We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Playa Grande Surf Camp

Save
Share
Palm Beach Estates, Playa Grande 011 Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
US$56
View deal
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (67)
Room & Suite (18)
Pool & Beach (13)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 7 Speciality lodging in Playa Grande
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Playa Grande Surf Camp is located only footsteps from one of the best beach breaks in all of Costa Rica. This beautiful beach is perfect for surfers of all levels and all types of boards. We offer private cabinas with AC and pilotis without AC with shared bathrooms in the Hostel style at budget prices. As well as a 2 Bedroom Apartment with private bathroom for a little more privacy. Surf packages and surf lessons are available. Amenities include a pool, kitchen, and BBQ, PGSC offers the perfect mix of relaxation and fun.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Happy hour
Beach
Diving
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Outdoor dining area
Horseback riding
Water sport equipment rentals
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Oven
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Pool view
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German
122Reviews9Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 91
  • 20
  • 4
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jesse g wrote a review Mar 2021
Brainerd, Minnesota10 contributions
+1
My original plans for Costa Rica fell apart so I found myself solo traveling. I have never done that before, but was looking for something of value and off the beaten path. Playa Grande is at the end of the road. Tamarindo is a short walk and a water taxi away. It will cost you $1-$2 depending upon the boat. Tamarindo is busier if that is what you want. Anyway. Dawn and everybody there made me feel like family. All the staff was very awesome! I have read some of the other reviews. I assure you, they get back to you promptly and the place is cleaned every day. They went out of their way to make sure I was aware of what was going on so I did not miss out. Victor runs a great restaurant attached to this place called Cafe Mar Azul. Food is great. And then the surfing. My only goal on this trip was to learn to surf. Not sure I would call myself a surfer, but Vidi got me standing up on my first wave and then some over next few days. The guy is awesome and and from what he tells me, a soccer star!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Miriam P wrote a review Feb 2021
5 contributions
We’ve had the opportunity to travel a bit and usually stay at top resorts. With our 5 kids we venture into a different kind of vacation and arrived at Playa Grande Surf Camp. Although it is more like a hostel experience we enjoyed it way more than a top resort. My kids felt safe and Dawn and the staff was genuinely kind and VERY serviceable. When we left we felt like we were leaving part of our family. It is clean and very enjoyable. Steps away from the beach 🏝. Will definitely stay there next time. Surfing lessons were super fun and all my kids ranging from 9-15 years learned it. Vidier has a great and easy way to make help you understand the moves. He was super fun to be with.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Maria J wrote a review Oct 2020
Tilaran, Costa Rica3 contributions1 helpful vote
A 30 second walk to the beach, comfortable rooms with A/C, a spacious outdoor cooking area that's fully stocked with pots, pans, dishware, and silverware. We saw so much wildlife while we stayed here - highly recommend it! My favorite part of staying here was listening to the waves crash on the beach. Bliss!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jamesdaley1234 wrote a review Feb 2020
New Haven, Connecticut14 contributions3 helpful votes
This place is nestled right down the road from the beach (which is great as you don't have to walk far with your board). It's got a nice little hostel/hotel vibe with separate little cabinas surrounding a pool/outdoor living area. I didn't stay here but I used the shop to rent boards/get lessons. The prices are decent - $20board/day or $40 for a 3 hr lesson including a full day board rental. You could get cheaper. in town but not as close to the beach. I cannot recommend the lessons enough. The surf instructor Viddy is phenomenal! He's from the area and knows everything about the waves and the local haps. It's sooo worth going out with him (as opposed to just renting a board). Even if you think you're good, do it. This guy is a surfing whizz and a great teacher. I really improved over the week I spent in palm beach estates and it's all due to him. He has this uncanny knack to find the perfect spot for the biggest/awesomest waves so you just get great run after great run. Not to mention he provides a little security as well for the amateur (or even experienced) solo surfer. I was the only one in my group who surfed and it was nice having him there. I'm an ER doctor and can't help think of the small (but real) possibility of getting smacked in the head by my own board and Viddy is like a fish - he'd have you on the beach and back at the bar in two mins.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from PGSC, Manager at Playa Grande Surf Camp
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Thank you so much James for your outstanding review! :) It was a pleasure to have you here and to have you surfing with us! We will see you hopefully next year! :) Have a good one! Alina
Read more
Anabelle Dubois wrote a review Jan 2020
5 contributions
On my third night got harassed by member of staff and friend. Then only to realize that me bedroom door lock was broken. What type of hotel dont offer bedrooms that lock? Asked management to fix but request was ignored for three days before putting a very cheap lock on it. And why Playa Grande Surf Camp will accept this type of behaviour ?? They dont care about women security. They dont care about guests. Spent two weeks not sleeping at night, being fearful. My vacations was ruined by fear. Women travelling alone dont go there its not safe. On a site note most disgusting fridges ever. I am glad to be asked to rewrite my review because i forgot another side note. They sell activities and one is called Wild Life Sanctuary Experience. In reality, this activity brings you to Diamante Eco Adventure Park's, a place that advertises exciting zip line, ATV tours, and horseback riding! What type of Sanctuary would sell Horseback riding?? Far from the atmosphere of a rescued animal sanctuary. Like a zoo, you will witness miserable caged animals and on top of it what they call the feeding of the sloth, where a poor sloth is brought out for a feeding, surrounded by gazillions of tourists taking pictures. So this is 95$ US for a zoo-like experience, not a sanctuary.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from PGSC, Manager at Playa Grande Surf Camp
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Hello Anabelle, These are some harsh statements from your side which I do not agree with, therefore you will find some comments below. I would like to point out that during your whole stay (12 Nights) you never mentioned harassment. We are a small Hostel, managed and run by women who take the safety of all our guests serious. A few days into your stay you asked me to put an extra lock on your door. Which I followed up the very next day. As we verified together, in the talk we had when you asked me to put on a lock, I did not ignore the email you sent rather than not receive it as you used the wrong email address. Nor did you use the provided telephone number on which I am available 24h/ day in cases of emergencies which is noted down in every room on the information sheets. A really important statement on my staff. I am 100% certain that non of my staff members would try to enter a room or would harass another Person. We would not tolerance any behavior like this at all. As a women myself I understand that talking about any harassment is not easy, but I wished you would have told me in person via email or in a text in a more private space rather than write a bad review 3 weeks after your depature. In that way we could have work something out. For example refunding your stay so you could have moved to an other place where you would have felt more comfortable. Obviously it was not our wish to ruin your vacation. A quick side note to the fridge. We do have daily a cleaning lady coming in who takes care of all our shared bathrooms, the kitchen and the common area. She does a great job, in holding it clean but of course we will take this note to the heart and pay more attention to the fridges. The Tours we offer at our Hotel are through a tour operator who offers various tours for various tastes. I am sorry that you did not like this specific tour but we should not forget to mention that you did a few days later a tour with the same tour operator that you really enjoyed. We as the Surf Camp do not have any influence on these tours but of course we are always happy to hear constructive criticism so we can help guests find the tours they will like the best. Regards. Alina
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$55 - US$66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
playa grande surf camp hotel playa grande
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacastePlaya Grande
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Playa Grande Surf Camp
Which popular attractions are close to Playa Grande Surf Camp?
Nearby attractions include Seven Cave Bar (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Playa Grande Surf Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Playa Grande Surf Camp?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, an oven, and a pool view.
What food & drink options are available at Playa Grande Surf Camp?
Guests can enjoy an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Playa Grande Surf Camp?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Playa Grande Surf Camp?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Mar Azul, L'Estanco El Jardin Escondido, and Restaurante Cantarana.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Playa Grande Surf Camp?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Playa Grande Surf Camp have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Playa Grande Surf Camp offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Playa Grande Surf Camp?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.