotel in Sept 2015 and found it to be very very basic. The room was nothing special. The shower barely worked and would always flood the bathroom if every used. The TV was from the 70's small 15" but one of those massive boxes. Not that great when most of the pubs were closed. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elofty
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Good value for money with close proximity to the beaches and walking distance to shops and restaurants. Suggestions would be a bar fridge and wifi in the rooms. Would recommend for a beach vacation. The rooms facing the main road have balconies.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miriamp842
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel and for your suggestions. We have just installed wifi throughout the hotel in this last week as we appreciate that guests would like this facility in their rooms. We will look into bar fridges for the rooms but in the meantime there is room service should guests require any refreshments. We are glad you...

Germiston
Reviewed 26 December 2015

We were first allocated Room 217. There, the tv did not have a remote control, there was no socket for charging cell phones. We were reallocated room 209. We soon found that the windows would not close and there was persistent smell in the bath room. What I found disappointing was to discover that these were known to the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizom2015
Cape Town
Reviewed 6 December 2015

The hotel is in the centre of town on the corner of Gibb and Main streets. Some rooms have views of the sea while others look into a building behind the hotel. There is off-street parking and a security guard is on site during the night. The booking process had its problems due mainly to a lack of attention to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Surfari
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 November 2015

I found the bayview to be perfectly situated and most convenient. The rooms are clean and well equipped and the restaurant provides a great menu and well presented/prepared. The reception could do with a spruce up as could some of the carpets on the stairs etc but good value and i would use them again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E9245WQmikeh

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
467 reviews
2.6 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
596 reviews
4.9 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
710 reviews
6.5 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
471 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bayview Hotel is privately owned and managed by an efficient and friendly team. It is situated in the heart of the village and is a mere stroll to the beach. One can enjoy Continental and Full English Breakfasts, or a sun downer overlooking the splendour of the Keurbooms River and the Robberg Peninsula.The Bayview boasts 38 en-suite rooms with breathtaking views of the magnificent coastline. The Bayview is well known for its convenient business and conference facilities, and it is equipped with all the necessary amenities needed to ensure the success of your function. For your convenience, the Bayview is open 24 hours per day and offers private parking facilities. Our team will be able to assist you with recommendations on activities you may wish to partake in i.e. tailor - made diving excursions, fishing, hiking, sailing, bird watching, bungi jumping, whale and dolphin watching, all in close proximity to the Bayview. Banking facilities, boutiques, art galleries and shopping malls are in walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Address: Cnr. Main & Gibb Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: €59 - €99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bayview Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Amarok2, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room facing Main Street have sea view”
 of 5 bubbles ENaidoo, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a Bay view are excellent value”
 of 5 bubbles Bob2012Sydney, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“great view from the penthouse”
 of 5 bubbles onsstee, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“request a room with a balcony for smoking”
 of 5 bubbles GUSTAV100, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay