We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plettenberg Hotel

Save
Share
Traveller (354)
Room & Suite (103)
Pool & Beach (38)
Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good14%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“liz mcgrath”(8 reviews)
“beautiful hotel”(33 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
5 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (641)
There are newer reviews for The Plettenberg Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
449
79
21
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
449
79
21
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood restaurantliz mcgrathbeautiful hotelcomplimentary mini bargarden routeoverlooking the baythe main hotelsister hotelthe general managerinfinity poola sea view roomlookout beachthree nightshotel restaurantstunning viewsworld classsouth africa
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

We had a fabulous ground floor suite overlooking the pool and bay.....until sunbathers around the pool decided to move their sun beds right in front of our windows. Day 2 we moved to the first floor, the suite was not quite as nice, but the...More

Thank CTAlgarve
Response from MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg HotelResponded 20 May 2018

Dear CTAlgarve, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We do apologize again about the sunbathers who obstructed your view but we are glad to see that we managed to rectify the situation and that you enjoyed your stay with...More

Reviewed 22 April 2018

I am being very picky because this is a very nice hotel and you get what you pay for. Our room(17) was a disappointment though. Whilst there is a sea view it is next to a service room which did get noisy when in use....More

Thank Caren S
Response from MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg HotelResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Caren S, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are truly disappointed to see we did not manage to meet all your expectations while you were spending time with us. We do apologize about the disturbance you experienced...More

Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in Villa number 11, really lovely hotel with a great feel about the place and we were made to feel very welcome. Dinner in the Seaford restaurant very good and in my opinion the best breakfast we had on the...More

Thank NFHOJHutt
Response from MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg HotelResponded 24 April 2018

Dear NFHOJHutt, Thank you for the lovely review written. It is wonderful to see you how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We'll make sure to convey your compliments to the chef and his team, as well as the rest of the staff at...More

Reviewed 10 April 2018

We stayed for 2 nights at the Plettenberg Hotel. What we liked the best is the closness to the beach. As the rooms were not ready when we checked in, the staff provided us with umbrellas, towels and beach chairs so we could already enjoy...More

Thank Amaya A
Response from MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg HotelResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Amaya A, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are indeed situated barely 5 minutes' walk away from Lookout Beach which offers the perfect opportunity for long walks on a pristine beach while keeping watch for dolphins playing...More

Reviewed 9 April 2018

This was one of our highlights on our trip of the garden route. We had never been to South Africa before but our visit was brilliant. The hotel room, we were in the annexe, was wonderful, the extra goodies in the room a lovely surprise....More

Thank greenbuzzards
Response from MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg HotelResponded 24 April 2018

Dear greenbuzzards, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're very happy to see that we contributed to making your first visit to South Africa such a wonderful experience! We look forward to welcoming you back in future. Kind regards,...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$180 - US$652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Bay View Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#1 Ocean View Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#1 Great View Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Charming Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$180 - US$652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Bay View Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#1 Ocean View Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#1 Great View Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Charming Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (354)
Room & Suite (103)
Pool & Beach (38)
Dining (27)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Marc C
30 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from MJBirch | Property representative |
Dear Marc C, We unfortunately do not have a gym at the hotel but we can offer you our "gym in a bag" which you are more than welcome to use in the privacy of your room or out on the lawn next to one of the swimming... More
0
Votes
Maurice95
10 January 2015|
Answer
Response from MJBirch | Property representative |
Good Morning, The walk to the beach is about 10 minutes. Kind Regards, Annemie
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Corner on first floor"
Read review
"Go for a corner room above the ground floor"
Read review
"Sea view room absolute priority No ambience.Fantastic sea view but there is little else to remark about..."
Read review
"Make sure it’s not next to a service area or car park."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing