We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle Hidalgo 50mt south Condo Mar Arena, Jaco, Garabito Municipality Costa Rica
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Booking.com
eDreams
Hurb
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (91)
Pool & Beach (26)
Room & Suite (14)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Jaco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to " THE 9", the Premier Boutique Hotel in Playa Jaco, Costa Rica. At "THE 9" we have a beautiful Swimming Pool with 5 cascading waterfalls. Our swim up pool bar is a refreshing place for a Margarita in the afternoon. Enjoy spectacular sunsets. At night, relax in our Jacuzzi. Then fall asleep to the sound of Pacific Ocean waves breaking on the beach. "AT THE 9 RESTAURANT & BAR"
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Airport transportation
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Poolside bar
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Charming
267Reviews15Q+A57Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 234
  • 24
  • 6
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Usman wrote a review 19 Nov
2 contributions
Claimed we damaged something just to keep our deposit. Ruined an otherwise decent stay. Went back on their word. Kept $1000 of our money by making up lies about damage. If they were genuine and truthful about things I wouldn’t have a problem but they are not!! Be careful of staying here!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Jack, Owner at Hotel Nine
Responded 1 week ago
This group had a great time staying at our Hotel, we have many emails and texts confirming this.....they were very gracious with their gratuity, thank you very much, the staff greatly appreciated it. HOWEVER, the group (and they acknowledged it) had over $2,000 worth of damages, breakage, and losses, we only charged them 50% of the total losses. They were aware of these damages, as they were shown pictures and given the broken chairs and tables long with lamps and much much more. Sorry they felt they shouldn't have to pay for their party damages but everyone knows when you destroy property it's your responsibility.... 99% of our reviews are excellent
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa L wrote a review Oct 2022
Boston, Massachusetts81 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
Marcel and his crew took exemplary care of us. The crew was constantly ensuring the surroundings looked their best. Everyone was so friendly and the food was amazing every day. He was always two steps ahead of each excursion and really made it an awesome experience! Highly recommend Hotel 9
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Come with an open mind. Expect nothing and you’ll get everything.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kim S wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
If you want to stay in Jaco the property and location are great. The staff is wonderful and the concierge, Marcel, will bend over backwards for you. That said, you need to review the fine details of the contact before booking, so you are aware of all the extra costs beyond the VRBO payment. Even if you change the # people attending to 40 the VRBO price isn't adjusted. It's a base price for 16 people and you have to pay the owner directly $45 per person per day plus 13% occupancy tax for everyone over 16. There are also a ton additional costs included in the downloadable contact that aren't in normal VRBO rentals. I would call and review all the costs before booking as our final cost was additional 75% over and above the VRBO payment as we had 44 people. Also, we did not realize before booking that the owner requires you to use him for all the transportation to/from the property and excursions. I was told $500 would be withheld from our security deposit if we didn't use them. They have a chef so you can pay for him to cook meals. He is a wonderful chef and the food was good. However, if you are use to the reasonable cost of cooking your own meals in your rental, this isn't the case. You also have to pay $175 a day if you want to cook your own meals in the kitchen. The invoice that was provided with all the extra costs - occupancy tax, people over 16 charge, transportation, activities, meals etc, had a ton of errors. By going over it in detail I saved our group over $2,000. Math wasn't accurate, columns didn't add correctly. We were charge for people who left early and arrived late. The invoice is provided as a pdf which makes it harder to review. I converted it back to excel which made it much easier to proof. While we were there, the owner sold the place. I don't know if all these policies will continue with the new owner, but please be on the lookout for it. We weren't as diligent as we've booked VRBOs for the last 13 years and never had additional expense above the VRBO cost and were really taken by surprise. The old owner wasn't great to work with so hoping the new owner is much better!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Jack, Owner at Hotel Nine
Responded 4 Oct 2022
This Guest failed to mention the tremendous discount their group received along with many accommodations and other discounted items. Additionally all items are clearly stated in all sites and our communication over many months continued to communicate these topics. This group continued making changes for months leading up to their visit including the day before arrival and once they arrived. As they stated the Concierge and Staff went above and beyond to accommodate every wish and request. Unfortunately we can't please everyone, however we do our very best to attempt to do so and for the most part have succeeded to please 99% of our guests, many who make their visit back to us a ritual. We do appreciate all comments and try to take something from each comment so we may continue to improve and work harder for future guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Worldpeace wrote a review Aug 2022
Huntsville, Alabama2 contributions
Everyone had a great experience at Casa 9 when we got together for a family reunion with more than 30 people from different corners of the US. The staff is outstanding - Marcel, Ana, Maikol - take a bow! Maikol the chef aims to please and is passionate about serving dishes to everyone's satisfaction. As a bonus, he can cook different types of cuisine including Indian! Rooms were comfortable, the pool was great and the location was awesome.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lucy Lou wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
My family of 20 were so amazed to be able to stay at Casa 9 / Hotel 9 this year. Everyone at Hotel 9 was unbelievably accommodating and so friendly and helpful. They all worked so hard to make our visit comfortable and memorable. We started conversations with the Host, Jeff, 9 months ago, and he was a great communicator, transparent about everything and so helpful to assist us with all the arrangements from, Private Chef costs and meals, Housekeeping, and the Concierge, Marcel was off the charts helpful and friendly who made our trip over the top fantastic. The host , Jeff, was taking calls, texts and emails from us for months to help prepare us for our travels to Costa Rica, coordinating our itinerary for the 20 of us and was incredibly patient and supportive of our needs and fun to speak with. We were celebrating a 50th Wedding Anniversary, doing Vow renewals, basically it was the wedding all over again and the entire team at the Hotel made our dream come true…..Best Location on the Beach, an Amazing property with waterfall, spa, pool, and our own private restaurant and bar, I mean WOW!, and the list goes on……It was hard leaving, the trip gave us all so many great photos and memories, we want to go back every year for a family reunion. Entire Property, Rooms etc were clean, fresh and daily cleaning service too. Thank you to the entire staff and host who all made the planning and execution so easy and the Price was unbelievable for everything we received…….Priceless
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Andy wrote a review Aug 2022
Miami, Florida9 contributions1 helpful vote
I've been going to Jaco with friends for years and there's nothing that comes close to Casa 9. The location is right where you want to be, steps from the ocean, and the pool there is huge and right in the middle of the place. When I was just there, the staff was great. Anything we needed help with, it was not a problem. I don't think they ever said the word no. The privacy of having your own place is perfect. Only our group in the pool, nobody else. Food was really good, breakfast in the morning, meals on our schedule. I highly recommend Casa 9.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jacquin S wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We have no idea how this place has positive reviews after the experience we’ve had with the owner. Pay attention to all the amenities listed because each of them comes with a separate charge… They are certainly not included- even the maid service and the concierge is a per person charge per day. We were attempting to have our wedding party and our wedding ceremony at Casa 9. Geoff was such a nightmare to deal with, for us and our wedding planner. She has been in the business for 14 years & never experienced dealing with someone like Geoff… He constantly quoted really high prices even after quoting us lower prices a day earlier. He was extremely disrespectful to our wedding planner- because he wanted to be our wedding planner & not have her involved. Geoff kept adding on more and more charges including talking to our caterer to have them hike up our price to $250 per person for taco bar not including drinks!! He was unbelievably difficult to deal with, telling us we could not use our florist even because of what a liability it May be to him if the florist wasn’t properly insured etc. Keep in mind he took $13,000 of our money before he told us any of these vendors were going to be an issue. He waited until approximately six weeks before our wedding to start tacking on extra charges and refusing our vendors trying to force us to use his own chef and his own concierge‘s to do everything for us. Read the ridiculous fine print -he WILL charge you $500 fine per occurrence if any of your guests book transportation or excursions elsewhere even before they arrive. To share one example of booking an excursion with him- he tried to charge us $2500 for 10 horses when we know they’re only $50 for 2 hours per horse. He also quoted us rental furniture at $700 per set for 2 chairs & a table. He refuses to even give our $ back when we told him we could no longer work with him even though he already rented out the hotel during our paid for dates & will not return calls or emails. Maybe he has been good to work with in the past- BUT THINGS HAVE CHANGED. WE WERE WARNED BY A FEW LOCALS To book elsewhere. We should’ve listened to them & ignored the positive reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jack Jack, Owner at Hotel Nine
Responded 9 Aug 2022
??? Who is Juaquins......this person NEVER stayed at this location....I'm shocked that TripAdvisor actually allows anyone who NEVER stayed at a location to leave such a review. Let the guests , 99+% of them, who actually stayed at our loction and left 5 Star Reviews speak for us....all sites, 5 Star Reviews from very satisfied guests. Sorry for this persons situation but they did not stay at our location and I'm sure (as everyone knows) there are two sides to every story...Owners and Hosts work very hard to deliver a good experience for their guests . Pura Vida
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John G wrote a review Oct 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
The location is perfectly located on a great surfing beach with plenty of activities near by. Town is a short walk by beach or street to find local fare. The staff was very accommodating and made sure we were well taken care of and safe. 5 Stars all around.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Thomas C wrote a review Jul 2021
Bakersfield, United States10 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
The measure of a good vacation is being sad to leave. I am so so sad. Hotel 9 was the PERFECT PLACE!!!! Marcel, Anna and the whole staff are exceptional!!! We had every need and desire taken care of with kindness and smiles… what an amazing place from arrival to departure we were totally spoiled…. Chef Mikel was so awesome as well…100% will be back!!!!! I suggest you stay here if you are considering a CR VACATION!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jim H wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions3 helpful votes
If you're coming to Jaco Beach with a group then Casa 9 is where you need to stay! The pics are absolutely accurate. You're 15 yards from the soft, black sand of Jaco Beach. The rooms are clean and the pool is fantastic! One of the best parts of the stay was the staff. Marcel the concierge was incredible before we even arrived in Costa Rica. He took care of every detail for our party of 16. He was always available for a change in plans or a restaurant recommendation (and he was always right). He went with us to our excursions to make sure we were taken care of. He also makes some amazing Pina Coladas! The rooms were cleaned daily and laundry service is available. Chef Mykol cooked for us and the food was fantastic. It was an amazing and relaxing week where we didn't have to worry about a thing. This is the place for your next vacation in Costa Rica!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel 9
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasGarabito MunicipalityJaco DistrictJaco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL NINE - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (Costa Rica/Jaco) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Nine
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Nine?
Nearby attractions include El Miro (0.7 km), Mirador de Jaco (1.1 km), and Jaco Poker (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Nine?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Nine?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Nine?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Nine?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Nine?
Conveniently located restaurants include PuddleFish Brewery, Tsunami Sushi Jacó Walk, and SER Restaurante.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Nine?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Nine have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Nine offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Nine have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.