We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Pumilio

Save
Share
Del Cruce de Herradura 2 Km. Al Sur, 1 Km A La Izquierda, Jaco, Garabito Municipality 61101 Costa Rica
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Destinia.com
Prestigia.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (470)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (200)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 43 hotels in Jaco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws and lots of birds flying naturally and the lizards walking around. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches, the most developed tourist hotspot in the country, wide variety of ecological, adventure, adrenaline & sports tours, offers for every age and preference. Closely surrounded by the most famous national parks and reserves, you will also find a wide variety of restaurants, supermarkets, stores, beautiful beaches, islands and a spectacular colorful ocean among a variety of activities that makes us unique. Located on the side of the mountain at sea level Our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright the 10 suites with a kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! Breakfast is included, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast every day so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday! We love celebrating with our guests. Please let us know in advance if you are celebrating your birthday, honeymoon or anniversary, we'll give you a pleasant surprise! According with our guests plans, likes and preferences we feel happy making recommendations about the best seller’s tours, restaurants and things to do in the area, it´s even better when our guests trust us, so we have control of the service and schedules of the activities, a better experience exploring Costa Rica and we'll take care of our guest’s budget. We chose the best restaurants in the area and have their menus and bring what our guest chooses and serve it where they prefer, dining room, terrace, balcony suite or even at the pool deck. WIFI and parking also included. Leap into happiness in Hotel Pumilio, the best personalized service.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Spa
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Massage
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
844Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 673
  • 114
  • 32
  • 12
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
SouthofSomewhere wrote a review Apr 2021
Virginia Beach49 contributions47 helpful votes
We enjoyed our stay. Stained towels were quickly replaced with clean, newer towels. Friendly staff. Fabulous pool. Perfect for self-catering as there’s a kitchen with cooking utensils, etc. Loved the birdsong.
Read more
Review collected with Tripadvisor’s Reputation Pro
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pacheco, General Manager at Hotel Pumilio
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and nice comments! We are glad to know you enjoyed our boutique hotel and every detail that we prepared specially for you, excellent service is part of our signature! We are very glad you love the pool, the natural setting around it & your suite, breakfast is our favorite time of the day and it shows! We decided not to have schedule for it and like you said, we have a wide variety of options from typical gallo pinto and “tamales” to fresh tropical fruits and a delicious egg station. So glad you liked it!! We are constantly working on making our guests experience better! We hope to have you leaping into happiness at Hotel Pumilio sometime soon :)
Read more
chasam212 wrote a review Apr 2021
New York City, New York32 contributions3 helpful votes
This was my first stop on a three week tour of CR and it was great. A very comfortable place to stay with a great breakfast in the morning. Better yet was the ability to go down and get refills of coffee to bring up to my terrace so I could wind myself up for breakfast. Small property though. You are in the jungle and so there is not much beyond the pool, but it is a nice pool to swim in and you can hang on your terrace. The only complaint I have, and it is not a big one and so I did not deduct any points, is that the artificial waterfall is a little on the loud side. Luckily they shut this off at night.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pacheco, General Manager at Hotel Pumilio
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your review Chasam212! We really appreciate your nice comments and are very glad we gave you an amazing first impression of Costa Rica!! We really hope your trip continues as good as it started :) We are so glad to know you enjoyed our boutique hotel so much and appreciated every detail that we prepared for you, excellent service is part of our signature! Thanks for noticing and pointing out our amazing breakfast, which offers all the typical elements from around the country like famous gallo pinto, sweet plantains, carne mechada and tamales, along with options like our waffle and egg station, cereal, fruit, etc :) This is why our guests just LOVE it! We’re so glad you appreciated our strategic location in front of the forest, 5min away from the beach, a hidden gem you will want to hold on to. And we will take into consideration your comments about the waterfall, it is actually quite complicated because a lot of guests actually comment on how much they love this sound!!! But I definitely understand and will think of how to make it work for everyone. Thanks again for your review, we hope to have you leaping into happiness at Hotel Pumilio sometime soon :)
Read more
BenH1234567 wrote a review Apr 2021
Dayton, Ohio1 contribution
Gorgeous and well-maintained grounds, super kind and dedicated staff members, so private and quiet! We have now stayed here twice and will only stay here when traveling to Jaco – a wonderful experience every time, with beautiful rooms that have everything you need, and all the best amenities provided! Definitely will be back :)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pacheco, General Manager at Hotel Pumilio
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to know you enjoy our boutique hotel and appreciate all the small details we prepared for you, excellent service is part of our signature!! You are more than welcome to stay as many times as you want, we love having you as guests and value every minute that our guests are sharing with us!! This is our hidden gem, we’re happy to know you love it too! Thank you for your recommendation and for all the nice comments!! We hope you leap into happiness, at Hotel Pumilio, sometime soon! :)
Read more
Alley2021 wrote a review Apr 2021
Las Vegas, Nevada1 contribution
I can’t even explain how grateful I am to have stayed here. Breakfast everyday was delicious, they even offer breakfast to your room. Front desk is just a text away for all of your travel needs. They are very attentive and made our trip extremely special. From proper recommendations to setting up a cake and ballons in my room for my daughters birthday. Jaun and Cindy make sure everything you need is booked so your vacation goes as smoothly as possible. I highly recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pacheco, General Manager at Hotel Pumilio
Responded 6 Apr 2021
Alley, thank you SO MUCH for your review! We are glad to know you enjoyed our boutique hotel and all the small details we prepared for you, excellent service is part of our signature! It is very pleasing us to know your daughter had an amazing birthday and that Juan and Cindy went above and beyond to make your stay WONDERFUL!! We have focused on the details and also on giving our guests an amazing included breakfast each morning, offering all the typical breakfast elements from around the country like famous gallo pinto, sweet plantains, carne mechada and tamales. This is why our guests just LOVE it! Thank you for your appreciation!! At Pumilio every day is a Holiday and we value every minute that our guests are sharing with us!! This is our hidden gem, we’re happy to know you loved it! Thanks again for your amazing comments and for celebrating your daughter's birthday with us! We hope to have you leaping into happiness at Hotel Pumilio sometime soon :)
Read more
Alejandra G wrote a review Apr 2021
San Jose, Costa Rica2 contributions
We went to have a restful safe 4 day vacation. Unfortunately a large family of 20 had booked all the rooms in our side. They did not respect the limitations of the COVID and this enabled us to stay in the room most of the time. The day we left they divided the pool. Also it should be told in advance that they have no restaurant and that everything should be requested by delivery with large overprices.
Read more
Review collected with Tripadvisor’s Reputation Pro
Date of stay: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pacheco, General Manager at Hotel Pumilio
Responded 6 Apr 2021
Dear Alejandra, thank you for your review. We are sorry you felt uncomfortable with the group that was staying with us at the same time as you were and because of this, didn't appreciate every small detail we prepared for you and your party. Next time, it would be great if you could tell us about this (or any uncomfortable situation) DURING your stay, this way we can take action on making your stay as comfortable and pleasant as you deserve. Since our hotel is boutique, we only split the pool when we find it necessary, so that guests can have the best experience possible, while preventing social bubbles from mixing up. We are committed to providing you with a safe environment, built upon Pumilio's already high standards of housekeeping and hygiene, which is why we fortunately, haven't had any Covid related issues. As for Gastronomic Adventures, we're sorry you didn't understand it. It is actually something our guests LOVE and has very competitive prices. You can read this in our website, social media and we even tell you at check in. Again, thanks for your review. We hope you enjoy your next stay even more than you enjoyed this one!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$96 - US$315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
el paso de las lapas hotel jaco
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
El Paso de las Lapas
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasGarabito MunicipalityJaco DistrictJaco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Pumilio
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Pumilio?
Nearby attractions include Tico Pod Art House & Gifts (4.2 km), Jimmy T's Provisions (4.7 km), and Carara National Park (7.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Pumilio?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Pumilio?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Pumilio?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Pumilio?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Pumilio?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Chicano Mexican Food, Ohana Sushi Tapas Bar, and Los Mahi Tacos de Cholo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Pumilio?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Pumilio have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Pumilio offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Pumilio?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Pumilio have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Hotel Pumilio accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.