We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Casa del Mar Samara

50 metros al Este de la Escuela de Samara 50 Mt, Playa Samara Costa Rica
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (99)
Room & Suite (36)
Pool & Beach (31)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 30/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 30/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#14 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Travellers' Choice
Our hotel located opposite the beach has 17 rooms. 11 rooms have a private bathroom, air conditioning, fan, fridge and breakfast included in the price. We also have 6 "economy" rooms which have two shared bathrooms, fan and breakfast is now included in the price. But these rooms do not have air conditioning. We have rooms for 2, 3, 4 or 5 people. We also provide free beach towels.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Street parking
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Clothes rack
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
157Reviews3Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 86
  • 39
  • 14
  • 7
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Chuck C wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Rooms were very simple, did the job (but would try another location next time). Breakfast was an interesting experience (not a positive one), across the street you could get a real breakfast. Samara is a cool little town. Just around the corner there are lots of places for good food. Beaches are great. The beach restaurant/bar was a great place to eat and hang out at beach. Very cool restaurant/bar. Found lots of gluten free options at open air food court.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
pontbriand j wrote a review Feb 2020
Montreal, Canada4 contributions2 helpful votes
Nice hotel near the beach but the two ownwers care more about their rules rather than our confort,very discusting to be reprimand as a child,this is not acceptable for a quiet and mature guest!!! As said food is strictly forbidden but the real problem is ants and they don’t seem to know how to eradicate them.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Response from Hotel Casa del ... S, Propriétaire at Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
Responded 12 Feb 2020
What a comment !!!! Why write in English when you are a Quebec woman embittered by life. You tell everyone you meet that you are a widow so that people will feel sorry for you, but as soon as you don't get what you want, we have the right to a beautiful hysteria fit worthy of a 2 year old child. In 15 days, madam, you had no ants in your room. This was not the case with your Quebecois friends who passed into the room next to you. The ONLY room in the entire hotel to have had ants. And why ? simply because they had "chips" in their room. Then we are happy to complete your knowledge: Crisps are food. In addition, our "rules" as you call them are clearly written to you upon your reservation request. So if they didn't suit you, why did you come to our hotel? Come on, no hard feelings, we will put your comment on your old age.
Read more
rom wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
Arrived at 8PM. No light on the ceiling, reading lights above the bed did not work. Only the office-like, metal light at the corner of the room far from the bed. No night tables at the bed. In the morning, looking from the hall through the opened door, I noticed that in the other room there was a huge standing radiator. And it worked! There were also two bed-tables boarding the bed, and two reading lights. I asked the owner if I could have a better room, like my neighbor's. The answer was: "You did see your room in the morning. Too late." (She was right. I did see the room, but I assumed that there is electricity and everything works.) I asked her to repair the the lights and she sent a man to do it . Within a minute, she told me :"Its done". But it wasn't. I asked again. And again she sent the maintenance worker, and he said to me : "I cannot repair these two lights in the wall because electricity in the wall is broken." I repeated his statement to the owner and it was too much for her: "Get out!" My fellow Norte Americanos! You do not have to travel very far to experience rude hotel owners. In Samara Costa Rica you will find such a hotel - Hotel Casa Del Mar. There were 10 people before me who evaluated this hotel as terrible, and they also used the word RUDE HOSTS.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: check the room carefuy
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Hotel Casa del ... S, Propriétaire at Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Another comment but this time modified because the first was rejected for hateful and racist comments. That just shows the person you are. However, your lies remain ... You came to see the room 2 times before deciding to book it. You told us that you couldn't stay with your wife and her friends. We will pass on the qualifiers that you used to speak about them, our education obliges us. You returned in the evening at 6.30pm to reserve the room. You went up there and dropped off your luggage. You came back at 8:30 p.m. to go to bed. The next day at 6:00 in the morning you came to make a scandal at the reception so that customers who attended the scene were shocked by the behavior of an old man like you. You said that the electricity in the room didn't work in the whole room. The receptionist then told you that if the ceiling fan was working, there was electricity. She sent the maintenance man to check and indeed everything was working. It was a mistake to pull the chain to make the light work (there are 2 chains, one for the fan and one for the light). During this time, you took advantage of the fact that a guest from another room had gone to the bathroom to enter his room. You went back down to the reception and asked to take this room. The receptionist then told you that she was booked. But there, nothing went well, neither the view of the room, nor the service, in short nothing and you have to continue to insult it. She then replied that you had seen the room twice, and told you that if nothing went right in the hotel you could leave. So not a GOT OUT as you say. The customers present recommended that we call the police, but we preferred to report you on the inter-hotel site worldwide. The comment left by the customers who preceded you in the room shows once again your bad times and your lie. Hope to never see you again.
Read more
socon wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
Casa Del Mar is small (around 10 - 12 rooms), very comfortable and clean. The owners and all staff members are lovely and hospitable. The owners/proprietors are very helpful and kind. It is a quiet and relaxing property with a jacuzzi pool in the courtyard and breakfast included daily. The location is perfect - just steps from the beach, a food court for lunch with many delicious options, as well as a variety of good restaurants on the beach and in the small quaint town of Samara.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Sleep Quality
Beardsley R wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We've just returned from our fifth (and last) stay at Casa del Mar. It's an excellent place to stay in many respects: the rooms are basic with built-in furniture and a refrigerator and it's 30 yards from the beach. But the two French sisters who run the place have become older and much less hospitable to the point of spontaneously shouting in my face as I sat at the breakfast table. They have newly-posted signs prohibiting food in the rooms -- as unrealistic an expectation as there could be (we ignored it). There's a place just next door with excellent reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Response from Hotel Casa del ... S, Propriétaire at Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
Responded 3 Jan 2020
In fact, you have been coming to us many times, but your behavior both with us and with the staff has been disrespectful. Even your wife was ashamed of your behavior and repeatedly came to apologize for you. The poor are terrorized by you. A man your age should be ashamed of behaving like that. All the customers present in the hotel were shocked by your behavior and especially when you made fun of one of us. Some even advised us to take you out of the hotel the same day, which we did not do for the sake of your wife. You are an embittered man who believes he can do what he wants where he wants. we inform you, By this answer, we have denounced you so that all the hotels in the world and especially those in Paris will know what kind of person you are. And be certain that we never want to see you again in our establishment.
Read more
US$51 - US$54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
hotel casa del mar samara
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacastePlaya Samara
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Casa del Mar Samara?
Nearby attractions include dondeJavitours (0.1 km), Samara Beach (0.2 km), and Monkey Point Playa Samara (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Casa del Mar Samara?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Is parking available at Hotel Casa del Mar Samara?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Casa del Mar Samara?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ti Kaz La restaurante, Bouticafe Bohemia, and Samara Organics Mercado Organico.
Is Hotel Casa del Mar Samara located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Playa Samara.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Casa del Mar Samara?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Is Hotel Casa del Mar Samara accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.