We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Robberg Beach Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Robberg Beach Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

643 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Robberg Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 528: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We arrived and checked in and our room was ready, we were given directions to the car park and a fob to open the gate which didn't work, not a great start. We were located in two rooms in the 'Cottage Pie' part of the hotel as the two rooms had been booked together we thought we would be located...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeverlyC60
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge, we appreciate your feedback on what we are doing right and where you feel we can improve our services and facilities in future. We apologize for any inconveniences caused by the lack of lighting in your bedroom and lounge, this is...

Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Unfortunately this hotel did not live up to expectations. The location is lovely but although we had booked a view room our view was very limited! It was in the basement of the Beach house and the sea was only just visible, not helped by the very dirty windows that hadnt been cleaned for months. We did ask that the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pets10
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Robberg Beach Lodge, and for your vital feedback on where we need to improve. We are sad to hear that you have not had the five-star experience we pride ourselves on, however, we would like to assure you that the feedback on the lack of service you received...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

We booked this trip almost 12 months in advance after reading all the lovely reviews on tripadvisor. We are a couple we stayed in C1, which is a garden room in an annex. It was terrible and we would not return. We stayed for 2 nights on our Garden Route road trip. Overall we felt like the poor relations in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TDownes
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Robberg Beach Lodge. The lodge has recently been renovated to alleviate the issues you have detailed on your review, however, we do realise that these very issues have tainted your experience. We strive to create a stay above and beyond expectations, and we apologize that this was not...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016

It is not explained on Booking.com that the Robberg lodge is a collection of different buildings on different levels linked by wooden steps to the reception and dining area. This could be a problem for guests with mobility issues. Our suite on the ground floor of Cottage Pie was very damp and had no ventilation in the bathrooms. With bars...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank penelopew74
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you fr taking the time to reviww your experience at The Robberg Beach Lodge. We are saddened to hear taht you have not the 5-star experience that we pride ourselves on providing, however we appreciate that you have brought your concerns to our attention. We hope that you have traveled home safely. Best wishes, The Bailey Family & The...

Somerset UK
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink before being shown to our accommodation, which for us was in Cottage Pie with its own small pool and relaxing area. The room and bathroom were perfect and breakfast the next morning was lovely. After breakfast we were able to leave our car for a couple of hours while we walked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiona2295
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us in such a wonderful review. Nothing makes us happier than knowing that there are only positive memories and experiences to recall as you look back on your stay. Our Cottage Pie Suites are always a popular choice with our guests, and we are pleased that you...

Reviewed 23 November 2016

We stayed on honeymoon for 4 nights in Robberg Beach Lodge, it is a stones throw from the Robberg beach which is beautiful. There was roadworks happening outside at the time which made getting in and out difficult, but nothing that would put you off. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The wifi is a bit patchy this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eoin O
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Robberg Beach Lodge for such a special occasion! We are so happy to hear that you were satisfied with our service and your accommodation during your stay, as we work hard to ensure that our guests are well looked after and are abe to relax while we take care of...

Rivoli
Reviewed 23 November 2016

I travelled for 20 days in Suoth Africa, in August, and at the end of the journey I met this nice place in wich I found kind & friendly people in an unique landscape. I had a lovely stay in Robberg Beache Lodge. Thanks for all, folks Stefania

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefj P
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Robberg Beach Lodge, we are pleased to hear that there are only positive memories to recall as you look back on your experience with us. We are grateful to hear that we were part of such a special trip as you explored our beautiful country, and...

Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Very enjoyable stay & a perfect location for a quite & restful trip. Located by a beautiful beach & short taxi ride into town. Staff went above & beyond. Would recommend a stay here when in Plettenberg!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to see that there are only positive memories and experiences to recall as you look back on your stay with us. We hope that we will have the pleasure of seing you again in future! Best wishes,...

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 18 November 2016

very nice location in Plettenberg Bay, wonderful beach accessible just across a small access road, most of the rooms don't have beach/sea view though, nice breakfast area and rich breakfast, accessibility with luggage might be sometimes challenging for some rooms due to stairs and narrow staicases

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank prausc_392671
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at The Robberg Beach Lodge, we are so pleased to see that there are only positive memories and highlights to recall as you look back on your stay. We hope that you will be back to visit again soon, and we wish you safe travels on all your...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

This hotel is broken up as a number of different properties. We stayed in a room that overlooked the sea which was lovely. Nice comfortable bed and great views. Breakfast was good and you can get a nice evening meal for reasonable price provided you book in the morning. Don't be put off by small car park at reception there...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank glenn m
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The Robberg Beach Lodge, we are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the accommodation and the wonderful views from the lodge. We are also pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the breakfast spread, and that you were satisfied with your dinner too. We hope...

187 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.6 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
498 reviews
5.7 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
498 reviews
9.1 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
765 reviews
2.0 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
124 reviews
7.4 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: €49 - €250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Robberg Beach Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Paisley, United Kingdom
Spokane, Washington
5 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Robberg Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lifts, some rooms have sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles vap88, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Front room with veranda with outstanding sea and beach view”
 of 5 bubbles mclaren095, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request that you be put in main Lodge and avoid Cottage Pie (which they don't tell you about at booking stage)”
 of 5 bubbles Cl0Dub, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for front or pool facing room.”
 of 5 bubbles travelerinbklyn, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room B3 has spectacular sea views”
 of 5 bubbles JMcC83F, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5