We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Peaks Motor Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Peaks Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 152: English reviews
sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came to Okahune for the Tongariro crossing. After a strenuous research, I chose this place due to highly positive ratings and fair price. The place gives a real feeling of a family-run business with a quiet and cosy atmosphere. The family room we have was clean and good for the price. The shower is hot and strong. It also... More 

Helpful?
Thank kingofduck
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, we really enjoyed meeting you all in spite of the circumstances and were pleased that you resolved the problem so quickly - in spite of the rental car company. (We're also really enjoying that tea, thanks!) NOTE TO READERS who are planning a trip here: there is public transport through Ohakune (bus, train) but it didn't... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with a bunch of friends and I was really impressed with the place and would want to stay for a few more nights. The beds are cozy, the small kitchen in our room got everything you'll need and more. We didn't get to try the spa pool but maybe next time. This motor inn is also very close... More 

Helpful?
Thank kentange05
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review, yes it's hard to do everything in only one night: looking forward to seeing you back here for a few days next time. More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

The owners are lovely people, friendly and obliging. The rooms are a good size, clean and the beds are so comfortable. The motel is handy to town only a 15 minute walk, great distance to walk after a fab dinner in town. Lots of parking and it is quiet. Continental breakfast available. Would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Xquizit L
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much, and we would love to see you back. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Stayed there for a night on the way to Wellington in a group of 10. Nice clean and tidy place. Jenny the host was fantastic, helpful and warm. Quite place to have a good rest. Couldn't be happier. Will be back on other occasion.

Helpful?
Thank tomrubi888
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your comments: yes I came here from the countryside so also really appreciate/need the quietness at night. Looking forward to seeing you again. More 

Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Finally managed to be able to book a room here as previously always fully booked. Weren't disappointed & can't fault this place. Room nicely appointed, fresh & clean. The beds were 'wow' super luxurious which was welcome after time on the slopes. And as an added bonus no traffic noise :-) The 2 spas were also a treat after each... More 

Helpful?
Thank silvabeach
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

In the hustle and bustle of the ski season it is particularly nice to receive such an upbeat review as this. Thanks very much for taking the time, and we really do look forward to seeing you back in summer. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Stayed 2 nights & the 3 of us totally disappointed. Upon opening sofa bed in lounge my son found dirty used sheets full of crumbs. As it was late he stripped off bottom sheet & slept on top one. Next day cleaner left that dirty rolled up sheet on floor along with all our used towels left in bath and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Polly F
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Polly, It sounds as though your room service was missed by the cleaner that it was allocated to, for which I apologise -I don't think it happens often. Probably a family unit with 1 queen and 2 singles would have been an easier layout for you rather than using the sofabed which we don't tend to use for sleeping... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, stopping off from the Northern Explorer Train Trip from Wellington to Auckland. We were very impressed with the hospitality of the staff of the Peaks; Jenny the motel owner was ultra helpful picking us up from the train so we didn't have to cart our luggage (on what was a very cold day) and then... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris S
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review Chris More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We (couple with a 4 year old) stayed for two night. It was tidy, quiet and relaxing. After day on the mountain we all loved the two outdoor spas. Lots of people walked to town which was about 15-20 minutes. The beds were pretty soft (as I like firm beds) but once our heads hit the pillows we were out.... More 

Helpful?
Thank SiahFly
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks, it will be great to see you back next ski season. More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

A recent trip to Ohakune for skiing competitions found me searching for the right priced and right location Accommodation. The Peaks Motor Inn fit the bill perfectly. Exceptionally clean and tidy with great Wi-Fi and Sky TV experience. A great location to the Turoa side of the Whakapapa at a fair rate. Room configuration is reasonably typical being a 1... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 2012Tim
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, pleased you enjoyed the Wi-Fi and 50 channels of Sky - we have upgraded both these systems over the last months. More 

1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2016

My 2 young adult sons and I stayed at Peaks Motor Inn in late June. The two proprietors were incredibly kind and thoughtful to us. They gave excellent suggestions for walks, dining, and were very interested in making sure that we had a nice experience on our trip. The room was very comfortable, clean, quiet and everything we could have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much! That's the advantage of coming in the off season - although we always want to help guests to get the most out of their time here, it's more achievable for us in the quieter months - May and June. More 

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
1.0 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
26.0 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,308 reviews
26.1 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
0.8 km away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
26.5 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Peaks is the perfect base for visiting Mt Ruapehu summer or winter, with a great location on the main road to Turoa ski area, halfway between town and the Junction. The property features 23 Studio & 1-Bedroom Units, 2 Outdoor Spa Pools Sauna, Gym, Guest Laundry and a Drying room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Peaks Motor Inn

Address: Cnr Mangawhero Tce & Shannon St, Ohakune, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Price Range: €87 - €105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peaks Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Peaks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Peaks Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Peaks Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a mountain view!”
 of 5 bubbles 450frances21, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles hughbdo, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“By main entrance with a spa bath!”
 of 5 bubbles Narziss, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“ask for the room with bath tube”
 of 5 bubbles PHG1811027, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
“All looked good to us.”
 of 5 bubbles 186Steve, 5 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay