We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Stanley Island

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Stanley Island
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Stanley Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 40: English reviews
Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed 20 February 2015 via mobile

Thanks Cyral for great stay and making us feel at home. And we would like to thank James for helping Cyral for making our stay perfect!! Will defnitly visit again this year and in the future. This will always be a spesial place for ne and my wife as we got engaged in the Island!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicov24639
Durbanville
Reviewed 12 January 2015

We thought this will be a great idea to stay on an island for 3 days and enjoy the surroundings. From the beginning it was disappointing. We booked in beginning October and when we arrived beginning January we were transferred to another place to stay. The reason they are not finished in clearing party equipment from the island. We then...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 346esras
StanleyIsland_Plett, Owner at Stanley Island, responded to this review

Our sincere apologies for your disappointing stay, we are aware that this was an extraordinary circumstance out of our control which we tried to resolve with alternative accommodation. Please email events@stanleyisland.co.za for further correspondence.

Reviewed 20 October 2014 via mobile

Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay. We had the best time!! The cruise and picnic were highlights of our stay. We got to truly relax because of such a tranquil setting. The staff were always polite and eager to assist.. what an awesome honeymoon destination!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cursti W
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had an amazing time at Stanley. Just the setting and the serene beauty of nature, it was wonderful. Management and staff were absolutely fantastic, the friendliness and personal service was incomparable. The knowledge and expertise of Management regarding the history of not only Stanley Island but also it's surrounding areas was refreshing and extremely interesting. The accommodation was great,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nico_Hilda
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We arrived with the rain which wasn't the best arrival as we had to get to the island accommodation by boat and it was quite miserable. The evening meal was very late but great when it did eventually arrive. The accommodation was very comfortable though I'm not sure I would give it 5 stars as the bathrooms do not have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulsa60
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were only able to stay one night, but wish we could have stayed for more, very unique self catering experience, with 5 star quality rooms and service awell as a beautiful location in the middle of Keurbooms rivier surrounded by milkwood trees. Couldn't have asked for more!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jonoc c
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Stanley Island over the Easter Weekend.  We are very familiar with this area of the Garden Route and have stayed at many establishments around Plett and Knysna.  Stanley Island, however, stands out as one of a kind.  The need to take a ferry to reach the Island added a touch of adventure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worthitsa
Cape Town
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Fantastic location, awesome facilities, friendly outgoing staff! We felt well rested and it is so easy to relax on Stanley Island. Peace, tranquillity and unobtrusive staff will definitely make us return here!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 5 February 2014

What a fantastic experience. Couldn't believe it was so secluded. Felt like I was miles from civilisation. Great service, awesome to wake up with Zebra on the stoep & the stars were incredible! Felt like one of the family!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean V
Sedgefield, South Africa
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Had a wonderful time. Pity it was only 1 night. Very friendly and helpful staff. Even the Zebras were friendly. Would suggest door on toilet for more privacy. Look forward to going back and spending a few more days. Lovely setting.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buckets2014

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.9 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
495 reviews
3.8 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
641 reviews
1.3 km away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#9 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
322 reviews
12.9 km away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
249 reviews
3.5 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The only private island in South Africa – the 28 ha Stanley Island is situated in the spectacularly beautiful Plettenberg Bay Keurbooms Lagoon ,the jewel of the Garden Route. The island features a private landing strip, four guest lodges with 12 en-suite four star rooms, an indigenous milkwood forest, private beaches, abundant birdlife over our protected wetlands. The Island is an ideal honeymoon or family vacation destination only 5km from Plettenberg Bay. Spend your days canoeing up the Keurbooms river, fishing, lazing in a hammock or exploring the island. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stanley Island

Address: Keurbooms River, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: €38 - €55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Island 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Stanley Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms does not look anything like pictures advertised. Do not fall for it”
 of 5 bubbles dwol2015, 12 May 2015 | Read review
“The Honeymoon self-catering units are a MUST! Gorgeous views, luxury french bath and fab fully equiped kitchen.”
  •                   Gorgeous bath
 of 5 bubbles Snymans, 17 Jan 2013 | Read review
“preferably request the honeymoon suites if available , but then again all the suites are just as impressive . you wont be dissaoppinted with any”
 of 5 bubbles maimunga, 5 Jun 2012 | Read review
3 of 3