We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,432 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,386: English reviews
orlando
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed at the Lost Iguana for five nights. The first night we had a regular room which was very nice and the last four nights we had a two bedroom villa as there were two couples. The master bedroom was really nice with an outdoor shower and king bed. The other bedroom was obviously for children with two double...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacana
Encinitas, California, United States
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I cannot say enough good things about our stay here. My boyfriend and I stayed in the luxury suite which had a direct view of Arenal, rocking chairs on the patio where we enjoyed drinks while taking in the view and watching the fireflies at night, and a private outside jacuzzi bathtub. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, particularly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
Madison, Connecticut
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Our family had a wonderful time at Lost Iguana. We were especially impressed by the outstanding customer service. Prior to our arrival, I contacted the hotel to ask if their restaurant could accommodate my husband because he has to eat a gluten-free diet. I were pleasantly surprised at the care and concern that the hotel took regarding this issue. Even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoyRR
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My mom and I stayed in room #6 which had 2 full beds and a jacuzzi tub (which was never used), and a great view of the volcano. The hotel is located 25-30 minute drive from the town. I recommend renting a car - the drive is a little rugged compared to the states, but if you concentrate you'll be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aberfitchfish
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 31 August 2012

You fly to Costa Rica, take a three hour drive up, down and around and end up on the unspeakably beautiful grounds of the Lost Iguana. Which, as my daughter commented, sounds just like the Rainforest Cafe. Except its not. Its full-on, authentic rain forest. The attraction of Lost Iguana is in its individuality, its lack of the sanitized sameness...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FleurdeFloride
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 30 August 2012

what a place!!! we finished our 3 weeks trip to Costa Rica in the Lost Iguana - a wonderful resort!! great room excellent view great coffee in the room very helpful staff - we can't wait to come back - I recommend it to everyone - we had the best time!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sigsigm
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Lost Iguana for four nights, and fully enjoyed every minute we were there. First of all, the grounds of the hotel and the views of the volcano are stunning. Whether or not you've been to Costa Rica before, you'll be amazed by the scenery (both natural and landscaped). My favorite view was from...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Justin D
Jersey City
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The hotel grounds are beautiful but this is an uncomfotable place to stay. I stayed in room 25. The air conditioning was not working properly and the fan in the room was making an extremely loud noise. I slept at night fearing it would fall on me. I could not turn it off or I would have burned up in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank meliconn
gogreenCR, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

I am so sorry you were not happy and chose to check out early. You purchased a promotion from Groupon that was 75% off our regular rates and this promotion has rules which you requested we not follow. We did give you the option of using your remaining time during low season in 2013 but you requested using the unused...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This hotel is beautiful. The grounds make you feel like you are in the middle of the rainforest, just by walking out to your outdoor Jacuzzi. Perfect view of the volcano. It is a magical place, with fireflies dancing at night, and with a clear sky you can even see the milky way. Rooms are spacious and the outdoor showers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mlf2011
Union City, California
Reviewed 26 August 2012

It didn't start off so great because of a transportation issue in the beginning, but the hotel staff compensated our lost time with a complimentary spa. Thank you! It was our first time in the spa and it was very relaxing, especially being stressed from traveling. The soft back massage I requested wasn't too pressured. We had it in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita K

1,713 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1298)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (236)
Viewed
View from Room (183)
Viewed
Room/Suite (295)
Viewed
Bathroom (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (76)
Viewed
Dining (81)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (364)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (407)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Condo (65)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Suite (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Villa (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
3.6 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,720 reviews
3.1 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,124 reviews
2.4 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,272 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,334 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range: €173 - €298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Lost Iguana
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#9 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#10 Spa Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#10 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lost Iguana Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
35 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from Lost Iguana Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms have a view of the volcano.”
 of 5 bubbles ShekinahG, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Buildings are two story, but on lower floor we were distracted by footfalls in the room above us.”
 of 5 bubbles Ida257, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Definitely go for the luxury suite with balcony, fabulous room with amazing views!”
 of 5 bubbles Car0lcat, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms offer great views, but we prefer the second floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 5VacationLuvR7, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms are farther from restaurant and a little bit of a hike so beware for those in need of assistance moving around.”
 of 5 bubbles dnreddy00, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5