We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Barcelo San Jose

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,086 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barcelo San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Showing 595: English reviews
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is excellent. The rooms, the staff and facilities are beyond good. They are excellent and very pleasant. They do whatever they can to make sure your visit is one to remember. The facilities are kept clean and have something for any type of traveler.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Thomas Thank you so much for your valuable comment and for taking the time to share your experience with the rest of the Trip Advisor community. Barceló San José Hotel is delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff is always happy to exceed your expectations, we use our Barceló values to improve every... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The overall hotel is nice, the rooms are a bit outdated but clean. The restaurant staff is very nice and the breakfast good. However, the reception service is below average, especially considering the price. The check in was done extremely slowly and they refused to give me back my card print at check out whilst they were talking to me... More 

Helpful?
Thank acc2015
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Traveler Thank you so much for your comments. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your check in, be sure we will review these details with our front desk Manager. We appreciate your opinions and it will be an honor if you consider us again. More than welcome. Carlos Ruíz General Manager More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We were forgotten at the airport. Even though I had previously contacted the hotel to varify our airport shuttle service (and give them all of the necessary information), we were left at the airport. Even after calling them once we arrived, no one came to pick us up still. So we spent 2 hrs waiting at which point we got... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review

Dear traveler First at all, thank you for choosing Barceló San José as your option in your last trip. We appreciate your opinions, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with our free shuttle at the hotel. It will be an honor if you consider us again in your next visit to Costa Rica or any other... More 

Province of San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2016

There is a weird concept that has not settle in CostaRican's minds,"the customer is right" I got to the place I see the sheets not really to my liking and I have to talk to around 4 people before I get someone to redo the sheets, PLEASE, well that was it, the rest of the stay was an delight.

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Jonathan First at all, thank you for choosing Barceló San José as your option in your last trip. We appreciate your opinions and comments. Will be an honor if you consider us again in your next visit to Costa Rica or any other Barceló Hotels & Resorts. Kind regards, Carlos Ruíz Director More 

Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
361 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Our flight to Madrid was cancelled and we were accommodated by Iberia in Barcelo San Jose. The hotel is pretty overused, rooms need renovation, buffet dinner and breakfast are not the best, but still the logistics was perfect, WiFi working, services - OK

Helpful?
Thank Dimitar G
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review

Dear traveler: Thank you for your valuable comments, this helps us to improve every day. We are in the process in renovating our installations and rooms to provide a better accommodations and service to our guest. We hope that you give us the opportunity to serve you in the future. Best Regards, Carlos Ruíz Director More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We were booked to stay here in August as it was conveniently located next to the airport. Due to flight cancellations, we ended up missing our stay here. We emailed the hotel whilst we were in the airport to explain the situation and to ask if we could transfer the booking to the last night of our vacation. Unfortunately we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tabitha H
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Tabitha Thank you for your comment. We would love to help you with the reservation that you booked, but we have reviewed and we don´t found any mail of your part. Please do not hesitate to contact us. Best Regards, Carlos Ruíz Director More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Been staying at the Barcelo for 10 years! It is my home away from home! Over the years, out of all the employees on the 6th floor executive check-in and lounge....AMY is #1. She is a living example of the LOVE of JESUS! Never compromising, Amy exceeded my expectations for every need daily!!!!!! She has Barcelo in her heart!!!!! There... More 

Helpful?
Thank jubileeinvestments
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Traveler Thank you so much for your valuable comment, Barceló San Jose Palacio Hotel is happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel like at home. It is our priority to make our guests feel completely satisfied by providing them very comfortable accommodations, great services, very attentive and helpful staff whose always desire... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

We had our wedding reception at this hotel in August! The service was exceptional! Starting by Tatiana Bermúdez who helped us throughout the planning of the wedding to the bell boys, the service was impecable. We chose this hotel for our reception based on the service and fast responses to inquiries received while looking for a venue. We did look... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tica T
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review

Dear traveler: Thank you for posting your very nice words about your stay with us. We are delighted that you had a great experience in our hotel. Our staff is always happy to exceed your expectations, we use our Barceló values to improve every day and make the guests feel comfortable in their stay. It will be a pleasure to... More 

riw777
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The hotel itself is clean and well kept; the staff is excellent, and the on site amenities are great. The bar and grill was our least favorite place to eat; the Japanese and buffet restaurants were very good. The elevators are a bit odd, but this was more amusing than irritating in any way. The one "bad thing" about this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank riw777
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review

Dear traveler First at all, thank you for choosing Barceló San José as your better option in your last trip. We appreciate your opinions and it will be an honor if you consider us again in your next visit to Costa Rica or any other Barceló Hotels & Resorts. Kind regards, Carlos Ruíz Director More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The hotel is clean yet needs some updating. I visited in June of 2016 and it was pretty empty. This hotel is great for business conferences but if your are looking for a lively bar and party like presence this is not it. I was not happy with the booking of my excursion. The concierge booked and charged me but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maranda B
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Maranda Thanks for sharing with us your good evaluation of the hotel. Regarding the issue of the tour reservation desk, please let us remain you that Alberto the Concierge informed you about the taxi strike in all San José City and the delate of your tour. He recommended you a similar experience with the same Price and you... More 

967 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (474)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (157)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (430)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Connecting Room (34)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (110)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
Standard King Room (30)
Viewed
Terrace King Room (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Ujarras Suite (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.1 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.8 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
719 reviews
3.1 km away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
1.9 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
3.5 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 84 in San Jose
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose

Address: Residencial El Robledal | La Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica (Formerly Barcelo San Jose Palacio)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: €72 - €128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica
Barcelo San Jose Costa Rica
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barcelo San Jose staff and other travellers.
37 questions
Ask a question
USA
over a year ago
Memphis, Tennessee
over a year ago

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from Barcelo San Jose staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The best floor is the 6th floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 768leahn, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great room”
 of 5 bubbles cmbuck2016, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Enjoy a glass of wine with dinner; very, very reasonable! And of course, there's plenty of great tasting coffee. I like mine con leche.”
 of 5 bubbles Coach-D_NY, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The north side of the hotel is best because you get the city and mountain views”
 of 5 bubbles amot, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Beautiful view of San Jose and National Stadium a plus”
  • View from the elevator sight
  • National stadium awesome view
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay