We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Colonial

Save
Share
Calle 11, Avenidas 2 y 6 Behind La Soledad Cathedral, San Jose 10106 Costa Rica
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$57
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$57
View deal
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (127)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 26/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Colonial
Updated 26/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#43 of 91 hotels in San Jose
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We're your perfect hosts for a restful vacation in cozy surroundings, a restored neocolonial building nearly a century old.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Car hire
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Poolside bar
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
311Reviews5Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 69
  • 104
  • 93
  • 31
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
904agnesc wrote a review Jan 2021
Zoutleeuw, Belgium143 contributions78 helpful votes
Easy to find : go to the Chinese gateway on Avenida 2, 2nd left and you walk right into the hotel. The city center, all the parks, the museums, the Mercado artisanal, bus stops, it is all just a 5 minutes walk away. Quiet at night, helpful staff and OK breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Silvia Vargas, Director General at Hotel Colonial
Responded 13 Jan 2021
We aprecciate your review! We are happy that you had a good experience while staying with us. We will keep working on improve our quality.
Read more
Quoi N wrote a review Dec 2020
San Francisco, California3 contributions2 helpful votes
My husband asked for a quiet room on the upper floor when we booked it. When we got there, one of unfriendly staff said she was giving us the first floor since my husband asked for. Since we were tired, we didn't argue and stayed on the first floor. Until late night, I could hear all the noise from its dining area. Please make sure you don't want the first floor. When we walked into the room, it was humid and had bad smell. I didn’t even want to sit. The room is small. OK. That's ok that's what we paid for. Breakfast: It was supposed to be served from 7:30. Only one staff worked. Each day whoever served the meal had different rules. Terrible breakfast. Continental breakfast, two pieces of white bread, jam and fruit. Poor. That’s ok it may be that’s what we paid for. Thank God, I stayed only 2 days. It is hard to believe 5 star reviews. Whoever left 5 star review, did you guys really stayed there?
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: First floor rooms can hear everything. It will wake you up from the noise outside. You will hear...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Silvia Vargas, Director General at Hotel Colonial
Responded 28 Dec 2020
Agradecemos su tiempo en calificar nuestros servicios. Lamentamos que su experiencia no haya sido agradable. Ciertamente estamos en el proceso de acomodarnos con la nueva normalidad, y dado que no habíamos tenido un flujo importante de huéspedes hasta esta semana, estábamos trabajando con poco personal; no obstante, ya hemos corregido esta situación para evitar inconvenientes. Con respecto al desayuno, igualmente estamos encontrando las mejores formas para no afectar el funcionamiento y garantizar la seguridad de todos nuestros huéspedes ante la amenaza del Covid. Lamentamos lo del ruido, por esa razón nuestro restaurante cafetería cierra a las 8 de la noche para evitar molestias en su descanso.
Read more
Christine G wrote a review Mar 2020
Scotland, United Kingdom483 contributions193 helpful votes
Stayed here for two nights. The hotel is small and when you try to take a taxi to it the taxi drivers are likely to take you to the much bigger colonial centre. It's right in the centre of town so it's in reach of all the main sites in the city. The staff are friendly and helpful and our room as well as the hotel was clean and fresh. It has a small pool but not big enough for swimming. We had a nice lunch there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Muchas gracias por dejarnos sus lindos comentarios. Nos motivan a seguir trabajando y dando nuestro mayor esfuerzo. Con respecto a la piscina, efectivamente es pequeña, pero es un extra en la ciudad, pues casi ningún hotel tiene esta opción.
Read more
N_FamilyGeorgia wrote a review Feb 2020
Tampa, Florida172 contributions90 helpful votes
I will make a quick list of Pros/Cons but before that I have to note that the hotel is smaller than the pictures make it seem like. The breakfast is good and the café is cozy, the swimming pool is depressing, and the views are non-existent. The hotels best strength is it's location, only 2 city blocks from the Jade Museum. Bye far it's worst weakness is it offers no parking, forcing you to park your car 1 to 3 CITY BLOCKS AWAY at a rate of $20 a night! Pros: -Great Location (Close to tourist areas and many restaurants) -Nice Bathroom -Good Breakfast -Café -Secure access -Good rates -Wi Fi included Cons: -No Parking (Adds additional $20 a night to cost AND parking is far away) -No A/C -No views from hotel (Giant wall with barbed wire blocks your view from all the rooms) -Swimming Pool is very small -Hard to find (Does not have big signs that say the name of the hotel) -No elevator
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Factor in an extra $20 to your stay if you are renting a vehicle.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Thank you for leaving us your review. We are sorry that you have several inconveniences. We do have A/C in some rooms, you just have to ask for it; we don't have in every room because we have a sustanibility policy that tries to reduce unnecesary electrical waste, and also, because San José is a city with a mild temperature all around the year. The parking is in the same block, and the cost is US$14... I am not sure what happened in your case. We do have a sign outside, but are planning on putting some others for a better way to find us. Since we are in the city it is difficult to have great views (and also a big pool, ours is for refreshment). On the other hand, we are happy you find some pros even all the rest.
Read more
nancyandleslie wrote a review Jan 2020
Toronto, Canada299 contributions181 helpful votes
I gave the hotel 4 stars because of the location and the service. It is walking distance to the theatre, the market, Chinatown, and many other places. It is also across the street from the fabulous La Esquina restaurant. The woman at the front desk was extremely helpful. She made a reservation for us at the restaurant, got us a taxi to the airport, and answered many questions we had. The rooms are small and there's no a/c, and the bathroom had a leak from the toilet. The chicken sandwich at lunch was good, but we didn't eat care for the breakfast. For one night it's a good place to stay, and the price is cheap.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Thank you so much for your review. It helps us to improve our services and motivates us. We are going to check about the leak. About the A/C, San José has a mild weather, and also we have a sustanaibility policy so we try not to use A/C; but all of our rooms have overhead fan.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
colonial hotel san jose
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Jose MetroSan Jose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Colonial
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Colonial?
Nearby attractions include Teatro Nacional Costa Rica (0.4 km), Jade Museum (0.2 km), and Pre-Columbian Gold Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Colonial?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Colonial?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a pool view.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Colonial?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Colonial?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Colonial?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tenedor Argentino, La Esquina de Buenos Aires, and Sapore Trattoria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Colonial?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Hotel Colonial located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of San Jose.
Does Hotel Colonial offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Colonial?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Colonial?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Teatro Nacional Costa Rica (0.4 km), Ruinas de Ujarras (1.4 km), and Chepeteando/ San José a pie (0.5 km).