We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Matriki Beach Huts

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Matriki Beach Huts
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Matriki Beach Huts
See the most recent reviews
Showing 173: English reviews
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Reviewed 11 December 2016

The rooms are even without fan, in that weather it would be necessary! The owner does not like customers, who are complaining. The words: It will be better, if they move somewhere else.. is say everything. The information on their web ar enot accurate, the pictures does not give the real conditions of the accomodation The beach is nice, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank imricht2016
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Dear Imrich Thank you for your review and i will try to address what i feel is the underlying issue here: Your initial booking, after you requested I send you more photos and descriptions of each hut despite directing you to the website, was to reserve the whole complex however, after several months of communications, to which i helped you...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Excellent choice for budget conscious travellers.The island style furnished huts have a lovely beach atmosphere and from the verandah you can see the glorious beach which is only a few meters away.I stayed in the lower treehouse which had a nice outdoor shower off the small but functional kitchen.The toilets are communal but were spotlessly clean during my whole stay.The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elzastankovic
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Kia Orana Elza Thank you very much (Meitaki Atupaka) for your lovely review of Matriki Beach Huts. We very much enjoyed hosting your holiday here and were pleased that you got involved with the activities on the island and interacted with fellow guests and met people around the island, sharing stories. It was lovely to see you out and about...

Reviewed 15 November 2016

After having been to pretty much every corner of this planet I have to say that Aitutaki is the most beautiful place I have ever seen and Matriki is the perfect place to be in such a paradise. The different huts are quaint and lovely and special and offer all amenities you could dream off. Lisa and Paul are the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DoDoFarouk
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Kia Orana 'DoDoFarouk' Ok - so, I'm going to be honest - every once in a while, a Trip Advisor profile has me stumped so i investigate further to see where else you've been travelling to give me the clarity - the frustrating thing is that we had a quite a few couples over the last few months (including October!)...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Welcome to paradise! What a special place this is. You won't believe your eyes when you arrive at your little beach hut and look out at the view. Lisa and Paul are the perfect managers for this little piece of paradise. Their boat trips are legendary as is Paul's cooking. Lisa isn't known for her cooking but makes up for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

hahahahaha .... Kia Orana Paul Barb and Josh Thanks for your great review - i was almost offended by your cooking comment - I mean you never even got to try my legendary 'Beans on Toast' did you? (Absolute English staple diet, right there) but how can I be mad when I'm so happy with my hot pink snorkel set...

Reviewed 30 October 2016

Our bungalow was a lagoon view one, hammock in front of this. Open top shower under the palm trees is fun. Lisa and Paul are very friendly and helpful, and the bbq nights with them were so good. One of the best snorkeling place in front of the place, so u can hang around and snorkling there all day long....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Klári S
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Kia Orana Klari & Greg Thank you for your lovely review of Matriki Beach Huts - we are very happy that like so many before you, you fell in love with Aitutaki and are planning your return here hopefully next year. It was lovely that we all managed to share pot luck dinner night and you got to hang out...

Monterey, California
Reviewed 22 October 2016

There wasn't availability when we went to Aitutaki, but I could tell from my correspondence with Lisa, that she is a conscientous and fun manager. I had heard that their lagoon tours were wonderful, so I promised to swing by to see if we could join them one day. They had 2 spots available, so we were able to join...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Kia Orana Alison & Gerry Thank you for such a lovely review of our trips - we were very sorry that there wasn't available accommodation with us when you visited Aitutaki as you guys would have been the perfect guests for this place. As indeed you mention, you hit it off immensely with the other guys you met here. Paul...

Leeton, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Great spot to stay the rooms are basic but they have every thing you need! Lisa and Paul were fantastic hosts! They guided us around when we got there to show where most things are that you need! We hired a scooter off them and it was a super way to get around! The tours that Paul and Lisa took...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ben e
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Kia Orana Ben & Shelley Apologies in the delay of responding to you. We really appreciate that people take the time to sit down and detail the great parts of their holiday. It means a lot to us. First of all, let me say Paul and I are really honoured that you chose not only the beautiful island of Aitutaki,...

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We cannot say how much we loved Matriki Beach Huts. Paul and Lisa have the best place on the island because it lacks the pretension that exists in so many resort style accommodation.The snorkelling trips and island hopping was Devine. Well done Paul for your knowledge. And Lisa for your personable attitude. If you want to be part of a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank neltrain
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Kia Orana Dave & Kate Thank you for your fabulous review - we very much appreciate it and we're very happy you were delighted with your Matriki choice. We were very lucky as so often happens, to have similar, like minded guests the time you were here & many nights we heard you guys taking in the beautiful sunsets together...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We stayed for a month and were extremely happy with Lisa and Paul they were both so helpful from the get go, from getting us out on the water as much as possible to soak up the snorkelling and everything the lagoon has to offer to bike and scooter rentals to help us get around the whole island and explore...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stacey_westguard91
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Kia Orana Stacey & Nathan Thank you for your lovely review and for finding the time during your amazing 9 month adventure through US/Canada right now. We're loving keeping up to date with everything you are experiencing and we are honoured that you guys chose Matriki in the Cook Islands to spend a month long relaxing start to your trip....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Lovely location and good value for money. The lagoon trips were amazing. I stayed 3 nights but it was not long enough! Lisa and Paul were great hosts and I'm looking forward to returning next year! :-)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveljunkie2477
Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review

Kia Orana Thank you for your lovely review of Matriki Beach Huts and our lagoon trips. We're really happy you enjoyed your stay with us - it's always a pleasure to spend time with people who really appreciate the absolute beauty of this island and its stunning lagoon. Great to hear that you wish to return again next year! The...

257 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (198)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
1.0 km away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,068 reviews
3.1 km away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
146 reviews
1.3 km away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
433 reviews
0.3 km away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Quiet budget rustic self contained absolute beachfront huts on the nicest natural snorkeling and swimming beach on beautiful Aitutaki, Cook Islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Matriki Beach Huts

Address: Anaunga, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Price Range: €76 - €82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Matriki Beach Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matriki Beach Huts Hotel Aitutaki
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Matriki Beach Huts staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Los Angeles

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Matriki Beach Huts staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The tree house is perfect for two couples traveling together.”
 of 5 bubbles kluff33, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lower Tree Hut, which is lagoon view, tiny, cosy, authentic bungalow usually with very friendly neigbours, and good athmosphere.”
 of 5 bubbles 560kl_ris, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All beach rooms are the same and that's what I'd be going for! ”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best views”
 of 5 bubbles neltrain, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We loved the Beach Hut but all the beach side huts have lovely views out over the lagoon.”
  • Beach Hut
  • Tree Hut and Reef Hut
 of 5 bubbles brucec784, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5