We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cariblue Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,005 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cariblue Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 547: English reviews
Paris, France
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Very nice and big rooms, recently refurbished. Just 50 mts away from the beach. A bit far from Puerto Viejo center if you go by foot Friendly people, managed by italian family, good italian cuisine Good breakfast, ask for espresso, very good I'd definitely reccomend it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michel_Tesmer
MarielaTotem, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Michael, Thank you very much for your comments. It is incentive to the staff of Totem Hotel. Best regards.

Odessa, Ukraine
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel in October 2013. The hotel is beautiful, well-kept grounds, the location is great. Perhaps, on this coast is the nicest hotel. And for this reason, prices are unreasonably high. Personally, I was disappointed with the quality of service. I do not recommend coming for more than 3 days. In our room, there was no Internet....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Irrriha
Johnny A, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that a customer have not felt well in our hotel, we always try by all means to give them the best of the best. Now days the internet, as a primary tool of communication is our priority, so, we always inspect the service with our own equipments, to ensure that the connection is working properly. Many times...

Manuel Antonio
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at Totem Beach with our two kids, 4 & 7. On the positive side, the location really couldn't be better. Just step off the property and you're at the beach. The rooms are big . . . plenty of space. And, the pool clearly was very nice at one time. The downside is that it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MALocal
MarielaTotem, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review

Hello MALocal, It is a pleasure for can modify all the thing our clients recommend. Thank you very much for choosing us and for letting us know the way we have to follow for more confort to our visits. Best regards.

Brno, Czech Republic
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have spent two nights in this hotel. Hotel is located in a quieter part of the village, far to center. Bungalow type delux was small, but clean and cozy. Missing wardrobe in the room. King size bed was there. Bungalows are surrounded by tropical gardens. Many exotic animals live in the garden. Restaurant was clean and large selection of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roman_Dita
Downey
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here from Oct 11-22nd. The hotel is located about a mile from Puerto Viejo. Which is a 3-4 minute cab ride or 7 minute bike ride. If you dont feel like going to Puerto Viejo there are a good couple of restaurants walking distance from the hotel. There is even have a market about a 5 minute bike...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Antoniette62
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our tour operator had picked this place for our honeymoon trip. The place is across the road from the beach, where you can take surf lessons in the morning. We were given a secluded, private bungalow, with a front porch and hammock. The bed was soft and the room was nicely appointed. The bathroom was huge and so was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viviane F
London
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and booked a suite. This isn't a suite, it's a very big room with another room attached, so a big family room. It's not deluxe and is not a suite. It's very very dArk and a bit depressing even with lights on, its still dark, it's shabby looking, the small sofa is filthy, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChilliLondon
MarielaTotem, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review

Hello ChilliLondon, It is very important to us to know what things are not satisfying our clients to improve it. Other helpful point is when somebody is experinecing a not good service, show them selves at the reception and explain it, in that way is easier to make feel our client better and to help them to enjoy their vacations....

Reviewed 15 October 2013

We're a Costa Rican family who enjoys very much visiting this area. We always look for comfort and good-quality service. Two months ago we booked conditioned to a price given and signed on reservation papers. Upon arrival, receptionist said it was wrong and she would need to charge more. As it was written and signed, obviously we did not accept...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vivi_miranda
Johnny A, Director General at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

El hotel Cariblue, tiene una serie de servicios que ofrece, en varias líneas de venta como lo son claro habitaciones,...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Sept. 2013. The room was dirty (cobwebs and what have you flying from the ceiling fan and a BAT hanging from the light fixture). There were creepy crawlies everywhere. The internet was down. We were told it was down for the entire Puerto Viejo area but when we decided to get the hell out of there we found out they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank syendo
MarielaTotem, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review

Hello syendo, Thank you for showing us what points we have to improve. We will take action on the matter. Best regards.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Totem is in such a great location. Friendly and relaxed, and a hop from the beach out of the hum drum of Puerto Viejo. Nice pools and good hearty breakfast although the cheaper rooms need updating so recommend that you pay a little more for the beach view suite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimee C

1,367 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (658)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (104)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (82)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
9:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (263)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (676)
Viewed
Amenities (65)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Beachfront Bungalow (67)
Viewed
Bungalow (50)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (46)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (16)
Viewed
Jungle Family House (88)
Viewed
Main Pool with Bar (23)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Standard Jungle Bungalow (42)
Viewed
Superior Room (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (106)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
3.8 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,415 reviews
1.4 km away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.3 km away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
617 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
461 reviews
0.8 km away
Yare Hotel
Yare Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cocles
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your Caribbean resort in Puerto Viejo, de Limon, Costa Rica.Hotel Cariblue is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature, the beaches and comfort.A leader among Costa Rica hotels and resorts, we offer luxurious hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine white sand beach of Playa Cocles and lush natural jungle (more info about us). Enjoy our award-winning service and our full range of amenities and facilities in a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. A paradise is waiting for you."Cariblue Hotel” “Your Caribbean resort", is a 3 star hotel and 3 green leaves (CST), is the ideal place to enjoy your vacation, Its located just steps away from beautiful pristine white sand beach, Playa Cocles and just a mile from typical village of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca (Old Harbor), where the Afro Caribbean, Indian and all over the world cultures are mixed in harmony and peace.Cariblue has 23 private and comfortable bungalows nestled in a gorgeous tropical garden of almost 5 acres (20.000 sqm). All the bungalows feature a private balcony overlooking the resort's tropical gardens. Impressive Gourmet Restaurant "Soleluna" with a gorgeous bar and in the pool with our happy hour every day in our pool bar. Spend a lazy day by the beautiful pool area, kid's pool and relax in the Jacuzzi while enjoying one of our selection of fine tropical cocktails. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cariblue Hotel

Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: €92 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cariblue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cariblue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariblue Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cariblue Hotel Costa Rica/Puerto Viejo De Talamanca
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cariblue Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
nashville, tn
The Netherlands
9 months ago
Texarkana, Texas
over a year ago
Bryson City, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Cariblue Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Within the gated resort, the second floor "beach front" unit gave a decent view of the surfers.”
toddk698, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The staff is very friendly and helpful. Take time to get to know them!”
1960Jacques, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The bungalows are great. Own terrace and hammock.”
nicka845, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the 400s are on the beach and have a small adjacent barely-used pool”
NetDiva, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Superior cabins are more secluded and spacious”
  • Superior cabin #214
lindseykayjohnson, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5