We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rafiki Safari Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Rafiki Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rafiki Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 330: English reviews
Summit, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

This is a pretty amazing spot run by a pretty amazing family. It's a remote outpost, very difficult to get to but you get to experience the rain forest full on. Plus you have the amenities of a great common room a decent restaurant and well constructed and appointed tents (though not quite luxury, they are comfortable and safe for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tally11111
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Amazing staff-very friendly and very attentive. The rafting was an absolute blast, made better by our guide Mono! The Aqua Hike was an experience not to miss. The guides (Mono and Steven) really made it better with their knowledge and humor. The food was fabulous. The staff and owners really were personable. The location is ideal for a jungle experience.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gary H
Lokshire, Guest Relations Manager at Rafiki Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words Gary. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback about the guides! Pure vida....

Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

This is a must see place to go. You are placed in the middle og the "jungle" in super surroundings. Great tours are arranged to fit your needs. The food is local, simple and great. The owners approach you with a very relaxed and personal stile and are committed to the whole project of creating this preservation area. Rest of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christian S
Lokshire, Guest Relations Manager at Rafiki Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Christian, Thank you for your visit and for all of the kind words....

East Helena, Montana
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

After much searching through guidebooks and Internet reviews we selected this lodge for part of our stay in Costa Rica. It's a beautiful setting with a very accommodating staff. 0ther comments about stay -quick to respond to email inquiries, helpful with transportation and suggested activities in the area -the rafting trip was a highlight - our guide Kenneth was tops-...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alyson M
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Superb location in the jungle. Rafting, Aqua hike and horse back riding were great. Warm welcome and very friendly service during the 3 days. Food was tasty and healthy. The tents were perfect. We recommend it +++. 2-3 days is perfect. Better to go there than staying longer in Manuel Antonio...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pascal-André V
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Amazing staff. Very relaxing and beautiful area and vistas. Crazy fun horse ride straight up and down the mountain with precious local guides who were personable and accommodating to all our varied skill levels. The tents were very interesting but hot for sleeping. There were no monkeys or furry wildlife of any kind. Lots of birds and reptiles of interest...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mbozrn
Lokshire, Guest Relations Manager at Rafiki Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We appreciate the kind words and the criticism helps us improve our lodge. The tents are not air conditioned, but we rarely have guests tell us that they were too hot. We are in the tropics and only 300 feet above sea level, so heat is to be expected, but I am sorry your fan...

Reviewed 1 July 2016

Our first trip to Costa Rica and Rafiki took care of us beginning to end - family owned resorts in the jungle and on the pacific coast! We did the Super Lekker package and had something exciting to do every day with wonderful guides with just our family of four - two teenagers and two adults celebrating graduations. We enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Megan A
Lokshire, Public Relations Manager at Rafiki Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Hi guys, Thanks for the nice thoughts. I know this was a special occasion for you and I am glad you enjoyed your time. It was fun helping you plan it and even more fun watching you take in the beauty Costa Rica offers. Sorry about the ants!

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 25 June 2016

I took a couple-hour raft trip down the Savegre with a large group of friends. The raft guides were super fun and very experienced and knowledgeable. Even though they frequently tipped us out of the rafts I never felt in danger. It was very clear that they were an excellent team of professionals completely capable of keeping a large group...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank vaughnylo
Lokshire, Guest Relations Manager at Rafiki Safari Lodge, responded to this review

First of all, welcome to the Savegre swim team. Yes, guides can get a little mischievous, but it sounds like you were asking for it. They are been on the river long enough to know when it is appropriate to have people take a swim and when it is not! The Savegre has lovely deep pools at the end of...

Reviewed 25 June 2016

If you are looking for a complete experience and not just a hotel room, this is the place to go! We booked the Super Lekker package for our family of 6. This included 4 nights at the forest lodge and 2 nights at the beach. From the start, things were very well planned and all of the activities (whitewater rafting,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jim W
Lokshire, Guest Relations Manager at Rafiki Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Wow! You said it all... Thank you. I will make sure everyone involved gets to read your review, it is always nice to know that the hard work is appreciated! Sincerely, Lautjie

Birmingham, AL
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We began our trip of 3 weeks in CR at Rafiki because they were so very helpful in our planning the rest of the trip. Lautjie Boshoff was so responsive from the very beginning and eventually joined us on a great part of our journey. We elected to go with the Super Lekker package and were NOT disappointed in our...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BFletcher123
Lokshire, Guest Relations Manager at Rafiki Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Fletcher family, You guys were great. You have great adventurous spirit and are wonderful travelers! Thank you for the kind words. Sorry about the car... We had a landslide about 10km from the lodge and it kinda made the road a bit more to chew off than it was when you made the reservation. You are very kind. Thank...

299 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (284)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Province of Puntarenas hotels
18.2 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
840 reviews
19.2 km away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
958 reviews
35.5 km away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,335 reviews
18.8 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,235 reviews
18.6 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rafiki is a sustainable adventure lodge located in the Savegre Valley of Costa Rica. The lodge sits on 840 acres of tropical forest. Rafiki specializes in custom white water rafting, horseback riding and hiking trips. Guests sleep in imported luxury Safari Tents which feature hydro electric fans and lights. Each tent sits on a raised hardwood platform, has a deluxe bathroom with glass showers heated with fire. The units also have a private porch with rocking chairs looking over the Savegre Valley. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rafiki Safari Lodge

Address: 16 Km from Pacific Coastal highway, Rio Savegre, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas
Price Range: €246 - €315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rafiki Safari Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rafiki Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafiki Safari Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Rafiki Safari Lodge Costa Rica/Province Of Puntarenas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rafiki Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rafiki Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All are great but honeymoon suite is the most secluded and has its own jacuzzi!”
 of 5 bubbles 982kathleenv, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Safari tents sleeps 4-5 ppl. with fans and fully working bathrooms & electricity. GLAMPING at its finest.”
 of 5 bubbles 258bethe, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had some hot water issues, but other than that I think the rooms are all pretty similar.”
 of 5 bubbles bjr702016, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Cabin 1 is the most sought after because it overlooks the beautiful lake.”
 of 5 bubbles garyhV5835RG, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Campers may like the tents, ask for privacy if you want it”
 of 5 bubbles mbozrn, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay