We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

720 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 492: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
 Click to rate
Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room was clean and spacious. Unfortunately, it's getting dated. The carpet has stains, the bathtub's enamel is wearing off, the formerly white towels are greyish. We tried to make coffee in the coffee maker, and had to do some manipulating to get it to work properly. The wall paper is starting to come off. The room staff is friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanie C
Southlake, Texas
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Fourth time staying here - this Holiday Inn is always consistent! The rooms are spotless, beds comfortable, and lots of cable tv stations too. The morning buffet has something for everyone. The cafe con leche is amazing. I would definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GinnyEE
Management response:

Thank you for your comments and your feedback those are very important for us know they make to improve every day We appreciate you let us know the wonderful time you had in our Hotel , this is why we work for to make your stay as pleasant as we can We hope that on your next visit to Costa...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Oh dear. We stayed here 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and again on our last night. This tired ol hotel needs modernising. The basin was cracked, the bedside light glowed all night despite being turned off. The worst of all was one of the room's bathroom floor was swimming with half an inch of water. Maintenance did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Katherine May Front Desk Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good size room except bathroom quite run down. Location is good, close to shopping and restaurants. Most disappointing is the indoor swimming pool, badly maintained and water was very dirty. I took a dip and got off immediately. Breakfast is above average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan01609
Management response:

Thank you very much for your review it is very important for our improvement know about you perception and opinions about our Service. We would like to apologize if our service did not meet your expectations . We appreciate your comment and will work hard with the corrective actions We hope in the future you could give us the opportunity...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stay in IHG worldwide, Spire Elite status (oh er mrs!!!!!). Checking in.....ok, but cc not needed so go to bar, have a beer, check refused. Matched to reception by barman to set up account. Very embarrassing. Room all ok, envelope to tip the room maid . No, just pay decent wages you bloody tight guys!! Check out a nightmare...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
JessiAurola, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We would like to apologize if our service did not meet your expectations . We appreciate your comment and will work hard with...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here with a few others and had the Pres suite. There are some real good thing about the hotel and then there are some so-so things. The property itself is nice and in a good location. It is downtown so you are a block away from not so plush surroundings, but the front and lobby of this place is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
JessiAurola, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We also took notes of your observations in order to take the corrective actions we hope to host you in the future Sincerely, Katherine May Front Desk Manager

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent rooms Excellent service Excellent food The reception staff are very cooperative and very helpful The restaurant in the lobby serves a super breakfast and v god lunch too Well located hotel and easy to get taxis etc

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EPS2308
JessiAurola, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

It is satisfying for us know that you had a wonderful experience in our Hotel and that all your expectations were reached and fullfilled We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us ,for us all your opinions are very important , those are essential for our improvement and to make our guests stay...

Jinotepe, Nicaragua
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a bit worn around the edges in some places but our room was clean and we loved our king size bed. We booked through Expedia and for $81 a night for two, we couldn't complain. The location is good for walking, shopping and restaurants. The complimentary, breakfast buffet is quite large with an omelet station, Nicaraguan choices, breads, pastries,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kcquarterhorses
JessiAurola, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

We really appreciate the time you have taken to let us know about the opinion of our Hotel , specially the fact that you had a beautiful experience and a pleasant stay Your comments are very important for us as they help us to improve every day , in giving our client the best service possible . Please we will...

Yorba Linda, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I booked a room at this hotel, I was totally unaware that it's located in the "Red Light District" of San Jose. If I had known this, I would have stayed elsewhere. Six days into my stay, my laptop stopped working so I contacted a local computer technician who agreed to come to my hotel to repair my computer....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tom F
JessiAurola, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review it is very important for our improvement know about you perception and opinions about our Service. We would like to apologize if our service did not meet your expectations . We understand your perception about the misunderstanding you experience during your stay in our property As you might any unregister person at the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Downtown area on a Fridat night can be a big suprise, and a little overwhelming. Arrived at hotel around dusk, although security was tight, lots of people milling around outside giving an uneasy feeling. Initial check-in room was in deplorable condition which really set the mood for our 3 night stay. The front desk did move us to another room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tunamate
JessiAurola, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Katherine May Front Desk Manager

827 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (269)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (470)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (24)
Viewed
Junior Suite (58)
Viewed
King Bed Guest Room (39)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (96)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Suite (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)
Viewed
Two Queen Beds Guest Room with Upgrades (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (88)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
894 reviews
0.2 km away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 85 in San Jose
1,122 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 85 in San Jose
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
2.8 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 85 in San Jose
792 reviews
2.3 km away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: €80 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola Costa Rica
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Orlando, Florida
Sumter, South Carolina
1 month ago
Moretonhampstead
Seminole,Florida
7 months ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Better to be on higher floor with city view”
 of 5 bubbles alan01609, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The upper floors have nice views of the surrounding areas.”
 of 5 bubbles kcquarterhorses, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have a good view of the city”
 of 5 bubbles tunamate, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a higher floor for a panoramic view of the city, and quietness.”
 of 5 bubbles Malik786, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a high room for the views of San Jose”
 of 5 bubbles 494mickeyb, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5