We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose

Save
Share
5th Avenue And 5th Street PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose 10101 Costa Rica
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
HolidayInn.com
US$106
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$95
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$106
US$90
View Deal
SAVE US$16
eDreamsUS$95
Agoda.comUS$95
TravelocityUS$96
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (474)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (448)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#37 of 87 hotels in San Jose
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome! Five-Star hotel offering a great location in San José, Costa Rica As the best 5-star hotel located in the historic city center of San José, Costa Rica, the Hotel Holiday Inn San José AUROLA offers discerning business and leisure travelers a chic, stylish home away from home in the heart of it all. Step inside and experience the glamorous yet cozy lobby featuring an eye-catching mural reflecting the natural beauty of Costa Rica.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Kids stay free
Car hire
Valet parking
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian
1,072Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 326
  • 371
  • 239
  • 83
  • 53
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Myhonestreview1 wrote a review Nov 2020
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina4 contributions6 helpful votes
I don't typically write reviews, but I had to share my experience at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose. I had the pleasure of staying at the Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose for business two weeks ago and I had an unbelievable experience. From the smiling faces who greet you at the front desk, to team members like Mclean who actually remembers exactly how you like your coffee, I have never experienced better service. This hotel his high COVID safety standards so rest assured you will be in good hands. The hotel rooms were pristine and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The food was amazing. Special thanks to Carlos, the General Manager for doing such a fantastic job. Bravo for leading your team and offering superior white-glove service. Thank you! S. Washington
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
AxxxJ wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
The guys from reception, bar and restaurant were so nice, careful, cool but the room instead... Smell like something too old I'm sure the carpet all over the floor it's the issue, as soon as you got to your floor the hallway not smell good, and some details in the room like the amenities that I consider a five stars hotel should provide to their customers. This was my first time in this hotel and sadly I think it will be the only one.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Rafael Rojas, Owner at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose
Responded 6 Aug 2020
Dear 91angiej Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Rafael Rojas Rooms Division Manager Tel: (506) 2523-1000 Email: rrojas@aurolahotels.com
Read more
maestr060 wrote a review May 2020
Toronto, Canada10 contributions10 helpful votes
This review is being posted 5 months after my stay because it has taken that long for Holiday Inn Aurola and IHG Group to respond to my complaint – and they still haven’t. Location: Excellent. Accommodation in Presidential Suite: Very nice! Customer service: Worst in the world. This property sets a new low standard for IHG Group of Hotels. I requested and paid a late checkout fee, allowing me to stay until 8:00 pm on the day of original checkout because of my late flight. Two days after returning home, I see the Hotel put through a full charge for 1 additional night AFTER checking out, IN ADDITION to the Late Checkout Fee of the actual day I checked out. 5 Months of trying to communicate with the Hotel by phone, email, and through IHG Group Customer Serfice, who AGREED it was an incorrect double charge failed to correct the matter. IHG Customer Service were even lied to by Holiday Inn Aurola administration when they connected directly with the Holiday Inn Aurola, who promised repeatedly the refund was processed, then every time I or IHG followed-up, had a new promise to make and did not deliver. If you read this review and doubt my claim, please read other visitor reviews on this property who also complain about excess charges that don’t get resolved by this hotel. Holiday Inn Aurola seems to be immune to the current terrible situation affecting everyone, but the hospitality industry in particular, as they appear to have no concern about losing reputation and/or future visitors and attempt to over-charge wherever possible. I strongly recommend you avoid this hotel at all costs. San Jose has lots of other properties to enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Another hotel - don't promote this Hotel's policy of overcharging by staying here
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose
Responded 1 Jul 2020
Dear maestr060, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have opened an investigation at IHG Corporate regarding this. The hotel is affected by our shortage of staff and the massive amount of requests for cancellations and refunds that we are receiving due to the ongoing pandemic. This is making processes take way longer than usual and for that, we apologize. This being said, I have sent you a PM to talk about this more, as I would like to know some more details that would help to clarify what happened. Please do check your message inbox when you have the time! Thank you for choosing us for your stay, I trust we will fix everything and regain your trust to host you again in the future. I would really love that. Until then, stay safe and healthy! Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
GillH007_12 wrote a review Mar 2020
Leominster, United Kingdom330 contributions121 helpful votes
Check in was reasonably quick considering we were a group of 17 people. Rooms as you would expect for a city hotel, not overlarge, but most things you required, except kettle. Quirky light switches, you had to twiddle them! Breakfast was busy, lots of people use this hotel before onward travel around the country.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Higher rooms will get less noise from road and square opposite
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RafaRojasM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Dear GillH007_12 Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Rafael Rojas Rooms Division Manager Tel: (506) 2523-1000 Email: rrojas@aurolahotels.com
Read more
15traveladdict9 wrote a review Mar 2020
Horsham, United Kingdom456 contributions126 helpful votes
The hotel was fine but had an impersonal feeling. The breakfast was O.K but not great. We had dinner in the bar. The food here was very good with huge helpings. The rooms had no ceiling lights so were dim.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RafaRojasM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Dear 15traveladdict9 Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Rafael Rojas Rooms Division Manager Tel: (506) 2523-1000 Email: rrojas@aurolahotels.com
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$82 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn san jose aurola hotel san jose, san jose holiday inn
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Jose MetroSan Jose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
195
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose?
Nearby attractions include Carpe Chepe (0.4 km), Teatro Nacional Costa Rica (0.4 km), and Galeria Namu (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose?
Yes, free parking, paid public parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Rojo, Restaurante Silvestre, and Tenedor Argentino.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of San Jose.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Aurola San Jose?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Italian.