We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Botella de Leche

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Botella de Leche
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 123: English reviews
Start your review of La Botella de Leche
 Click to rate
Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The owners Manuel,Stephanie and Chris and staff are tremendous, from the minute you walk in the hostel until you leave you made to feel at home. They have created an appealing atmosphere that's caters to the young and older travelers alike. The hostel has covers almost everyone's needs,fast wifi,pool,bar,kitchen,tv lounge area and more. We stayed three wks in a one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hoss_Kar
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Hola Hoss Kar, Thanks you for your kind words. I will pass the message to Chris and Steph too. We are glad that you felt comfortable during your stay and that you felt the "like at home" vibe that we aim for. Big huggs and I´ll take your word in the Would stay again part. Thanks again for writting Manu

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and two friends travelled to Tamarindo and La Botella de Leche on a whim, and I am so glad we did. We were greeted by the most hospitable staff and Manuel and Stephanie (the owners) are two of the kindest and helpful people I have had the pleasure of meeting while traveling. We stayed in a co ed dorm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Olivia S
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Thank you Olivia, we miss seeing you three coming and going at the hostel. It was always nice to see you three with a smile in your faces. Come whenever you want. You are part of us now. Huggs from all the staff. Manu

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel is an absolute gem! This was my first hostel experience and I wouldn't want it any other way. La Botella de Leche was easy to find and is extremely cute. We walked in to be greeted by the owners Stephanie, Manuel and their adorable kids as well as the rest of the incredible staff which made us feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alysha g
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Hola Alysha, Thank you for the great review. We are glad you had a great time with us. It is a pitty I didn´t get to say goodbye. At least you know you have a family here whenever you want to come back to Tamarindo. Huggs and hope to see you again sometime soon! Manu and Stephanie.

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed 4 nights in this hostel and it was amazing. First of all the owners are really friendly and helpful. It is an amazing place if your travelling alone to meet other backpackers becauses there is a lot of commun area and the pool is great after a day at the beach! It is far enough from the bars...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Thank you Jessica, it was a pleasure to have you here. Thank you for the kind words towards us. Hope we´ll see you sometime soon again. We are glad you met other fellow backpackers. Best Regards Manu

Saint Clair Shores
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Manuel & Stephanie (owners) are most hospitable and very helpful for any traveler that has not spent significant time in Tamarindo or Costa Rica. They made everyone feel welcome nad made sure everyone was satisfied with there stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank l0rie007
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Hola Lorie007, Thank you for taking the time in writing this review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here enough to write one. Also, I might disagree in the casual part (as written in your title) or the significant time in Tamarindo, we always help our guests no matter what whether they are brand new to the town or...

Walla Walla, Washington
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Have stayed at several of their locations over the last 10 years. Love the vibes, relaxation, people, and very helpful to make your stay enjoyable. Clean rooms, full available kitchens. Stay during xmas once and was even given a mask carving as a present to make me feel included. Cant wait to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jshrub3
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Thanks Jshrub3, We hope to see you coming back again soon into our family. You will always be welcome. Huggs Manu

Riga, Riga, Latvia
Reviewed 1 February 2017

First time staying at a hostel and it exceeded all my expectations. People where very nice, atmosphere was very laid back and all in all it was a great experience. I took surfing lessons with Marco, who is a really cool dude and enjoyed them. Would I go back there? for sure I would. Stayed for 8 days and would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arturs K
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Hi Arturs, We really enjoyed having you here. We actually miss you a little bit. Marco and all the staff says hi to you too and hope we´ll see you again soon in this area. Huggs Manu

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

La Botella de Leche is all around a great hostel! The staff was extremely helpful and always willing to drop everything in order to help you with whatever you needed. Everyone I met here was really friendly and welcoming. It was a great place to come as a solo traveler looking to socialize and have fun. At the same time,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiriamCompton
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Thanks Miriam, We are glad you enjoy your time here with us. We enjoy our lives here in Tamarindo and we always try to share that joy with you, it was a pleasure to have you here and we hope we´ll see you again some time soon. Huggs from La Botella Family Manu

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 3 December 2016

I stayed in Costa Rica for 2 weeks. I planned to stay in Tamarindo for 1 week, take surf classes then see what I'll do. I ended up staying in Tamarindo at La Botella De Leche for 2 weeks. It's 5 to 10 mins walk from the beach. You have restaurants around, 2 supermarkets, a bank.. I stayed in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salsa79
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Thanks Salsa79, Thank you for the kind words...even though we are used to see people coming and leaving...it was hard to see you go. We are glad to read that you had a great time with us. Is for people like you that we enjoy what we do. Hope we haven´t seen the last of you. Stephanie told me you...

Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

We were a couple there planned to stay just one night and at the end stayed 4 nights ! Veryyyy nice owners , they help in every question, nice hotel very clean and comfortable, good vibes and cool people over there !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank galneubauer
labotelladeleche, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Thanks Galnebauer, It was a pleasure to have you here. Thank you for taking the time to review us, is on of the ways we have to see if we are going in the right direction. In regards to your stay...I know Tamarindo has a way to suck you in...before you know it...you are stuck here and don´t want to...

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 22 in Tamarindo
542 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,354 reviews
0.5 km away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
102 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,164 reviews
1.5 km away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are the first hostel in Tamarindo. In business for more than 15 years, we know what we are doing. Our objective is to help you have a problem and stress free holidays here with us. Family owned, comfortable and quiet. We are always improving to satisfy our clients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Botella de Leche

Address: Tamarindo Beach | 50 mts from Banco Nacional de Costa Rica, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Price Range: €18 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Botella de Leche 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your La Botella de Leche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Botella De Leche Hotel Tamarindo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Botella de Leche staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from La Botella de Leche staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“you don't have to battle your bunkmates for the AC temperature in the private room!”
 of 5 bubbles rodo106, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you travel with friends, try to ask for the room upstairs. It's perfect, quiet and it has it's own private balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles A6694FLsergios, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I recommend bottom bunks in the dorms for more privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles 12heleneh, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms were good, after 12 the security guard keeps everything quiet so that everyone can rest”
 of 5 bubbles D742JGscotts, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“All Rooms have A/C and are very Clean.”
 of 5 bubbles AndreJTerra, 23 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5