We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
3/12/2017 4/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Sunset View Resort

    5322 South Big Lake Road, Big Lake, AK 99652
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    3/12/2017 4/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big LakeSee available hotels in Big Lake
    Traveller (4)
    Room & Suite (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (13)
    Overview
    • Excellent60%
    • Very good0%
    • Average0%
    • Poor22%
    • Terrible18%
    8 Oct 2014
    “Beautiful Wedding, awful business woman”
    6 Oct 2014
    “Be wary of promises!”
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Suites
    Spa
    Laundry Service
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Restaurant
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (22)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 22 reviews

    Reviewed 9 October 2014

    We held our daughter’s wedding at this beautiful Big Lake resort and although the grounds and homes sound wonderful for a night or weekend stay, we don’t recommend ever dealing with the owner Kathy Giles for booking a wedding. Not knowing in advance how many...More

    9  Thank 907WorldTraveler
    Response from AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View ResortResponded 15 October 2014

    August 2 Wedding: I would like to address your concerns: 1. My husband/partner is available when I cannot be on site at the resort or at planned meetings and he was there to show you around the property. You informed him you were pleased with...More

    Reviewed 6 October 2014

    I traveled from Oregon to attend a wedding at this venue. I booked my room very early and was told I would receive a confirmation email. I never did, even after three additional calls. The owner, Kathy, said she was busy and would send me...More

    3  Thank Jonathon25
    Response from AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View ResortResponded 15 October 2014

    August 2 Wedding I would like to address your concerns; 1. I apologize if I did not send an e-mail confirmation upon request. An oversight on my part. 2. The Mother of the Bride was in charge of disbursing which families were to go into...More

    Reviewed 6 October 2014

    Our Stay-cation Getaway at Sunset View Resort Last month my Mother came to visit. I wanted to do something nice for her while she was here – something Alaskan! Coming from Mississippi, a place with a beauty all it’s own, I knew she would appreciate...More

    2  Thank JoshAlaska
    Response from AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View ResortResponded 16 October 2014

    Thank You; It was a pleasure having you stay with Sunset View. This is the second year with us and we enjoy the respect and care you take of our property. Look forward to you coming again.

    Reviewed 6 October 2014

    This resort is in the most gorgeous setting, and the house and rooms are nice. Unfortunately, you have to deal with the owner, Cathy, who is very deceptive and sneaky. We were there as part of a large wedding party and we had rented all...More

    3  Thank MarisaBell
    Response from AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View ResortResponded 15 October 2014

    August 2 Wedding; I will address your concerns; 1. You only rented the Upper Hillside Room, which was a large suite with two queen beds. You were given a verbal confirmation. 2. On the room confirmation you were always scheduled for the Large suite with...More

    Reviewed 3 October 2014 via mobile

    We were excited to stay in this beautiful location and spend time with family and friends. We stayed in the McKinley House which is very nice. The challenge we had was with the owner Kathy. She was unorganized and unfriendly. To start it took over...More

    4  Thank Todd V
    Response from AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View ResortResponded 16 October 2014

    August 2 Wedding Addressing your concern; 1. Check in was supposed to be at 3:00PM and your family started checking in at 1:00PM Your room was not quite ready and therefore you were disgruntled. We were very sorry, however you did arrive earlier than expected....More

    HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
    345 reviews
    #1 of 74 hotels in Anchorage
    39.2 km
     
    Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
    1,448 reviews
    #2 of 74 hotels in Anchorage
    37.5 km
     
    The Hotel Captain Cook
    1,904 reviews
    #5 of 74 hotels in Anchorage
    34.8 km
     
    Homewood Suites by Hilton Anchorage
    783 reviews
    #6 of 74 hotels in Anchorage
    39.2 km
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Spa
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Laundry Service
    • Things to do
    • Spa
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$199 - US$495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 11
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Alaska >
    • Big Lake
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (4)
    Room & Suite (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (13)
    Nearby
    Nearby Restaurants
    Pizza Thyme
    5 reviews
    2.65 km away
    Houston Lodge Marketplace
    26 reviews
    11.39 km away
    The Alaska Boathouse Restaurant
    16 reviews
    .12 km away
    Cadillac Cafe LLC
    74 reviews
    12.73 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Happy Trails Kennel
    59 reviews
    5.50 km away
    Paint a Scarf Alaska
    93 reviews
    26.46 km away
    Iditarod Headquarters
    331 reviews
    19.65 km away
    Eklutna Village Historic Park
    79 reviews
    26.73 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Sunset View Resort staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Everyone seemed to be completely SATISFIED!"
    Read review
    "Rooms on main floor in McKinley View are VERY noisy. Room in ground floor in McKinley View is a fire hazard."
    Read review
    "There is one room that has an adjoining one that's good for families. The Master Suite is spendy but..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing