We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Agate Inn, Inc.

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Agate Inn, Inc.
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 86: English reviews
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Stayed one night in the Aurora King suite, which was enormous. Everything you could need, including a large selection of TV channels, were on hand. The proprietors were friendly and informative and had taken the trouble to provide a simple but adequate breakfast, left in the room. We really enjoyed the peaceful setting and the unique room layout. Wouldn't hesitate... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mibsta
AgateInn, Owner at Agate Inn, Inc., responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Agate Inn for your stay in Wasilla. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for taking the time and effort to post your review. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Alaska. Sandy Bowers Agate Inn, Inc. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We were only staying one night in Wasilla so we didn't put much stock into our lodging. We were pleasantly surprised with the big rooms, fire places, and friendly reindeer. My family and I loved our stay.

Helpful?
Thank Laura K
AgateInn, Owner at Agate Inn, Inc., responded to this review

Thank you Laura for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Sandy & Harvey Bowers Agate Inn More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We usually stay in one of the Jr. King Suites whenever we come through Wasilla, which has been at least once a year for the past six years. It definitely has a home-away-from-home feel. We love the comfort, the cleanliness, & the atmosphere...and of course seeing the reindeer! The owners go over and beyond to make us feel at home,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tina K
AgateInn, Owner at Agate Inn, Inc., responded to this review

Tina - Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate it. We enjoyed visiting with you last week. Enjoy the rest of the summer. We hope to see you again in September on your way back south. Sandy & Harvey Bowers Agate Inn More 

Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2016

My wife and I were really in for a treat when we booked the Agate Inn😂. Sandy and Harvey where great hosts, making sure we enjoyed our stay. We were in Alaska for two weeks. One week here and another split up. But this place is a must if you are within a 100 miles. Spacious and super clean. Only... More 

Helpful?
Thank gosammygo
AgateInn, Owner at Agate Inn, Inc., responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and time in Alaska. It was a pleasure meeting both of you. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for the Agate Inn. We really appreciate it. Sandy & Harvey Bowers, Owners Agate Inn More 

Millicent, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Most hospitable, and friendly hosts, received the benefit of their local knowledge, great room and amenities, good quiet location. Comfortable bed, and spotlessly clean, the room is beautifully furnished including a very comfortable rocking lounge chairs. Great wifi. Continental breakfast included would for sure stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Trotts2014
AgateInn, Owner at Agate Inn, Inc., responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Agate Inn for your stay in Wasilla. We thoroughly enjoyed talking with you. We are glad you enjoyed your Knik Junior King Suite. We hope you make it to the Top of the World Highway and Dawson City on the rest of your journey. Thank for taking the time to post your review....Sandy & Harvey... More 

Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
173 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Our hearts sank as we arrived. No one there to greet us - just a lock box that we didn't have a code for. We phoned up, got the code and let ourselves in. We could hear the very loud TV from the room next door as we climbed the stairs, I hoped that it wouldn't be as bad once... More 

Helpful?
Thank greeneggs2
AgateInn, Owner at Agate Inn, Inc., responded to this review

We are so sorry we did not meet your expectations. We try to make every guest’s stay first rate. As a small inn we do not have a 24 hour registration desk. However, we live on the property and are available by phone 24 hours a day. Our late arrival lockbox system makes it possible for guests with late night... More 

Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2016

This is a cute little place tucked just off the main road so you are close to everything but felt like you were in the woods. They have Reindeer on the premises and you can help feed them at certain times. The room had a fireplace and a little kitchenette with everything you needed including muffins and juice for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ConnWay
AgateInn, Owner at Agate Inn, Inc., responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Agate Inn for your trip to Alaska. We are glad you had a good trip and enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your comments and taking the time to write a review. Sandy Agate Inn More 

Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2016

A beautiful, large and comfortable room Thanks to the inn's solar panels this may be the most economical place to catch up on your vacation laundry. We had a wonderful conversation with Harvey as he was doing his chores.

Helpful?
1 Thank dancenspin
AgateInn, Owner at Agate Inn, Inc., responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. We appreciate your comments. Harvey and I enjoy taking time to talk about the solar electric and solar hot water systems installed on each building. Between our rocks and fossils, the reindeer, and the solar systems there is always plenty to talk about. Sandy Agate Inn More 

GreatLakes
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Agate Inn Our favorite stay during our 10-day trip. Room was extra spacious, comfortable and spotless. All the amenities to make for a pleasant stay including a comfortable leather recliner, choice of shower or whirlpool bath and light breakfast items in the fridge. A refreshing break from the large chain hotels. Felt like home. If you are lucky as we... More 

Helpful?
Thank julymystery
AgateInn, Owner at Agate Inn, Inc., responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review! We appreciate your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good trip. Sandy & Harvey More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2016

The owners are very nice and the place is very comfortable and private. If you enjoy a quiet place to stay, this is it. The location is not bad either. I was able to get to everything around town in a reasonable amount of time. Also, they have Reindeer!

Helpful?
Thank josephgangstad
AgateInn, Owner at Agate Inn, Inc., responded to this review

Thank you Joe for choosing the Agate Inn for your stay. We very much appreciate your comments and taking the time to post your review. Sandy & Harvey More 

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasilla
8.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Lake Lucille Inn
2.3 km away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
6.7 km away
Alaska's Lake Lucille Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
71 reviews
3.9 km away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
3.1 km away
Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This unique country-style inn provides luxurious suites, vacation homes, comfortable spacious rooms, and meeting facilities in a multi-building complex situated on 16 wooded acres. Agate Inn also provides complimentary continental breakfast, satellite television, phones with data ports, voice mail, high speed Internet access, a business center, laundry facilities, barbecue, and freezer space. Join the owners at 10 am and 6 pm to visit and feed the Inn's 6 reindeer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Agate Inn, Inc.

Address: 4725 Begich Circle, Wasilla, AK 99654
Region: United States > Alaska > Wasilla
Price Range: €155 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agate Inn, Inc. 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Agate Inn, Inc. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Agate Inn, Inc. staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“King suite, assume value and spacious. With jacuzzi!”
 of 5 bubbles gosammygo, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I don't remember our room number but the reindeer were right outside our window.”
 of 5 bubbles ConnWay, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All seemed great!”
 of 5 bubbles 707kayl, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Great location for a stay in Wasilla Alaska.”
 of 5 bubbles P4912LWrs, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
“we were in the Knik Junior suite Great view of the Reindeer in the summer and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 928alexisk, 23 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay