We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vista Verde Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Vista Verde Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
Start your review of Vista Verde Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms are standard. No more than what you pay for. There are a lot of mosquitos. The window has to stay opened because it's so hot and there isn't a screen. The mosquito net over the bed has holes in it and it isn't large enough for the double bed anyways so you probably won't use it. They said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abby N
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We had a spacious room facing the backyard, which looked like a dump, but actually had a lot of birds and other animals in it. We saw both a toucan, an iguana and poison dart frogs from the window. The hostel is clean, and the shared toilets and showers were always fresh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asasven
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 14 February 2017

When traveling to Puerto Viejo, I made the reservations for my group of 6 friends for this hostel and was very nervous that we would regret not staying in a place like Rocking J's like other students that were visiting as well - Safe to say, we did not regret it one bit. I haven't slept so well since starting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandylackmann
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

My friend and I booked this hostel last minute for our final nights stay in Puerto Viejo before heading out. We were pleasantly surprised by this place as we were only looking for something that fit our budget. We showed up to a cute little bungalow tucked away off the main road which was very nice so that we wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin L
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We had a really good stay at Vista Verde! Rooms are basic, but well kept and equipped with mosquito nets which is a plus. The common kitchen is GREAT with lots of equipment, free use of spices, oils etc. There are nice outdoors common areas surrounded by a beautiful garden and lots of hammocks! The whole hostel, including the kitchen,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanna J
Rochefort en Terre, France
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

This is a quirky and funky place, ideal if you are into yoga and or surfing. Francisco is very accommodating. His mum is super sweet. The shared kitchen is well equipped and clean. The rooms are basic but do have mosquito nets which is great. There is a hot shower but there is a risk of being electrocuted so I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thatsagoodname
ottawa
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Very nice place, stayed four nights. Everything is kept clean, which must be difficult in the jungle environment and gives you an idea of the work that is put in. Francesco is very laid back and easy going, willing to help out and accommodate in any way he can. Also an excellent distance from town - far enough away to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neildOttawa
Vistaverde, Manager at Vista Verde Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you guys for dedicating some of your time to review vista verde, you are right, its not easy to keep a place in the jungle clean and that is our main goal, we are trying to give a clean and comfortable accommodation for a reasonable price and sometimes in this kind of environment its really an issue, you are...

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

First of all the positive things: The rooms were clean and pretty spacious. Mosquito nets were installed. It was quite at night. Unfortunately the negative things outweighed the positive ones: The owner has a mentally unstable dog that tried to bite me in the very beginning and rushed on a couple two time without reason. When I told the owner,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
VistaVerdeGuestHouse, Manager at Vista Verde Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write a review for vista verde, thanks for your appreciation about the rooms that you found suitable and clean in fact we put a lot of effort in keeping it clean because in this jungle environment it's really necessary and not so easy. we do have a guard dog for general safety,...

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Good location in P.V. Great value. Super helpful friendly host. Nice spaces to chill out. Showers are a bit hit and miss and kitchen could be a little cleaner. Otherwise enjoyed staying here immensely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pimbolyn
New York
Reviewed 21 September 2016

I am the Founder of WOCHR and we recently had our women's retreat and some of our instructors lodged at vista verde and they had a wonderful experience. The rooms are lovely, the hammocks are great to stretch in, we also held a yoga class at Vista Verde Guest House it was perfect. Highly recommended !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smallsa
VistaVerdeGuestHouse, Manager at Vista Verde Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you, it was really nice to host this event, very lovely people and a great opportunity to learn.

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.7 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,411 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
616 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#17 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
54 reviews
0.3 km away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#4 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
110 reviews
0.4 km away
Sea Tower Hotel
Sea Tower Hotel
#10 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Vista VerdeWe have five beautiful private bedrooms with two shared bathrooms and showers immersed in a nice tropical garden in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca-Caribe Sur. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vista Verde Guest House

Address: 40 m south of Elena Brown Restaurant, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: €32 - €36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Vista Verde Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Vista Verde Hotel Puerto Viejo
Vista Verde Guest House Costa Rica/Puerto Viejo De Talamanca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vista Verde Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Vista Verde Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs has nice views, downstairs is closer to the hot shower.”
neildOttawa, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“upstairs past the bathroom there is a single room with a double bed. it's quiet and very good for late sleepers”
muralman3234, 6 Sep 2014 | Read review
“In high season, advance bookings is a must. The rooms sell out quickly according to Francisco.”
ThomasKH59, 26 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Stay during dry weather.”
Ubernaga, 22 Aug 2014 | Read review
“In our opinion the best room was on the second floor towards the back. Its the most private one in the place.”
  • Our double room
rios419, 17 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5