We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pura Vida Hostel - Manuel Antonio

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Pura Vida Hostel - Manuel Antonio
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pura Vida Hostel - Manuel Antonio
See the most recent reviews
Showing 155: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The only reason i gave it a point is that the staff on desk very helpful and smiley, and bed clothes and towels seemed clean. Apart from that basic is an understatment, bed seen better days, toilet mat disgusting. and not really a super cheap place to stay. Coffee and pancakes for beakfast was nice until i saw the kitchen,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue a
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived in town late, tired and after checking a few hostels decided on this one. On our first look we had been quoted one price for what they claimed was all they had left but when we returned they jacked that price by $20 USD. It was $180 usd for 5 people in 2 rooms. Next morning we found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Unless you are looking to party with sketchy people, don't stay here. Very dirty, crowded, and not nice. We hiked up the two plus stories of stairs to reception, which is basically in my the dining room, and there were around 20 people just sitting around. They don't prevent or discourage non-guests from coming into the hostel. When we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren N
puravidahostel, Front Office Manager at Pura Vida Hostel - Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

I am writing as the desk worker who checked you in. First off, I am not sure what you mean by "sketchy people" because you barely even spent any time at all in the reception area, where we were celebrating New Years Eve, by the way. Unless you mean that anyone other than another white American, is sketchy to you?...

bangkok
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have been in many places but this one was just bad. The double room had mold,it was the worst matress i had ever been on (must be used like 20 years) and there was a strange,unhealthy smell in the room. The only good thing was that the shower was hot, but it was full of dirt,there was hair everywhere and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank duvin23
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 29 November 2016

This place is ok. It is the cheapest place around so that's a plus. Mattress' are very old and the dorm room wasn't that clean. 1 bathroom for 10 people which didn't smell great in the morning. Free breakfast = bag of pancake mix to make your own pancakes, not very healthy or worth eating in my opinion. It has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Byron D
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel for 5 nights and just payed 4 thanks to their offer. I don't know about the private rooms but the dorm room was light, nice and clean. They had lots of space to sit and hang out and the people working there were so nice and helpful. For 8 Dollars per night you get: free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amelie S
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

I am from Barrio Escobal of San Jose. We decided last minute to go to Manuel Antonio to rage with some friends there. We were to meet up at Pura Vida Hostel in Manuel Antonio. We arrived late evening to a warm welcome from a female with an Australian accent (sexy right?), who informed us our friends were tired of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4Sharkyshark
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

This hostel is legit. Managed the right way. Owner cares about the visitors experience, Andres you da man! Pura Vida man. The staff is attentive and welcoming from the start. Your stay here will not disappoint you the place is majical.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

First when I hit the hostel they have different prices from the ones shown in the website. Its close to quepos but not that much to Manuel Antonio. The beds are kind of dirty. I stayed in a private room for a week and they never clean the room also during that time I didn't have the breakfast. The place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Migumari
Reviewed 17 August 2016

I ended up finding Pura Vida after 3 other hostel stays in the area. This place is perfect for the solo traveler, couples traveling, or a group. The owner, Andres is such an amazing dude. He was extremely accommodating and was more than happy to help me find things to do, places to eat, ect. It's easily walking distance to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex Y

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.7 km away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 16 in Quepos
361 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
0.7 km away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,373 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#6 of 16 in Quepos
109 reviews
4.2 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pura Vida Hostel - Manuel Antonio We have fully stacked and always CLEAN communal kitchen with microwave, toaster oven, 2 large fridges, plenty of work space, some spices are included, and 2 stoves to cook on... We have many different styles of private rooms, with private bath or shared bath with HOT water showers, some rooms have safes and lockers. The dorm rooms we have 2 types to fit your budget Rooms are being cleaned daily and we are very particular and meticulous about the cleanliness o our hostel, the common areas and the rooms. We have excellent location in the pure jungle right outside of Quepos. We have Titi Monkey's that are regular visitors with us and you will be falling asleep with night sounds of the rain forest. Right around the hostel you can spot many incredible animals: Toucans, close to extinction Titi Monkeys, White Face Monkeys, Sloth, Mega Size Iguanas and our personal pet: Luna (black cat). We are walking distance to Quepos where everything is MUCH CHEAPER - because you are getting local prices, with tons of restaurants, shops, grocery shops, bars, night life, fresh farmers market (Friday and Saturday), marina and local public beach. We have a bus stop right in front of the hostel - that for less than 0.50$ Will take you to Manuel Antonio National Park and Manuel Antonio Center where everything has "tourist prices" in few minutes. Bus leaves every 20 minutes. We have excellent, happy and always smiling, bi-lingual staff that has incredible and waste knowledge of the local area, tours, shuttles, and of Costa Rica. We can help you arrange all your activities, your next hostel stays, recommend off the beaten track attractions (like the Secret Waterfall -where you can jump into it, or Playa Biezans) Come to stay with us if you want to meet great people from all over the world, have fun, party and experience the real Pura Vida Atmosphere, clean hostel and fantastic staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hostel - Manuel Antonio

Address: Main Road, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Price Range: €15 - €31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pura Vida Hostel - Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Hostel - Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Quepos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pura Vida Hostel - Manuel Antonio staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Pura Vida Hostel - Manuel Antonio staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Comfortable dorms for a budget, Very well priced privates as well!”
 of 5 bubbles alexy587, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The dorms are wonderfully spacious and good value”
 of 5 bubbles sibealc, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The private room we got was big and with a clean bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles johannab742, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Get one with an A/C unit, NOT A FAN, so you can close the windows.”
 of 5 bubbles Lindsay85, 15 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Choose a balcony terrace room with a full view of the mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles lynniz, 24 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay