We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hospedaje Dodero

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Hospedaje Dodero
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hospedaje Dodero
See the most recent reviews
Showing 160: English reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

I was robbed on my bus on my way to Liberia from Monteverde. The sweet man at the hostel was very kind and helpful and gave me a free night. Helped me leave Costa Rica with a more positive impression. (The trip advisor 200-character minimum is stupid, I don't have anything else to say.)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parker C
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I didn't know what to expect from this hostel in Liberia. There was a group of 7 of us and we all had an enjoyable stay. The good things: Clean rooms and open areas. Comfortable beds and pillows. Good AC for those hot nights. Nice back patio, hammocks in the front and back to relax in. Hosts Shawn & Jesus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NixMason
HospedajeDodero, Manager at Hospedaje Dodero, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. You really summed up the hostel well so there is not really much more to say. Thanks again and we hope you had a wonderful trip!

Bogota, New Jersey
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

Wasn't expecting much from a budget option hostel in Costa Rica but definitely not worth revisiting. I booked for me and a friend on hostelworld and had emailed them 3 weeks in advance letting them know he wouldn't make it. Tried to charge me for both beds and flat out didn't believe that I had been an email contact with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craig s
HospedajeDodero, Owner at Hospedaje Dodero, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. There seems to be some confusion about cancelling your companions reservation and the transport you scheduled from the airport. Your companion's reservation was cancelled but you had still arranged transport from the airport which is $20 for up to 2 persons. For some reason you thought it was going to be half since he...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Location is close to the bus depot. It's a small hostel but currently renovating to add more rooms. One of the managers, Hesus, is unbelievably knowledgable, well-organized, and detail-oriented. The map he gives out has all the details you'll need to know, not just in navigating the city, but also the different options outside the city - ex. navigating the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19izzy82
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

First the good things: dorm and kitchen are clean, hosts are nice an the bus station is only 2 minutes away. But it is not a place if you want to sleep long: the dorm is right next to a busy street, so sleeping after 6 am is almost impossible. Beside that also the cars of the owners are right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
Reviewed 17 May 2016

The hostel was very nice. The owners are very nice and friendly. The rooms are clean. The courtyard in the backyard is super chill. The tours are great and worth the price. The hostel is within walking distance of pretty much the whole city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chester W
North Smithfield
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

This place was great. Clean and had a cute backyard. The outdoor kitchen is functional and bathrooms kept really clean. The workers were kind and attentive. The only annoying thing is they don't give you keys so you have to ring a bell when you go in or out. Besides that, I would recommend this place if going to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethany D
trondheim
Reviewed 17 April 2016

My girlfriend had come down with some tropical disease, and we came to Dodero after a quite exhausting border crossing. It's literally 3 minutes from the bus station and very easy to find, and Jesus, the owner was very welcoming. He even made a garlic spaghetti for my girlfriend to make her feel better, and the room was clean with...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thegypsyviking
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

Met owner and was really friendly and helpful and ensured transportation out of Liberia as well as transportation to the airport was all set up. In fact I got a ride from Jesus (pronounced "Hay-zus") straight to the airport on my departure day since having a very early flight. Located steps within the bus stop which you can find a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J M
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

4 gringos who don't speak spainish came to Liberia without a plan and found this awesome little hostel. The owners were so helpful with everything from finding local restaurants to helping us get a rental car. We would have been lost without their help.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grandbizarre

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
10.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
0.7 km away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 16 in Liberia
74 reviews
2.7 km away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
173 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#14 of 16 in Liberia
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer clean, comfortable and safe accommodations just 100 meters from Liberia's main bus station and city market. Each room comes with a TV, full cable (including HBO, Cinemax and Cinecanal), WiFi, and access to a community kitchen. Our rooms are a combination of twin and full size beds with shared bath and either air conditioning or fan. We have DORM beds! Our prices range from $11-20 per person so we have something to meet everyone's budget. Come relax in one of our hammocks on our front porch or in the garden while you plan your next adventure in Costa Rica! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hospedaje Dodero

Address: Mts Norte y 25 Mts Oeste de la Estacion de Buses de Liberia 100 | 100 meters north & 25 meters west of the Liberia bus station, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Price Range: €11 - €25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hospedaje Dodero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hospedaje Dodero staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Hospedaje Dodero staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask the host, he will help you”
 of 5 bubbles fumg, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get the airco”
 of 5 bubbles 137kimberleeb, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pay for a private room. Learn some Spanish. Make new friends.”
 of 5 bubbles 420brittanyc, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 was a nice room but it faces the courtyard so it could be noisy if people are out there talking (was fine for us)”
 of 5 bubbles ethelred30, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The room in the back garden may not hear the gate bell so much.”
 of 5 bubbles manitree, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5