We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aldea Hostel San Jose

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Aldea Hostel San Jose
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 140: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed in a female dorm for 2 nights, and it is a nice hostel. The staff is helpfull, the restaurant next door is good, and the hostel is clean. That said, I would love to see this place go up to the next level. If they would offer for example free breakfast, that would already be a big step... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nanda S
Glasgow
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I am very surprised that this hostel reviews so well as regard my 3 stars as generous. We stayed for 1 night in a mixed 8 person dorm. The room was very noisy being only feet away from a busy road. There was only 2 power sockets for 8 beds, the toilet door lock was broken, the locker doors could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barracuda1234
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed in Aldea hostel for a week. The hostel has really good location only 5-10 minutes from the centre and bus station. The staff was super nice with lots of good advice. Especially thanks for Andrea and Kevin they were really nice and helpful. The dorm was spacious and comfy. If I go back to San Jose I am... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adri U
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review

Hello Adri, Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the convinience of the location and that you made the most of the local facilities.We are also glad you enjoyed your stay and we will be sure to let Andrea and Kevin know that you appreciated their help. If you do find your self in... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

I'm sad to say that the private room I booked was very dirty. The walls, the floors, even the light switches. The bathroom has someone else's hair in the shower, which was not warm as advertised. The fan in the room only worked when the light was on so you couldn't have the fan while sleeping. I was looking forward... More 

Helpful?
Thank L M
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review

Hi LM Thank you for your feedback and I´m happy to hear our staff made you feel welcome here. It´s unfortunate to hear about your experience as that is not our usual standard of service here at Aldea. I´m sorry that you experienced this on this occasion and we will be sure to inform of our staff of your experience... More 

Edisto Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016

If your looking for a decent place, clean, but not 5 star, this is the place. The staff was helpful and they have hot water shower. You save $10 if you book online and there is 10%off at the attached restaurant, the corner..pizzeria. You will need this extra help as it is expensive as everything in San Jose. The chicken... More 

Helpful?
Thank Volcanclimber
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review

Hello Volcanclimber, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here and appreciate your feedback. We are also glad you made the most of our great location like many of our guests. Our attached Restaurant "The Corner" is definitely a proud part of hostel and it´s good to hear you enjoyed it during your stay here. The personal pizzas... More 

Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2016

No screens on the windows, so mosquitoes were a bit of an issue. The ceiling fan was seriously gross. Overall decent place, but definitely nothing to write home about. Location was pretty good. Not the best...

Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Manager at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review

Daniel, Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you have liked our location. We are sorry that you had problems with your stay.Mosquitoes usually aren´t much of a problem here at our hostel, but we will consider getting new screens, so thank you for your input. We are also sorry that you found the rooms to be... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed in a double room for only one night. The room was very dirty, with blood on the bed. The bathroom was dirty as well, i saw at least three big cockroaches in the bathroom. The staff was also unfriendly, not helpfull at all. It is definitely not the best choise in san jose, but one of the cheapest... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mathijs v
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Manager at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review

Mathijs, We are very sorry to hear about the problems you encountered during your stay! We are not sure why or how there may have been blood present, but that is definitely not a usual problem. We are glad you gave us feedback, though, so we could know. It seems that perhaps our rooms were not cleaned well enough when... More 

1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

I Just stayed here for 1 night and to be honest could be better , I saw 3 bugs on my bedroom , and even reception is "24/7" the person in charged was sleeping so I had to walked to the door and ring the bell 3 times clean !!

Helpful?
Thank dellop21
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review

Hello Dellop21, We are sorry to hear you didn´t completely enjoy your stay and we aim to make every guest´s stay here as great as possible so we appreciate the feedback in order improve where necessary. We will be sure to speak with our external cleaning company regarding the bugs you mentioned and they will take the necessary steps in... More 

1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I've stayed in Aldea hostel for 1 night, transferring to Nicaragua. This is perfect because of the close location of Tica Bus. In the rush I completely forgot my glasses, which I found out 8 hours driving away. I left them in the great quality dorms. When I contacted Aldea, they immediately helped me by sending me the glasses to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yvo H
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Recepción at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review

Hello Yvo, Thank you for this, it is always nice to receive feedback regarding of our prime location and a job well done thanks to our staff here. We often find Aldea is a popular choice for travelers that use the Tica Bus station due to our close location. We are also very happy to hear you enjoyed our high... More 

San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2016

big colonial building, friendly guy at the desk, big double room away from the noise as requested, big fully kitted out kitchen for public use and a little connected restaurant next door. very close to small supermarket and a short walk to western restaurants, central market, museums, parque sabana etc. our light didn't work so the guy worked extra hard... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt L
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review

We are glad you had a great stay here at Aldea and thank you for your feedback! we can not wait to see you next time! More 

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 84 in San Jose
263 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.6 km away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.1 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 84 in San Jose
717 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Flying in or out of San Jose? Don't miss the opportunity to see the city!! At Aldea, we are perfectly situated to allow our guests to experience all the best the city has to offer while staying in a hostel of hotel quality. Located just off Paseo Colon, we are within walking distance of the Costa Rican Art Museum, National Museum of Costa Rica, National Theater, and central market, where you can experience the authentic hustle and bustle of locals shopping for food and goods. If you'd rather spend your time outdoors, we are a short 5 blocks from the large La Sabana Metropolitan Park. Here you'll find beautiful mountain views, a small lake, playground, and plenty of open space and walking paths, as well as the National Stadium. You may even get lucky and have the opportunity to watch a futbol game! The accommodations at Aldea match the luxuries of the city, too. Located inside a stunning Victorian mansion, we offer private rooms and dorms where you can relax in style. Each private room features a vaulted ceiling and ceiling fan, full bathroom with hot water, small closet, TV, and free wifi. Dorms include lockers and a shared bath inside the room, and free coffee is available for all guests each morning. For those who want to socialize with travelers from around the world, there is an outdoor kitchen and garden, spacious lobby with plenty of seating, and an attached restaurant and bar. With so much to see and do, you don't want to miss San Jose. So book your stay with us today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aldea Hostel San Jose

Address: Avenida 2, Calle 28 100m sur Pizza Hut Paseo Colon | Frente a la Sala Garbo, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: €10 - €53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aldea Hostel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldea Hostel San Jose Costa Rica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aldea Hostel San Jose staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Aldea Hostel San Jose staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think we were in room 107.. In the back ..,away from the street ..good room!”
 of 5 bubbles Volcanclimber, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great for transfers to Nicargua, due to closely situated near TICA busses”
 of 5 bubbles yvoh878, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Dorms had 6 beds in them and in June, my room wasn't full.”
 of 5 bubbles carlylawton7, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“103 behind the main desk!”
 of 5 bubbles hcarmich42, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I wanted an all-female room and got one!”
 of 5 bubbles bjstarx, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay