We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glendeer Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Glendeer Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 82: English reviews
Start your review of Glendeer Lodge
 Click to rate
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Glendeer Lodge sadly for only 1 night wished we could have stayed longer as it was so beautiful! The grounds were amazing and lovely to see the deer roaming in the compound. The gardens were beautifully manicured and beautiful views of Timaru. The accommodation was first class bed extremely comfortable and crisp bed linen! Bathroom was fabulous and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer, It was so lovely to meet you all and spend time chatting with you, thank you for your wonderful review and so happy that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to the next time. I know you are still travelling around New Zealand and I hope you have a wonderful time experiencing our beautiful country. Kindest...

Scotland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The house is to the South of Timaru not far outside the town. It's off the main road, so we had a very quiet and pleasant sleep. Bed and preparation of the room was first class, better than many hotels, and there was an excellent choice for breakfast. The coast isn't that far away, so you can do some walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank astroman042000
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do enjoy our quiet countryside location and so glad to hear you enjoyed our first class amenities, hope to see you again sometime. Kind Regards Jude McLauchlan

Edinburgh
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

A great walk to Jack's point as recommended by Jude followed by penguin watching in Timaru. A lovely room, excellent bathroom and linens etc. Pleasant breakfast with fellow guests after a good night's sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pouillyfume
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, glad to hear you enjoyed our little town and also your stay with us! Kind Regards Jude & Paul McLauchlan

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Just out of Timaru town (a few minutes), quiet country location. Our friendly host showed us to a decent size suite, modern, clean and comfortable with its own courtyard. This was a one night stay but could have stayed another night. The deer in their paddock was nice to observe. Didn't meet the husband of our host but I believe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cyberlion
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you for your review and feedback, we do work very hard to keep all areas clean, neat and tidy for our guests to utilize. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you again sometime. Kind Regards Jude & Paul

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We had a one night stay at Glendeer lodge and found it to be an outstanding B&B. The hosts Jude and Paul are very helpful and accomodating. The lodge is charming and the rooms very comfortable, spacious and clean. The continental style breakfast was good and we could help ourselves to tea and coffee at leisure. It is set in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clare c
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Clare, Thank you for taking the time to review us and so glad to hear you enjoyed our B&B. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in New Zealand and do hope to see you again someday. Kind Regards Jude & Paul

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We stayed with Jude and Paul at Glendeer lodge as the first proper stop in a 3 week trip around The south island. After a long flight into Christchurch and a couple of hours drive on our first day to Timaru the room at Glendeer Lodge was exactly what was needed. Jude made us feel very welcome and the fact...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Ian, Thank you for your review, we are so glad you had a great first impression of New Zealand and enjoyed your stay with us. Our countryside location is part of our charm with the added benefit of only being a 5 minute drive into town, we really wouldn't have the peace and quiet as well as our green...

Reviewed 18 February 2017

This accommodation was one of the best B&B's we stayed at during our 2 weeks in NZ. Our room and bathroom were modern, large and had quality furnishings and linen. We had plenty of room to open up bags, place toiletries in our en suite etc. The bathroom had quality toiletries. The only two negatives were the cleanliness of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waltercorgi
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your feedback, as we are surrounded by nature it can sometimes be really hard work with all the birds and bugs that are in the garden as well as the nearby fields, we do regularly maintain the outside but those spiders are industrious and we don't like or use chemical sprays as we have too...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The host, Jude, really has great knowledge of the area and we followed all of her suggestions which did not disappoint. The room was spacious and very beautifully decorated. The bed was so comfortable that I didn't want to leave. Our stay was much too short.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JcqieA
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this review

Hello JcqieA, It was so lovely to meet you and your husband and talk about your travels around New Zealand, thank you for your lovely review and glad to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. Also hope you have enjoyed the rest of your journey around our beautiful country. We look forward to seeing you again someday. Kind Regards...

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Jude and Paul were so friendly in welcoming my dad and me in to their beautiful lodge. Wonderful comfy, classy rooms with great bathrooms and delicious breakfast! Paul was exceptionally patient guiding me to catch my first trout and his knowledge of the land and the sport was clearly evident in his work. Jude went out of her way to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kaitlin M
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Kaitlin, Thank you for your wonderful words, it was a pleasure to look after you and your Dad, you are a delightful young lady and we know we will see you again sometime. You did so well with your fly fishing and you were a wonderful and patient student, excellent job! We hope all is going well and here...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Stayed at Glendeer Lodge and was pleasantly surprised at the clean, comfortable accommodation and the close proximity to nature. Our host (Jude) prepared a wonderful breakfast which was fresh and delicious, and the experience was enhanced by the presence of cute deers grazing and prancing in front of us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernard S
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this review

Great to hear from you Bernard! Thank you for your lovely review and it was great to meet you and your family and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy to also hear you enjoyed our home and our friendly deer who do also enjoy the attention from our guests. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
4.2 km away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
243 reviews
2.9 km away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
156 reviews
3.0 km away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru
15.0 km away
Solace Country House Bed and Breakfast
2.3 km away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Glendeer Lodge offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation set on 5 tranquil acres, with a large manicured lawn and native garden complete with wonderful bird life. This beautiful modern and new accommodation is surrounded with stunning mountain to ocean views; the private guest lounge looks out into the native garden area where pet Fallow deer can be watched roaming behind the fenced area. The king bedrooms are extremely spacious, comfortable, bright, airy and well appointed, with modern, spacious bathrooms featuring under floor heating, heated towel rails, and complimentary toiletries available in all rooms. Glendeer Lodge is a handy five minute drive to the centre of the town ship of Timaru which offers an array of fine dining restaurants, bars and cafes.All rooms are modern and well-appointed with nice garden views, the two king rooms have their own private court yards with big French doors and direct outside access. This beautiful modern and new accommodation is surrounded with stunning mountain to ocean views clients feel very relaxed as they sit back in the private guest lounge taking in these stunning scenic vistas whilst in the back ground of the fenced garden area our pet Fallow deer quietly roam.Glendeer Lodge is centrally located between the cities of Christchurch and Dunedin; it is the gateway to the Southern Alps and Mount Cook National Park.With coastal walks to a local lighthouse and wetland area are nearby, fly fishing, hunting, bird watching and scenic back country tours can all be organized at the lodge.Glendeer Lodge features fly fishing facilities on-site and serves a continental breakfast daily. A 10-minute drive from Te Ana Ngai Tahu Maori Rock Art Centre, it offers free parking and free Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glendeer Lodge

Address: 51 Scarborough Road, Timaru 7971, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Price Range: €96 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glendeer Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glendeer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glendeer Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor room facing the car park was easy to get cases in directly through the French doors.”
astroman042000, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are quiet due to the country location”
ianp354, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I suspect they are all good rooms”
Waltercorgi, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Saw all the rooms and they were all stunning”
alisondeighton, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet location so no noise at all. Ours had a little garden setting/patio. So peaceful.”
KerryThied, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5