We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs

Save
Share
Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007 Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$143
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$143
View deal
FindHotel
US$142
View deal
TravelocityUS$143
Hotels.comUS$143
PricelineUS$159
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2417)
360
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (747)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 22/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs
Updated 22/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 69 hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hot spring bath
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
2742Reviews76Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,878
  • 680
  • 134
  • 32
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Chris C wrote a review Sep 2022
Clayton, Georgia6 contributions1 helpful vote
Let’s start with the “hot springs”-or should I say “Luke warm” springs. This was by far one of the dirtiest hot springs/pool I’ve ever been in and the fact that it was barely warm makes me question if it was actually a true hot spring. The room was ok, the ac did work well but the beds were absolutely the most uncomfortable things I’ve slept on while I’m Costa Rica. It honestly felt like we were sleeping on the box springs. I think the icing on the cake was being dropped off at the reception after a tour and as we started walking back to our room, it started pouring rain. We had 3, yes 3, hotel vans pass us walking in the pouring rain and didn’t bother to stop and offer us a ride to our room. Really disappointed in the lack of awareness for us as guests. I promise you, your money will be best spent elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Propietario at Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs
Responded today
Hello Chris! Greetings from Arenal Manoa Hotel. Thank you for your recent visit, we hope you had a wonderful time in Costa Rica. We would like to offer our sincere apologies for any inconveniences with the service you might have experience here, we always try to accomodate as much as we can to our guests requests and provide the best experience during your stay. In regards the hot springs, the water is taken from a natural source located around 1km far from the hotel, the temperature goes around 34 to 40 degrees celcius and since it is natural spring we cannot regulate the temperature. We appreciate that you take the time to share your comment with us, feedback is always really important to have in order to improve many details. We hope to have your visit once again and have the opportunity to give you the level and quality of service that you deserve. Pura Vida! 🖐
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stemege wrote a review Sep 2022
Rome, Italy120 contributions37 helpful votes
+1
We had a beautiful room with view of volcano and had the luck to see it all days we were there. Food was very good, big breakfast buffet with choices for every body. The staff was very attentive..The hot spring in the hotel is beautiful. It's a hotel which absolutely deserves for stars. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Propietario at Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs
Responded 5 days ago
Hello Stemege Very nice to know from you again. We are extremely happy to know that your stay at Arenal Manoa hotel was amazing. Thank you much for taking the time to leave us such a special and nice comment. it makes us feel happy and motivate to keep up giving unforgettable experiences to our guests. Hope we have the pleasure to have your visit once again and soon. Pura vida !🖐
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nardavega wrote a review Sep 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia161 contributions98 helpful votes
The complex is absolutely beautiful. Our room was spacious, great and huge walk-in shower, surrounded by plants, trees, butterflies. Double sliding glass door with amazing views of the volcano. Since it was cloudy, the thermal pools were not hot. Check out was a bit difficult--staff member checking us out was not very knowledgeable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Propietario at Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Nardavega, Very nice to know from you again. We are extremely happy to know that your stay at Arenal Manoa hotel was excelent. Thank you much for taking the time to leave us a nice comment it makes us feel happy and motivate to keep up giving unforgettable experiences to our guests and it also helps to improve. Hope we have the pleasure to have your visit once again and soon. Pura vida !🖐
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
danielpV425ZS wrote a review Sep 2022
19 contributions5 helpful votes
Arenal Manoa is a beautiful property!! Rooms are spacious with great AC, and a walk out patio that has amazing view of the volcano. Amenities include both a pool and hot springs both with swim up bars. Staff are friendly and helpful, and the hotel is close to all the activities you’d want to do in the area (ZipLine, waterfall, Mistico, Tabacon, etc). Restaurant prices are a little high, but food was good. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Do activities in the early morning as rain typically comes in the afternoon.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Propietario at Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Daniel! It is good to know that you had a fantastic stay at Arenal Manoa. We are very happy to have had another satisfy guest. Thanks for taking the to time to leave us a review with such a perfect qualification and with so many beautiful words. Hope we can have your visit sooner than posible, and be able to know who is this beauty person behind. Pura vida! 🖐
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louisehols wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom18 contributions9 helpful votes
We had a room that was a long walk from the reception area, but it was near the pool area, restaurant and had a lovely garden view with lots of hummingbirds busy feeding on the plants. Spacious room, with two double beds, which the staff added another single bed for our daughter. The thermal pools in the main pool area, especially the new free form rock pools we thought were nicer than the main thermal pool area. Very good buffet breakfast in the lovely restaurant overlooking the lake where a cayman lived (we didn’t spot it) and the volcano, which did become visible when the cloud cleared at the top on our last day. The hotel is about 10-15 minutes by taxi into La Fortuna, with a good range of restaurants and the excellent Bogarin Sloth Trail, also the Northfields Coffee and chocolate tour, who collect you from the hotel reception.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Propietario at Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Louise! It is good to know again about you! Thank you so much for your recent visit and for taking the time to leave us such a special and nice comment. We are more than happy to see how much you enjoyed staying here at Hotel Arenal Manoa, the wonderful landscape, the hot springs, the facilities and that you and your family had an amazing time. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Pura vida! 🖐
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yanina116 wrote a review Sep 2022
