We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Beacon Island Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Beacon Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

710 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Beacon Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 698: English reviews
Capetown
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I hadn't been to the Beacon Island Hotel and Resort for years (like 20 years) and decided to go on a timeshare holiday closer to home for a change. Wow it was great. The hotel location can't be beaten - on a rocky outcrop in the ocean. We saw dolphins almost every day and even a whale (out of season)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diveforever
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear diveforever Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any further...

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had several times dinner in the Indigo Bay restaurant at the Beacon Island resort. Every time the food was very good and the menu choices were very large. And every dish was a pleasant surprise for us and very affordable. The service was outstanding good, better as as most restaurants the in the Plettenberg Bay area.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wim K
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Wim K Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. Our restaurants are operated independently. I shall share your wonderful feedback with them. Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us....

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our first visit to the Beacon Island Holiday Resort and we were not disappointed. Well received on arrival, check in handled quickly and smoothly and we were in our room in no time. Beautiful view from our top floor bedroom (6th) floor. Enjoyed the views from the Sea Lounge and the Indigo Bay restaurant. Amazing to watch the sea break...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey C
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Aubrey C Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any...

Cape St Francis, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After arriving and checking in, we were shown to our room where I was rather taken aback by the size. Considering we had paid a premium for the room (no breakfast included), I think it was very overpriced. However, the location is outstanding and admittedly the food and drink prices were reasonable. We did have a small medical emergency and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorrinj2016
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear lorrinj2016 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. Beacon Island is classified as a Timeshare Resort, due to the fact that all the units are owned by a owner no breakfast is included in...

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed overnight on the drive home from Cape Town. The room was comfortable and well maintained. The meal at the restaurant was only average and I did expect more. The seafood platter was recommended by the staff but it was only adequate. The apple tart for dessert was the highlight. The staff at the reception desk were excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherDHarper
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear ChristopherDHarper Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor survey after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. I have since had a discussion with Jorge Pires the restaurant owner about your feedback and he has assured me that he shall be making...

Cape Town
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been using a friend's timeshare for about 10 years now and we have never had a bad experience at the BI as it is a very well run hotel, enabling one to relax and recharge. The location on a rocky peninsula with waves crashing below the sunny lounge, an expanse of grass to sunbathe on and a magnificent,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Peter W Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any...

Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Location, location, location!!! This hotel has definately a fantastic location as you can stay in and enjoy the views when the weather is not on your side or be out by the pool or even better the sea. The service of the hotel was very much touch and go...some of the local waitress could simply not do enough for you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_De_Chypre
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr_and_Mrs_De_Chypre Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. Thank you for your feedback with regard to the restaurant staff this has been brought to the attention of Jorge Pires the restaurant owner, whom has...

pretoria
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful hotel and wonderful staff. They live up to their motto of "Home away from Home" and "Living the Dream" From the checking in to the checking out everything was good and never too much trouble for the staff. The entertainment is super

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doloresec2016
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear doloresec2016 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any further...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is superb, the amenities are fantastic, the closeness to the sea and facilities are outstanding. But - advocating this resort as a timeshare is deseptive. The rooms are not as displayed on the website, they are small and lacking in everything that depicts a timeshare resort. You cannot prepare a snack as there are no basic essentials to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johninjohannesburg
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Johninjohanesburg Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. Beacon Island is classified as a timeshare resort, the only difference between ourselves and other timeshare resorts is that they are either fully self catering with...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been going to the BI for the past 15 years and each visit seems to be better than the last. The staff are amazing and we are welcomed back by name each time we visit. The restaurants are excellent and the staff are always eager to please.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterhR4244HO
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear peterhR4244HO Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us. Warm Regards Ronel Schoeman Deputy General Manager Beacon Island Resort

251 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (221)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.8 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
467 reviews
1.9 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
596 reviews
6.9 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
114 reviews
1.1 km away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
83 reviews
5.6 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in Plettenberg Bay, one of the most visited of the picturesque Garden Route towns, the Beacon Island Timeshare Resort is a favourite amongst travellers to this region. Boasting spectacular ocean views, endless leisure activities a host of nearby attractions and beautiful bedrooms this is the perfect resort for you. Drive to Knysna to feed the elephants, shop till you drop or spend your days luxuriating alongside the pool just enjoy your stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beacon Island Resort

Address: Beacon Isle Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: €86 - €233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beacon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Island Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beacon Island Resort staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Beacon Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All room views are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles diveforever, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Call first to see what room types are available do not rely on what you see and read on the website”
 of 5 bubbles Johninjohannesburg, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“upper floors are quieter and have better views as one would expect. corner rooms have double views and are bigger”
 of 5 bubbles jjwebley, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms located on the upper floors are quieter than those closer to the lobby. Try and reserve rooms facing the sea.”
 of 5 bubbles eX-Base-Photography, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher up , overlooking the swimming pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Flamingolake, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay