We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Taylors Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Taylors Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Taylors Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 163: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Really clean motel and nice stay. Room was warm and had electric blanket too. Owners were super friendly and helpful - great recommendation for dinner - thank you. We had takeaways so would have liked a larger spoon for dishing up but that would be the only negative comment we would have. Will definitely be back to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KR9119
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback we have an amazing Thai takeaway restaurant, Charming Thai, I hope you ended up with that. We look forward to seeing you again.

Hamilton
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Southern hospitality at it's best. Our room was ground floor as requested. This accommodation was booked online with no deposit. We arrived on a cold winter day the heating was on in the room. Large king bed which was very comfortable, linen was changed during our 7 day stay..Frig,toaster, tea and coffee sachets refreshed each day, microwave,stove top,and electric jug....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review

It was great to have such a lovely person stay thanks so much

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 September 2016

I have been using this motel for a number of years now and am never disappointed. The rooms are quiet, clean and well appointed and the hosts are very friendly and helpful. It is always a pleasure to stay at Taylors.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PensbyLad
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review

Always happy to have you stay

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 September 2016

It was a flying visit for work, checked in at 7pm and was gone by 4am the following morning. Cant tell you one bad thing about the place. Super convenient location. The hotelier was one of the friendliest and helpful people ive ever met.down to suggesting the best places to eat (sorry went with KFC). The heater was already on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 177bradleyr
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a warm review our 50 plus sky channels are great and we always try on a cold night to put heaters on. We look forward to seeing you again

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Stayed at this motel in early September, we booked a room as below. Rubbish, and not the truth, no Balcony, a toy hair dryer, an uncomfortable bed, nowhere to hang cloths. poor water pressure. You can get a Room at Sydney Airport for the same price and triple the size. $89 in Ashburton for this and not explained on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob M
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review

What can you say to feedback like this. The room booked was $50 cheaper than our normal studios on the site it explained it was a very small single room the bed is an amazing Brownies bed which all our beds are with a topper on top to make it even more comfortable. The second night we only had 1...

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Was arriving really late one night, they were lovely and had the room all set up for me, heater on and everything. Bed was comfy, room was warm and it was nice and quiet. Would recommend for any traveller. 10/10 would recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taranicole349
Reviewed 5 August 2016

A warm welcome awaited us on arrival. Our room was well equipped and very clean and comfortable.Not to far from town and very quiet. A weekend away for a special occasion made all the more enjoyable by the friendly staff and owners. Look forward to staying again some time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D2542BJchristinef
New Zealand
Reviewed 1 July 2016

We just stopped in Ashburton on our way home, and called in this motel,because it was not quite along the main highway,so we hoped a bit quieter. Well what a surprise, very friendly service, spotless ,comfortable rooms, nice and warm and welcoming, could not find fault with this place. Would highly recommend it and would stay there any time, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jana50
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Lovely friendly welcome, room was spotless and warm from sun with quick working heater for later in evening. Standard of furniture etc good and very comfortable super king bed. Garden you walk through to get to room still had lovely yellow roses out plus other colour even with it being winter. Plenty room to park car. We were on bottom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

Nice clean rooms friendly staff free wi fi and parking I would stay again. Close to town center. Was much quieter than I thought it would be. Safe neighborhood. Nice warm rooms with good heaters. Enjoyed watching sky sports for a change.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichardScottNZ

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
0.5 km away
Bella Vista Motel Ashburton
0.9 km away
Hotel Ashburton
Hotel Ashburton
#5 of 7 in Ashburton
102 reviews
0.3 km away
Commodore Motor Lodge
Commodore Motor Lodge
#6 of 7 in Ashburton
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 km away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
114 reviews
0.8 km away
Ashburton Motor Lodge
Ashburton Motor Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ashburton
78 reviews
0.1 km away
Coronation Park
Coronation Park
#4 of 7 in Ashburton
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your hosts, Craig and Rebecca Lambie with young family, provide genuine superior service, comfortable, relaxed and friendly welcome. We also offer Free high speed WiFi and sky 50+ channels with guest select. Taylors Motel is your Ashburton home-away-from-home. We are the closest motel to town located in a quiet garden setting facing north. Walk outside your downstairs unit to a lovely lawn area with swing seat, and bbq or enjoy the magnificent views of the southern Alps from upstairs. We have in-house meal options and restaurant opposite. We are located 1 hour South of Christchurch and a 45 min drive to Mt Hutt Skifield. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Taylors Motel

Address: 770 East Street | Ashburton, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Price Range: €84 - €116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taylors Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Taylors Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taylors Hotel Ashburton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Taylors Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“close to the town centre”
 of 5 bubbles wagnorneal, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if travelling with luggage.”
 of 5 bubbles 71SheilaM, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 was good.”
 of 5 bubbles 177bradleyr, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't take the small room”
 of 5 bubbles 473bobm, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We picked the 2 bedroom apartment with King , full kitchen and second tv in bedroom”
 of 5 bubbles jana50, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5