We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Faro Beach Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
El Faro Beach Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for El Faro Beach Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 84: English reviews
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I like simple, cheap hostels, but even we had a horrible experience at this hostel. I received email confirmation from someone about my booking, and when we arrived they had "no space for us on the second night". The receptionists are sweet but very unprofessional, and unable to problem solve. The beds are VERY uncomfortable, and more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Gillian, First off, thanks so much for staying with us. Second, I want to apologize with you about the service you received from the front desk (where by the way, we´ve made some staff changes already)... We have to apologize for the misunderstanding presented during your check in due to an human mistake we were overbooked for the next...

Palmares, Costa Rica
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed two nights in the dormitory for women, and we loved it! Of course it is an hostel so our expectations were not high. They had a lot of bathrooms and showers that they cleaned all the time so that made us feel so much more comfertable! The atmosphere were great with an open and well equilped kitchen and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sofiafiaia
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review

We truly appreciate your comments about the hostel. It means a lot to us that you noticed how kind our staff is, our facilities, our closeness to the main beach ( walking distance) and of course to Manuel Antonio National Park, the cleanliness (housekeeping service), the free communal kitchen... There is nothing more motivating for us than receiving feedback like...

Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hostel had the dirtiest beds we have ever seen. The sheets were covered with stains. Because it was after 10 pm, we had to get the guard to come and have a look. He brought us new bedsheets, which had holes in them and were too small (for one person only). The mattress itself was disgusting. After complaining again,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dutchiesrule
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review

We apologize that we were not able to satisfy your demands! We are now taking actions to buy new sheets. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your vacations at this incredible and wonderful country!! We want to tell all our Tripadvisor readers that if there is a way we can make your stay better, we kindly ask that...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This place has one thing going for it and that is it: location. It is only 50 meters from the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park. Other than that, yikes! My wife and I have stayed in many hostels all around the world. This had to be one of the dirtiest I have ever seen. As stated by other customers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SnoobyGreenberg
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review

The management and staff here at National Park Backpackers are extremely sorry that this guest was not happy with his stay at our Hostel. It is forums like Tripadvisor that assist us to see our way clear to improve our overall service to our valued guests. Overall, we will make any necessary changes and/or corrections based upon the observations indicated...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

This was my first time in a hostel and I have to say it was good. I felt as if I had access to everything.. beach, park, restaurants, excursions, shopping and even my return ticket to San Jose. They literally can arrange it all. The facilities included some very nice amenities pool, movies, kitchen, air conditioning. The staff was warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LNJordan
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review

Dear LNJordan, Thank you very much for your kind review! The fact that you enjoyed yourselves immensely gives credit to our staff which makes this all possible. Thank you for choosing us and please come back soon!

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great location, literally right next to the national park and a really scenic 3 minute stroll from the main strip helps reduce noise at night. Friendly, kind and helpful staff. Great grounds, big kitchen and nice pool. This hostel plays a movie on the big screen ( which is the neighbouring house ) which you can watch from the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
Diego E, Gerente at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review

Mr Russell, I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our property and that all of your interactions with our staff were pleasant and memorable, our guests should always feel that they are our main concern. We are now taking actions to buy new pillows and fix the mold problem. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Paid but went to find another place and paid there, as well. They actually do not really seems to care about this hostel, as they build a new one up the hill and neglect this older one. Sheets were either dirty or with stains, very old. The "rooms" are actually narrow, long and dark corridor-like spaces. Just don't.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amir417
Diego E, Gerente at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Amir, We use all comments both positive and negative as constructive criticism, but your title for this review is extremely disturbing to us as we strive to be clean always. All the best!!

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 24 September 2013

A great facility located right outside the entrance of the Manuel Antonio National Park (itself a bit of a over-rated yawner) with great amenities. They feature a swimming pool which was being used for midnight drinking parties by guests and you can watch the projected DVD movies from either the lounge area or from the pool. The $10 dorms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyMaw
Diego E, Gerente at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Anthony, Thank you for your feedback and for your personal opinion regarding your experience at our Hostel. We appreciate your very kind words on our great location, our private pool and nightly movie. About your main complaint, I have to say that we have already taken actions by buying two powerful air purifiers and new pillows. I hope that...

Surrey
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Great location as it is very close to the beach, restaurants and the national park. I appreciated the movie played nightly, and the pool. The manager seems nice and was informative about the bus schedule to San Jose. Although the hostel seems safe, the washrooms and showers are in separate location, and both doors do not have locks. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C K
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your constructive review! We appreciate your very kind words on our great location, our private pool and nightly movie. About some of your issues, I must say you have given us some good advices, and actually already replace the stove for a new one and we are going to make the showers and...

Alajuela, Costa Rica
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Shipping containers made into rooms. Each room has a ceiling fan. The room is square. Each side is about two feet from the edge of the fan. Walk about 10 yards to a communal shower near the outdoor pool. Walk further to the communal toilets and wash sinks (no paper towels). No smoking. Ordered grilled cheese from pool side. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S1ack23
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review

Dear S1ack23, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience! I´ve already talked with the Restaurant Manager regarding the problem you had with the sandwich in order to improve and we already took actions. Overall, I believe that this particular negative feedback is related to the construction noise issues, which is already done. So, I indeed want to...

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.1 km away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
342 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
533 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
778 reviews
2.6 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
896 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
El Faro Beach Hostel is conveniently located within steps from the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park and only a short walk to Playa Espadilla (the main beach). We have an outdoor swimming pool and several common areas which provide a great place to relax and have fun with fellow guests from all over the world. We offer both private rooms and dorms with hot showers and a fully-equipped guest kitchen. Manuel Antonio is a mecca for the adventure seeker whether it is sportfishing, ziplining, whitewater rafting, sea kayaking, horseback riding, ATV tours... our friendly staff can arrange it all. It is also a haven for nature enthusiasts with all the flora and fauna and wildlife in the park.On-site we have our restaurant, the "Funky Monkey", which serves both local and international flavors from 6am to 10pm daily... including beer, for a great price. Also, we have a nightly poolside movie feature (and yes, we will take requests on what to show). We are the only hostel in the area with our amenities AND a great location. Please feel free to contact us with any questions or if there are any special arrangements you should need. We are here for you and to ensure your time spent in Manuel Antonio is the best it can possibly be. Other amenities:• WiFi • Swimming pool• No curfew• Lockers• Nighttime security guard• Free parking• Tour information• Snacks and beverages for sale• Fully-equipped kitchen area• Pura vida!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Faro Beach Hostel

Address: | Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park, 300 Mts from Restaurante Marlen, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range: €12 - €37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — El Faro Beach Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your El Faro Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Faro Beach Hostel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Faro Beach Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from El Faro Beach Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A.C. doesn't really work in private room on the first level closest to the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles hil222, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
“go to another hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles Iampaz, 6 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Rooms away from pool and tables, if you want to get some sleep”
 of 5 bubbles EvertonEhrhardt, 20 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Pay more for Aircon you will not regret it! very humid”
 of 5 bubbles 897felicityc, 2 Jul 2014 | Read review
“If you stay here get AC.”
 of 5 bubbles 268StephanieM, 5 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5