We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lamunu

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Lamunu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lamunu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 31: English reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

Here is my story i booked in this hotel paid more than R700 for the room.Room whas ok reception whas ok.There is a safe in the room that works with baterys so this means if they are flat it wont open.I took the guts to put my laptop inside with my passport and money so i go and have a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Boerseun111
Dave H, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review

Boerseun111 Although your stay date was almost 5 months ago I remember it clearly. I was called by the hotel at 11 PM on a Sunday evening to open your safe. Your behavior had given cause for my Reception to call for Security and security had called for back up. I live nearby and thought it best to come in...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 March 2015

VERY VERY BASIC / CONFERENCE VENUE - in the trendy suburb of Braamfontein on Melle and De Korte Street. the conference room was efficient for our needs, but the set up was slow, and the team were not ready for us. The hotel rooms were sufficient for the night - and if you're really desperate for a room - then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenG3
Dave H, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review

Dear BenG3 Thank you for your recent posting to TA The conference facility is not managed by the hotel. It is managed by SouthPoint hospitality. Breakfast is served at Velo restaurant. We believe our room offers all the amenities one would expect including contemporary , modern design , flat screen satellite TV , in room safes , tea coffee making...

Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

I stayed over at this Hotel (Lamunu) on the 6th - 7th of March 15.The service there was beyond disappointing. Firstly the lady at reception didn't look like she enjoyed her job.Checking in was such a mission.We had to stand for about 15mins before being attended to.When our chance came to check in she handed us the room access card...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thembi Z
Dave H, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review

Dear Thembi Z I'm so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the Hotel Lamunu . I will have a word with the Reception attendant on duty with regard to her unwelcoming attitude. This is definitely not the level of friendliness that we aspire to. We were formally part of the easyHotel.com franchise brand. The main feature...

County Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewed 2 January 2015 via mobile

This hotel ought to be avoided. Initially there were no keys to the rooms, the aircon didn't work and we had to move rooms. The coffee machine didn't work and no breakfast was provided despite us paying for it beforehand. The Wifi is desperate and there are only hand towels in the shower room. The ladies on reception were brilliant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank munster4ever
Dave H, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review

Dear Munster4ever I'm so sorry to hear that you had so many problems during your stay here in December. I have taken note of the issues you experienced and have instituted remedial action where possible. A focus area this year is more effective internet provision as presently the reach is problematic. Sadly our independent 'in-house' restaurant closed late last year...

Richmond, Canada
Reviewed 2 November 2014

Stayed 2 nights in room 211. Rooms are basic, but modern, compact, with open washrooms. Was advised this was a quiet room not facing street, however there was noise from people on street. Good location for access to Origins Museum, Newtown, Gautrain. Room was non-smoking, but smoke smell evident in hallway occasionally. Wifi available at cost in lobby. Additional 50/day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard0828
Dave H, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. I am sorry you were disturbed by street noise. Our location is in a predominantly student area , as we are close to the Wits University , and comes 'alive' during the evenings particularly weekends. Aside from that we're delighted that you could experience our Simple...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 30 September 2014

The rooms in this hotel are small and simple, fine if you are on a budget and want to be centrally located in Johannesburg. There isn't a sitting area in your room, and the washroom is fully open to the bedroom which was fine for a solo traveler. The hotel is located in up and coming Braamfontein, which has lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheSpareCanadian
Roermond, The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a very pleasant stay in the Easyhotel. It is located in a vibrant part of Johannesburg, lots of little places for a coffee, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very nearby is a great pizza place (86 public), so no need to go far when it is dark in the evening. The rooms were clean, very modern design. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank siske_roel
Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Lovely no thrills, no frills hotel in the heart of Joburg CBD. Proximity to many fast food chains like McDonalds, KFC, Wimpy, Nandos etc, as well as shopping malls. Easy Hotel is also just a cheap taxi drive away from many of the attractions in Joburg. The Park Train station (Gautrain) is also a walking distance away. The rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tola B
Carmen G, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your recent stay with us here at easyHotel JHB CBD. We strive to afford our guests with a stylish, comfortable product that is great value for money. I was disappointed to read that you experienced some problems in your room with the heating, especially during...

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Ever since I found this place a year ago I make it my business to stay here. It's a quick jump to Soweto and anywhere for that matter thanks to the Gautrain and the numerous taxi ranks near by. In the middle of Braamfontein it affords access to some of the new hip restaurants, bars and clubs that are a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jemal C
Carmen G, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your recent stay with us here at easyHotel JHB CBD. I was delighted to read that you consider our Hotel to be your, 'home away from home'. Here at easyHotel, we strive to provide our valued guests with just that kind of experience. I was however...

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 4 June 2014

One of the budget friendly hotels in Johannesburg that offer the basics in a nice way. There is little customer service and don't pamper you like five star hotels but the room I stayed in was big, warm for the winter, had to pay extra for cleaning. Particularly liked the level of privacy given and the close proximity to CBD...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wakabi
Carmen G, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your stay at easyHotel JHB CBD. We were delighted to note that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I was however disappointed that you found our service to be substandard. I assure you that this is not typical and I will discuss your comments with my team as...

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braamfontein
0.1 km away
Hotel Devonshire
Hotel Devonshire
#3 of 3 in Braamfontein
30 reviews
0.2 km away
The Bannister Hotel
The Bannister Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braamfontein
149 reviews
0.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
0.8 km away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#34 of 68 in Johannesburg
14 reviews
1.7 km away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 68 in Johannesburg
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
easyHotel De Korte Street offers simplified comfort in a stylishly fun environment, all decked out in a retro colour-palette – bold oranges set strikingly against blacks and browns – and quirky details. Situated in the heart of Johannesburg and within walking distance of the Nelson Mandela Bridge, it’s easy getting to the nearby theatres, night spots, restaurants, major universities and prominent courts; its the ultimate in cool urban convenience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lamunu

Address: 90 De Korte Street, Braamfontein 2001, South Africa (Formerly Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Braamfontein
Price Range: €62 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamunu 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lamunu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamunu Hotel Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lamunu staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Lamunu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the rooms that do not face the street but the courtyard”
686FrancoisV, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Avoid if you can - hotel is to basic - and may be more suitable to the budget backpacker then the business traveler”
BenG3, 11 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Rooms are on the higher floors are better for much less of the street noise. However, air conditioners may not warm the rooms as well as u want.”
t0lab, 21 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Rooms on the upper floors are better, 3 and up”
JemalC, 7 Jul 2014 | Read review
“The fourth floor has better rooms...”
Wakabi, 4 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
HotelQuickly
* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates