We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fauna Luxury Hostel

Save
Share
Of the Municipal Building Of Escazu 150mts West, Escazu 10201 Costa Rica
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Lol.travel
Destinia.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (88)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (11)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 10 Speciality lodging in Escazu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Fauna is a Luxury Hostel without paying for luxury. Located in one of the nicest and safest neighborhood of San José, FAUNA HOSTEL offers its guests an innovative concept that combines a premium property transformed into a Luxury Hostel . FAUNA HOSTEL offers guests a private Pod where you can decide when you want to connect with the outside and when not to.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Hot bath
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
55Somewhat walkable
Grade: 55 out of 100
41Restaurantswithin 1 km
0Attractionswithin 1 km
Contact
Of the Municipal Building Of Escazu 150mts West, Escazu 10201 Costa Rica
Getting there
Palmur Sur Airport131 kmSee all flights
Juan Santamaria Intl Airport11 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
115Reviews5Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 77
  • 25
  • 6
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
bnc2oths wrote a review Nov 2019
Bath, Maine103 contributions69 helpful votes
I was a solos traveler that wanted inexpensive but private accomodations. Fauna was perfect for my needs. The staff is professional, helpful and friendly. My room was clean and simple not any extra tables or chairs which is fine since they have a spacious dining communal area where you can sit, eat, watch tv or do work with complete freedom. The neighborhood is relatively safe to easily walk to the close grocery store, half a block away. Uber is convenient and the bus to San Jose is just up the street that gets you to the cathedral area in 20 minutes for about 80 cents. I took a tour to Poas Volcano and the Doka coffee plantation along with stops in Grecia, the metal cathedral, and Sarchi, a regional furniture manufacturing town. Everything was amazing, just know that CR roads
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Claudia F wrote a review Nov 2019
2 contributions
We stayed in the dorms with the pods and they were so nice! Comfiest beds I had the entire time we were in Costa Rica. I loved getting to shut the blinds at night and have privacy... that is hard to find when one is hostel hopping! The staff was so kind, accommodating, and welcoming. Great atmosphere. I would stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
M_Travel wrote a review Oct 2019
Costa Rica5 contributions
I booked one of the private sleeping pods listed online. They were everything they advertised. Well informed staff, I agree that there is not much to do around the site but in case of a cheap overnight it has a great style akin to that of a regular hotel. the shared kitchen space has a nice vibe and the overall cleanliness was great considering the amount of people sharing the place I did find a few hairs on the woolen blanket they gave me at reception. Despite that I would come back here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Danielle D wrote a review Oct 2019
Mal Pais, Costa Rica7 contributions
Bugs! Don’t stay here. There were bugs in the beds! Barely visible bugs crawling all over both of the beds in our room! We left covered in bites. We asked reception and housekeeping to see if they could do something or even possibly change rooms for us but I think they were having a problem throughout and wouldn’t do anything or even acknowledge our complaint. It was a nightmare! This place is run down and severely neglected. The staff seem like they hate working here as well; they were all really rude. :( we stayed here for a few nights and we should have just checked out and lost the money because it just got worse and worse. At the end one of my shirts got ruined because of some sticky paint on some furniture in the room and they literally told us it wasn’t their problem.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SmartinSacchi, General Manager at Fauna Luxury Hostel
Responded 17 Oct 2019
Dear Danielle, it is very sad that the hard work of all the team can be ruined by your review only because we have applied the rules that you've accepted and sign once you checked in. We are a pet-friendly hostel and we do love to welcome customers bringing their pets with them but for the comfort of all the others guests we do need them to respect some very easy rules: the pet has to be on the leash when walking around the hotel and it cannot sleep in our beds. Despite our kind warnings when you left we had to deep clean the room, the sheets and the mattress especially had to be sent to a professional washer that's why we've charge you $20 extra when you checked out. As you can see in all the others reviews the guests are vey happy with our facilities and services and they may feel that they're being Punked but in a nice way since our prices are so reasonable for what we offer! Pura Vida
Read more
Kira Elton wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
Had a great time at Fauna! Amazing deal for the money. Friendly staff and good vibes. The mojitos were really good! Definitely try one. The kitchen had plenty of space for multiple groups to cook at the same time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
US$18 - US$45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Jose MetroEscazu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing