We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plettenberg Hotel

Save
Traveller (353)
Room & Suite (105)
Pool & Beach (39)
Ratings and reviews
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good14%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Concierge
Spa
5 Star Hotel
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
5.8 km to Plettenberg Airport
17 restaurants are within a 0.5 km radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (639)
There are newer reviews for The Plettenberg Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
447
79
21
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
447
79
21
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood restaurantliz mcgrathcomplimentary mini barbeautiful hotelgarden routeoverlooking the baythe main hotelsister hotelthe general managerinfinity poola sea view roomthree nightslookout beachhotel restaurantstunning viewssouth africagreat position
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2018

Hopefully, if I’ve been very good, Heaven will be just like this. The attention to detail in the colours and the mixture of fabrics. How the view from each window is framed with just the right piece of furniture positioned to take in the best...More

2  Thank BlomSKI
Response from MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg HotelResponded 11 March 2018

Dear BlomSKI, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your stay at The Plettenberg. It is clear from your wonderfully descriptive review just how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to let...More

Reviewed 28 February 2018

Stayed 3 nights in mid Feb as part of our first holiday to South Africa. Superb location overlooking the sea and beaches with great facilities, well appointed rooms and bathrooms, plenty of available parking right by the hotel, exceptional and very helpful and friendly staff...More

Thank Steve B
Response from MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg HotelResponded 11 March 2018

Dear Steve B, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is wonderful to see how much you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay. We can never emphasize enough how much we appreciate our team at The Plettenberg and...More

Reviewed 28 February 2018

We stayed in The Plettenberg Hotel from 26 January until 2nd February 2018. Very disappointing service ! - 2 days without hot water and staff unprofessional - will not visit The Plettenberg Hotel again!More

Thank alison829
Response from MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg HotelResponded 28 February 2018

Dear alison829, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is very disappointing to see that you had such a negative experience while at our hotel. We would like to again apologize sincerely for the discomfort caused by the lack...More

Reviewed 26 February 2018

Stayed three nights in a spacious room in the annex. As a result of a flight delay we didn't arrive until 8 pm. The staff were very understanding and we were put at ease immediately. As you might expect, the restaurant is a little expensive...More

Thank Chaps04
Response from MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg HotelResponded 28 February 2018

Dear Chaps04, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're very happy to see how much you enjoyed staying at The Plettenberg. We'll make sure to let our team know how much you appreciated their exceptional service - they all...More

Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

Great town and hotel for a couple of nights en route to the garden route or safari. Lot of classy eateries. Spotted dolphins whist we had breakfast. We will be back for whale season. Very peaceful and quite but clues to the town. Super beaches...More

Thank Maurice M
Response from MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg HotelResponded 28 February 2018

Dear Maurice H, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We're very fortunate to be able to share such wonderful sights as schools of dolphins playing in the waves with our guests - this makes for a very memorable breakfast...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$181 - US$501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#1 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$181 - US$501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#1 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (353)
Room & Suite (105)
Pool & Beach (39)
Dining (27)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Marc C
30 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from MJBirch | Property representative |
Dear Marc C, We unfortunately do not have a gym at the hotel but we can offer you our "gym in a bag" which you are more than welcome to use in the privacy of your room or out on the lawn next to one of the swimming... More
0
Votes
Maurice95
10 January 2015|
Answer
Response from MJBirch | Property representative |
Good Morning, The walk to the beach is about 10 minutes. Kind Regards, Annemie
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Corner on first floor"
Read review
"Go for a corner room above the ground floor"
Read review
"Sea view room absolute priority No ambience.Fantastic sea view but there is little else to remark about..."
Read review
"Make sure it’s not next to a service area or car park."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing