We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Aurora

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Aurora
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aurora
See the most recent reviews
Showing 121: English reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Good value for money. It doesn't provide breakfast but it has a kitchen where you can cook your own as well as lunch and dinner. The lady who runs this hotel is lovely and very friendly. We did have issues with our bin being emptied and our towels replaced. They were done on the first day but not on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Corona M
Ridgeland, South Carolina
Reviewed 7 August 2015

Beautifully cool, yes, it's important, many hotels in the area do not have AC! Hotel Aurora is nestled on the edge of Montezuma. It is easily within walking distance of downtown as well as the gorgeous Costa Rican Pacific Coast, known for its stunning sunsets. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Aurora, it has FREE wifi and spacious common...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for only one night. It started out bad and continued true the stay! The girl in the reception had a bad attitude, and everything seemed to be ha hassle to here.. The aircon was old, and the fan didn't work. Of course you can not expect to much, but the attitude on the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristian T
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We stayed here on a recent trip because my fiance had stayed there years ago with some friends. His experience was a bit different. I have no complaints about the hotel. The staff was great, the accommodations were decent and we were only there for 2 nights. The last time he went, he met some awesome people that were also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shauna B
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Reviewed 23 April 2015

We were deposited on the beautiful, but somewhat littered, volcanic and sandy beach (picture below) in Montezuma by a water taxi from Jaco one morning. That boat trip was an adventure in itself because no docks or marinas are involved. The crew wraps some luggage in big plastic bags and lugs it onto the boat by wading through the surf....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2015

My wife and I have just come back from travelling round Costa Rica and we spent 8 nights at the Hotel Aurora in Montezuma, we really enjoyed our stay it is a very friendly and chilled out place. The initial room we were given I think was room 5 - we did not like the room so much (was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thehps2012
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 17 February 2015 via mobile

This hotel saved us from a horrendous stay about 100m away. The staff were friendly, the amenities were sufficient and it's well located, although montezuma is small so it's not big deal. Only downside it didn't come with breakfast. And I love breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amyd5611
Capitola, California
Reviewed 7 February 2015

The Hotel Aurora is far enough away from the noise of Chico's, but really close to both beaches and the main market. There is a funky, small, communal kitchen that is poorly equipped (no spatula?). Our room #8, on the second floor was very roomy with a separate little room with a table, benches and a fridge. The main bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cara f
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Reviewed 6 February 2015

I tried to book direct but received no response to various phone calls and emails. Finally made the reservation through booking.com, and was pleasantly surprised when they actually had our booking on our arrival! Unfortunately we were placed in a room other than the one with 'Ocean View' which I had booked and paid extra for. To be fair we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
aurora85, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for contacting and choosing us. We are very sorry to hear your complain and apologize for any inconvenience. As we tried really heard to make you a pleasant stay and found it impossible. You were really complaining about everything and putting the patience of our stuff on proof. Did you realize that in this area the electricity...

Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewed 15 January 2015

I think I am a pretty tolerant traveler and I think I keep my expectations reasonable. I have to tell you that this was the worst place ever. I agree the gals at the front desk were very helpful and personable. This place has paper thin walls. We could here everything. There were a number of German young men who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susan s
aurora85, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review

Hello Susan thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that the Junior Suite you booked during 3 days with the big bath and bedroom on the second floor with the two big windows was not liked by you. It would have been our pleasure to help you with another similar room if you would have shown...

166 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
291 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#8 of 19 in Montezuma
234 reviews
0.0 km away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
367 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
156 reviews
0.1 km away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
#11 of 19 in Montezuma
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Aurora is the first hotel in Montezuma since 1984 and has a 24 hrs. service. It offers great lounge area and wooden deck with seating area, hammocks, and cable TV surrounded by lush gardens and the nature allure of Montezuma enchantments and a view to the pacific ocean. It is located 20 minutes' walk from "La Cascada", the Montezuma River Waterfall. The rooms and suites offer a private bathroom and a fan. The suites also feature air conditioning, mini fridge and a private furnished balcony with hammocks. Guests at Hotel Aurora can use the common kitchen and they can find a variety of restaurants within 100 metres. Activities such as Isla de Tortuga Island tours can be arranged and it takes 40 minutes' boat trip to reach the area. This hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Cabo Blanco National Park and from Santa Teresa Beach. Juan Santamaria International Airport and the one in Liberia is a 3-hour drive away. The national airport Tambor is 20 minutes away ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: 100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Price Range: €36 - €74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Aurora staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Aurora staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rude service—don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles AlexandraS22, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you like to hang out, the second and third floors have hammocks to use”
 of 5 bubbles 348belindag, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“If you have to stay in this hotel do not ever get room number 8!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Joyful_Sasha, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“There are lots of rooms there either by loud front desk or loud kitchen or facing the very loud road. Watch out for that.”
 of 5 bubbles 927kseniyak, 10 Mar 2016 | Read review
“do not choose room 4!”
 of 5 bubbles wendymG3236HX, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay