We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Beacon Island Resort

Beacon Isle Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Secrets of Knysna Forest
    0.5 km
  • 4 star hotel
  • Pool
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Superb location, great place to stay
great for families with young children - therefore noisy over... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

731 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Beacon Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 719: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

great for families with young children - therefore noisy over the holiday season - expect the noise - it is part of the holiday vibe. out of season it is quiet. service is good, staff are good. food is good as far as hotel food goes. it is surprisingly better than several other restaurants in plett, and the service is...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank igorbear
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear igorbear Thank you for taking the time to complete write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our recent stay at the Beacon Island Resort was a huge disappointment, and to be perfectly honest, a waste of time and money. Lots very, very wrong. Pools filthy dirty. Resort Hotel has gone to ruin. Other Gursts said that it's Not What It Used To Be.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H6840PLmarkf
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear H6840PLmarkf Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. You have expressed your disappointment with your stay on our various guest platforms and this has been noted and shall be considered. Should you require any further information, please don't hesitate to contact us. Warm Regards...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was my second time that I spent a December holiday at the Beacon Island Resort. With lots to do, great entertainment and a stunning setting, I would highly recommend it. I loved the food in their restaurants, coffee was great and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lin1616
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lin1616 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any further...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This resort has it all. Something for kids to do every day, enough deck chairs and spots away from noisy kids to four restaurants that serve good food at an affordable price. It's truly amazing and very relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Claire W Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values...

Emalahleni
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall the BI resort has made positive changes to the areas required - pool and reception toilets. Availability of ashtrays remains a problem, using butter or jam dishes as alternative is not hygienic. overall service was good in all food areas.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 76smm
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear 76smm Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The fact that butter or jam dishes are being used as ashtrays is unacceptable and has been brought to the attention of Jorge Pires the restaurant...

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This resort was truly amazing. The service was excellent all round. The restaurants are diverse and you never get bored with your food opinions. I also taught the price of the meals to be reasonable. You can not get a better location if you are looking to walk out of your room and onto the beach or pool side. We...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank strini_mudaly
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear strini-mudaly Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. I have conducted an investigation with regard to the difference in price for your week and have found the following. A special was run a week...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The most magnificent hotel perched on rocky outcrop surrounded by three swimming beaches with crystal clear water - unpolluted seas!!! Whether you want to sit at the pool deck and order drinks or literally stroll to the 3 beach you have some of the finest the facilities available to a holiday traveler in the world. The beats is Mauritius ,Seychelles,...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suzettecc2016
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear suzettecc2016 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any further...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 19 December 2016

The best holiday resort in South Africa, The location, staff efficiency and friendliness are a big asset to this resort. Where in the world can you stay in a hotel where the waves literally splashes under the window. We had a mpost remarkable holiday and will surely return every year. Chris & Estelle

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank estelledej
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Chris & Estelle Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We stayed at this lovely hotel again in November. Everything was as lovely as last time and we enjoyed all the dinners we had at the Indigo Bay restaurant, My only complaint was the breakfast was not as described and enjoyed before. I ordered the eggs Benedict served on spinach accompanied by a herbed mushroom skewer. The eggs were great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyBird070
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear LadyBird070 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. I have shared your feedback with our outsourced partner namely Island Diner and the owner has assured me that he shall address this matter. Thank you...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Beacon Island is one of our favorite resorts. A combination of location on a rocky outcrop overlooking the Indian Ocean, great outdoor space for lounging in the sun with spectacular views over the sea, Outeniqua and Tsitsikamma mountain ranges on the one side and Robberg peninsula/nature reserve on the other, along with long stretches of unspoiled beaches on both sides,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandraHerrington
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear SandraHerrington Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values which...

253 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (224)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.8 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
482 reviews
1.9 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
624 reviews
6.9 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#12 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
86 reviews
1.7 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
116 reviews
5.6 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in Plettenberg Bay, one of the most visited of the picturesque Garden Route towns, the Beacon Island Timeshare Resort is a favourite amongst travellers to this region. Boasting spectacular ocean views, endless leisure activities a host of nearby attractions and beautiful bedrooms this is the perfect resort for you. Drive to Knysna to feed the elephants, shop till you drop or spend your days luxuriating alongside the pool just enjoy your stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beacon Island Resort

Address: Beacon Isle Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: €274 - €316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Beacon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Island Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beacon Island Resort staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Beacon Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All room views are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles diveforever, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Call first to see what room types are available do not rely on what you see and read on the website”
 of 5 bubbles Johninjohannesburg, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“upper floors are quieter and have better views as one would expect. corner rooms have double views and are bigger”
 of 5 bubbles jjwebley, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms located on the upper floors are quieter than those closer to the lobby. Try and reserve rooms facing the sea.”
 of 5 bubbles eX-Base-Photography, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher up , overlooking the swimming pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Flamingolake, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5