Greater London, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean and had awesome views of the volcano. The pool areas were fabulous with the spa pool and regular pool. My only niggles were that the bar and restaurant staff were a bit miserable, not very attentive and rather slow. Housekeeping, drivers and reception staff were excellent. The food was ok, breakfast was lovely but dinner was average. The view from the restaurant is breathtaking.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: rooms spread over large area so if you know eg spa pool is where you will spend your time, then...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Propietario at Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Yanina! Greetings from Arenal area! It is a pleasure to know the amazing time you spent here, that you liked and enjoyed a lot the facilities, the beauty of the nature surrounding the resort, the staff service and your stay here at Arenal Manoa Hotel. We appreaciate that you take the time to leave us your comment and point out about the service, feedback is always well received in order to improve many details. Looking forward to have your visit once again and give you the level and quality of service that you deserve. Pura Vida! 🖐
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joelle H wrote a review Aug 2022
6 contributions
This hotel was EVERYTHING. Absolutely amazing. The rooms, lobby, and facilities were all very clean. The free breakfast was delicious and always came with an excellent view of the volcano. The staff was so attentive and helpful and truly made me and my group feel special. Rolsbin and Jose at the front desk were always so pleasant and informative. Eduardo and Esteban drove us around the property on the shuttles and always were punctual and polite. Hilda and Luis were the best bartenders and went above and beyond for us. Our housekeepers Maria and Gabriella were excellent as well. We arranged transportation with the hotel to and from the airport, which was a simple and organized process. We are extremely pleased with this resort and I definitely recommend it to anyone that is thinking about staying here!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Propietario at Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Joelle We are very happy to know thar our service was exceptional for you . It is a big pleasure to know that you really enjoyed our place at La Fortuna. We apprecite so much that you take the time to leave a comment like this, it makes us feel happy and motivated to keep being extremely kind and giving unforgettable experiences to our guests. We also let the staff know about your comment and they are so thankful and send you a warm hug. Hope to have your visit once again and soon. Pura vida! 🖐
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
richardford2017 wrote a review Aug 2022
Exeter, United Kingdom185 contributions100 helpful votes
+1
We were looking for a base in LaFortuna here in central Costa Rica in wish to base ourselves for 3 nights. This is a special hotel in a special location. From the moment we arrived at the front gate and was speedy checked in by Rebecca and Jose, all was explained to us and we even downloaded the resort activity programme. Next as the complex is so big (that doesn’t mean that it is overflowing with guests, far from it) we were shown our room on the map and drove to it. The single storey building was fabulous with a direct view of the area’s main attraction, the volcano (I am not going to name the room number, as to set a precedent) but it was stunning. Clean, spacious and very private with no one overlooking us. The bathroom was unique as it had a cheese plaint dividing the toilet and the shower. We had booked 3 breakfasts while we were their, all food was well cooked and the choice was both Central American and European. Staff knowledgeable and friendly, always trying to improve their Language. Special mention to Luis, Esterban and Lue, but in all fairness everyone was fabulous and a credit to the hotel. Marlene was our maid and was so nice, leaving us little animals made from the towels. We did have an issue with a patio door that wouldn’t lock, we reported it, within 10 minutes maintenance were there to fix and as we were going to dinner they had fixed it, all within 20 minutes. Both the Thermal and Standard Pools were very clean, well staffed and we had some enjoyable drinks there on a rainy afternoon, Hilda was chatting and a pleasure to spend time with. Lastly the lady in the office, Daniela who sorted out our mistake when we booked, she went the extra mile and saved us a lot of money and even got us a refund from the booking agent, to her we were extremely indebted to. This is a relaxing resort and we wish we could have spent longer their - we will be back and hopefully my Spanish will have improved
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Propietario at Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Richard It is good to know that you had a wonderful stay at Arenal Manoa. We are very happy to have had another satisfy guest and also to know that we exceeded your expetations. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review with such a perfect qualification and with so many beautiful words it makes us feel very motivate to keep on giving our best. Hope we can have your visit again and sooner than posible. Pura vida! 🖐
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jess W wrote a review Aug 2022
8 contributions2 helpful votes
I really loved the location of this resort! The view was INCREDIBLE. It looked just like a picture. The breakfast was great and had a lot of options, the room was spacious, and had a lot of options on the TV for different channels. The parking was very convenient as well. There's a lot to do in the area with the town so close by. The ambience was very happy and many smiling faces!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Propietario at Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs
Responded 27 Aug 2022
Hello Jess! So nice to hear again from you. We are more than glad to know the amazing time you spent with us, the you liked and enjoyed the facilities, the wonderful views and landscape surrounding the resort. We appreciate that you take the time to share your nice comment with us, it is a big motivation for us to continue with the amazing work. Looking forward to have your visit once again in the very near future. Pura Vida! 🖐
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jan S wrote a review Aug 2022
Henderson, Nevada1 contribution
We had a great time in this place. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. Some room has parking next to them and some you have to park in the street (private street). The pool and termales are clean and well staffed, with plenty of towels and cabanas or tables with pool umbrellas. This place is a few minutes away from all major attractions. I highly recommend this place and will definitely book again on our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: if you're traveling in a car, request the number above 250 -- parking is close to the room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Propietario at Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs
Responded 23 Aug 2022
Hello Jan, Very nice to know about you again. It makes us very happy to see that we could reach your expectantios and your stay was completely pleasant. Happy to see yau also enjoyed the staff service´s and all the facilities. Thank you so much for leaving us your comment with so many beautiful and motivated words. Hope to have oportunity to have your visit once again at Arenal Manoa. Pura vida 🖐
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$107 - US$201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
arenal manoa hotel la fortuna de san carlos, arenal manoa hotel and spa
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of AlajuelaArenal Volcano National ParkLa Fortuna de San Carlos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
102
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs
Which popular attractions are close to Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs?
Nearby attractions include Bogarin Trail (4.7 km), Arenal Oasis Wildlife Refuge (4.9 km), and Ecotermales Fortuna (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jalapas Restaurant, Tiquicia Restaurant, and Restaurante Travesia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs have airport transportation?
Yes, Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Arenal Manoa Resort Hotel & Hot Springs offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.