We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in San Jose

Aldea San Jose

219 reviews
Save
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (8)
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good28%
  • Average13%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“outdoor kitchen”(10 reviews)
“tica bus”(11 reviews)
“hot water”(14 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (219)Write a Review
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
66
44
25
19
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
66
44
25
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor kitchentica bushot waterfree coffee every morningprivate room with bathattached restaurantperson dormcommon area isshared kitchenlocation is excellentbus stationsthe staff was friendly and helpfulstayed for one nightdown townenjoyed my staywi fihostel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

I have been staying at this lovely hostel for a week now and am very much enjoying my time here. The area where the hostel is located is very close to many surgical and dental clinics which make it an ideal spot to stay to...More

Thank christinabacardi
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well I came for a Dental visit because the best dentist in the world is only a few blocks from here but that is another review. Me and my wife found Aldea on google maps on my cell phone. It looked interesting not your normal...More

Thank snoeflake68
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for one night after arriving from Guatemala and before leaving for Liberia. The hostel is well located and close to both the local bus station and the station for buses to Liberia. The area felt safe and had lots of stores and...More

Thank Leigh_Whitworth
Response from Aldea Hostel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aldea San JoseResponded 4 weeks ago

We are happy that you found Aldea comfortable, clean, quiet, relaxing, and appreciate our friendly staff. If you are still getting to know San Jose, our reception staff can provide you with all of the information you need to be comfortable venturing out into the...More

Reviewed 3 December 2017

I was here twice and this hostel has what you need for a pit stop in San Jose. Good location, restaurants around and not far from the center. They offer both shared and private rooms and shared kitchen.

Thank Cristiane d
Response from Aldea Hostel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aldea San JoseResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting us once again. We are pleased that your stay was satisfying and our location was ideal for your travels. We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

Service prior our arrival was very good and the Aldea hostel was very flexible in moving our dates of stay. Further, the service during our stay was very welcoming too. I would give 5 stars for it. Unfortunately the room was kind of fusty and...More

Thank Tagelohner
Response from Aldea Hostel C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aldea San JoseResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for reviewing Aldea. We are happy to accommodate the date of your stay if there is room availability. We apologize that the room was not up to standard during your stay. Due to construction, it is a little more difficult to...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345632
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Multilingual Staff
Shuttle Bus Service
Laundry Service
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$22 - US$73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$22 - US$73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (8)
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Family and Play Areas (5)
Bathroom (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Nadir N
19 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from har s | Property representative |
hi, we have the airport shuttle service from San Jose to the airport only. It costs 25$ up to 4 pax. Normally, you can take the official airport which are orange color. They charge between 25$ and 30$ no more. Thank you... More
1
Vote
snowmeiser
4 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Steven B | Reviewed this property |
The best way to get to the hostel from the airport is Taxi, its about a 20 minute ride & you should not pay more than 30 dollars for the cab.- If they ask for more, start negotiations. The busses don't pick up from the... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"The bottom rooms are a little quieter but the whole place is OK"
Read review
"If you need a dorm, ask for 201, if a private room ask for 108 or 107, those are really quiet."
Read review
"I think we were in room 107.. In the back ..,away from the street ..good room!"
Read review
"Great for transfers to Nicargua, due to closely situated near TICA busses"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite