We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunset View Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Lake
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sunset View Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 22: English reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2014

We held our daughter’s wedding at this beautiful Big Lake resort and although the grounds and homes sound wonderful for a night or weekend stay, we don’t recommend ever dealing with the owner Kathy Giles for booking a wedding. Not knowing in advance how many guests would need accommodations, my daughter and her fiancé chose the Silver Package at a...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank 907WorldTraveler
AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View Resort, responded to this review

August 2 Wedding: I would like to address your concerns: 1. My husband/partner is available when I cannot be on site at the resort or at planned meetings and he was there to show you around the property. You informed him you were pleased with everything. 2. Chef/ It wasn’t that I couldn’t recommend our catering but we could not...

Reviewed 6 October 2014

I traveled from Oregon to attend a wedding at this venue. I booked my room very early and was told I would receive a confirmation email. I never did, even after three additional calls. The owner, Kathy, said she was busy and would send me one. Never did. I arrived and there wasn't a room in my name. What? Thankfully...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonathon25
AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View Resort, responded to this review

August 2 Wedding I would like to address your concerns; 1. I apologize if I did not send an e-mail confirmation upon request. An oversight on my part. 2. The Mother of the Bride was in charge of disbursing which families were to go into which rooms and there were a few last minute changes I found out when guests...

Wasilla, Alaska, United States
Reviewed 6 October 2014

Our Stay-cation Getaway at Sunset View Resort Last month my Mother came to visit. I wanted to do something nice for her while she was here – something Alaskan! Coming from Mississippi, a place with a beauty all it’s own, I knew she would appreciate being able to spend time with her grandsons in a place that captured the most...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JoshAlaska
AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View Resort, responded to this review

Thank You; It was a pleasure having you stay with Sunset View. This is the second year with us and we enjoy the respect and care you take of our property. Look forward to you coming again.

Newport Beach, CA
Reviewed 6 October 2014

This resort is in the most gorgeous setting, and the house and rooms are nice. Unfortunately, you have to deal with the owner, Cathy, who is very deceptive and sneaky. We were there as part of a large wedding party and we had rented all rooms in both houses. When making the reservation, we were never given the exact room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarisaBell
AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View Resort, responded to this review

August 2 Wedding; I will address your concerns; 1. You only rented the Upper Hillside Room, which was a large suite with two queen beds. You were given a verbal confirmation. 2. On the room confirmation you were always scheduled for the Large suite with two queen beds. I did not move you from room to room. You were one...

Reviewed 3 October 2014 via mobile

We were excited to stay in this beautiful location and spend time with family and friends. We stayed in the McKinley House which is very nice. The challenge we had was with the owner Kathy. She was unorganized and unfriendly. To start it took over 30 minutes to get checked in. Our family and friends rented the house for 3...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Todd V
AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View Resort, responded to this review

August 2 Wedding Addressing your concern; 1. Check in was supposed to be at 3:00PM and your family started checking in at 1:00PM Your room was not quite ready and therefore you were disgruntled. We were very sorry, however you did arrive earlier than expected. 2. You were one of the few that were always scheduled for the Upper Lakeview...

Palmer, Alaska, United States
Reviewed 17 October 2013

You can easily find expensive places to stay, or dine, in Alaska. It is harder to find one that measures up to the value. The Sunset View Resort, happily, is such a place. My husband and I chose to spend our tenth wedding anniversary in their Bridal/Master suite and it was a quality experience on every level, especially considering that...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Rose H
AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View Resort, responded to this review

Thank You!! Hope to see you again soon.

San Francisco
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We spent two very enjoyable days at Sunset View for a family wedding. The setting is peaceful and gorgeous with incredible views of Big Lake and Denali in the main area and of a stream in the woods at the house where we stayed. The facilities are very comfortable, clean and include a personal touch. This is a great place...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank moose7580
AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View Resort, responded to this review

Thank You; It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was the perfect place for my sister's "destination wedding." Family came from all over the country, and we had an amazing time together. The rehearsal, bridal shower, wedding, reception, lodging, everything(!) stayed at this resort, and it was perfect! There was plenty of space for the wedding party to get ready and guests to hang out. I did my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruthie W
Naknek, Alaska
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had heard such great things about this resort and we weren't disappointed. We rented all three houses and all of our guests raved about their stay. The view of Denali, the lake, and all of the accommodations made for a very special stay. We highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ILoveAlaska2013
AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View Resort, responded to this review

Thank You; It was a great Family get-together and we hope to see you again.

Stratton, Maine
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This place is AWSOME, it was perfectly suited for the wedding that we had at your place, the Kicthen, was very well put together and easy to use, as was the game room and hair salon for the ladies. There was plenty of things for the children to do, all the yard games and the padel boat and canoes. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Claude P

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Where luxury and relaxation meet the beauty of Alaska's wild side, Sunset View Resort offers waterfront accommodations on Big Lake for executive business retreats, sophisticated destination weddings, and memorable family vacations. Host your corporate event or invite your entire family for a reunion. No matter your need, the exquisite accommodations at Sunset View Resort are sure to please. Choose between three adjoining homes across eight manicured acres of pristine lakefront property, or reserve the entire resort for 22+ overnight guests. Learn more about Sunset View Resort and how we can accommodate your specific Alaskan dream by visiting our web site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset View Resort

Address: 5322 South Big Lake Road, Big Lake, AK 99652
Region: United States > Alaska > Big Lake
Price Range: €185 - €461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunset View Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Everyone seemed to be completely SATISFIED!”
 of 5 bubbles 568claudep, 9 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Rooms on main floor in McKinley View are VERY noisy. Room in ground floor in McKinley View is a fire hazard.”
 of 5 bubbles KellyAnne687, 14 Oct 2012 | Read review
“There is one room that has an adjoining one that's good for families. The Master Suite is spendy but really, really lovely for a special occasion.”
 of 5 bubbles Cheers_all, 15 Sep 2012 | Read review
3 of 3