We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Lavas Tacotal

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lavas Tacotal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 85: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

This hotel was fairly run down in terms of the rooms. The worst thing was the state of the bed sheets which were quite badly stained. Also only one key was available for each room which is unacceptable for multiple occupancy rooms, even if you leave the key at reception when you leave you still have to wake people up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank T_78_12
Eduardo l, Gerente at Hotel Lavas Tacotal, responded to this review

Dear Friends Greetings from Lavas Tacotal Hotel Thank you for your comments and we will be carefull with sheets with a new inversión very soon. Best regards Eduardo Lanaspa

Nashville, TN
Reviewed 3 March 2016

I remember when this was a great hotel. Now it's run down - patchwork repairs to cabin roofs, old bath fixtures that need repair or replacement, erratic A/C units, sporadic hot water. I used to enjoy bringing guests here. This last time, I was embarrassed. Guests put on a good face, but side comments made it clear they did not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TreadLightAdventurer
Eduardo l, Gerente at Hotel Lavas Tacotal, responded to this review

Dear sirs, Greetings from Lavas Tacotal hotel and we are sorry for your inconvinients. We really want that you visit us in a future and every stay according to your expectatives. Best regards Eduardo Lanaspa

Reviewed 16 January 2016

First glance it looked great. We had two cabins. Rundown. Doors didn't fit tight. Everything was a little shabby. The bat in the room apparently left after we tried to find it. Least favorite hotel on the trip. Glad it was only one night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
Eduardo l, Gerente at Hotel Lavas Tacotal, responded to this review

Dear John Greetings from Lavas Tacotal Hotel We are so sorry for your comments and we will work for be better in a short time. Best regards Eduardo Lanaspa

Lawai, Hawaii
Reviewed 11 January 2016

I enjoyed staying here. The food was good and there were snacks available for purchase. We did not get a good view of the volcano because of the clouds but I liked our room and our bathroom had a nice big tub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mallory m
Eduardo l, Gerente at Hotel Lavas Tacotal, responded to this review

Dear friends Thank you for your comments and we hope you can come back in a future Best regards !! Eduardo Lanaspa

Reviewed 6 January 2016

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days and our stay was very comfortable. The breakfast is good and it has a nice little restaurant area that you can enjoy in the evening. The staff is friendly and Jennifer who works there as a manager/chef and bartender is simply awesome... Except for the fact the the bed was not the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikhil d
Eduardo l, Gerente at Hotel Lavas Tacotal, responded to this review

Dear sirs Greetings from Lavas Tacotal Hotel Thank you for your comments and we will work for be better each day. Best regards Eduardo Lanaspa

Alpine, Texas
Reviewed 2 January 2016

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The landscaping and grounds were unique and well cared for but the rooms were dark, small, and needed better mattresses and pillows. Our adult children were in a cottage next door to us and were not able to use their fan because they feared it would fall on them. The room did keep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 742lynne
Eduardo l, Gerente at Hotel Lavas Tacotal, responded to this review

Dear Lynne Greetings from Lavas Tacotal and thank you for the comment about the staff. Do you remember the room number in order to check the fan? Housekeeping check the rooms but maybe the mistake is when the guest use the room all time. Anyway we want apologize and we want a wish a Happy New Year. Best regards Eduardo...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

For me this resembled the set of "lost". I can imagine it was once a lovely place to stay, but it is looking old, tired and quite uncared for. Our first room the lock on the balcony door was broken so we changed rooms. The pool facing the volcano had a hole in the middle where the filter lid was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swind0nnicki
Eduardo l, Gerente at Hotel Lavas Tacotal, responded to this review

Dear friends Greetings grom LaFortune. We are so sorry for not reach your expectations. We will work for trying to correct the mistakes that you tell us. Best regards Eduardo Lanaspa

Goldsboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 May 2015

I have visited this hotel on multiple occasions over the last 8 years. The difference between 8 years ago and today is pretty obvious. The tropical wet climate accompanied by poor upkeep has pushed the hotel into a state of disrepair. Many of the rooms are showing their age and have multiple issues with AC, doors, bathrooms and other amenities....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan S
Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

The hotel was well situated for activities such as hot springs, fortuna, suspended bridges and hikes. Luxurious for the price and good service. We had a private cabin for 70$ way bigger than what we needed! The pool was clean and confortable!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samuel S
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 16 March 2015

The area is cloudy about 50% of the time, so you need a little luck to see the beautiful Arenal vulcano in the backyard. I stayed at the end of the path, in the building with several rooms. Rooms were good, clean and spacious, with a nice balcony. Quiet surroundings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elvira B

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
7.1 km away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#26 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
265 reviews
5.9 km away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#39 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
113 reviews
8.2 km away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Hotel Fuego Arenal
Hotel Fuego Arenal
#45 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
13 reviews
5.7 km away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
163 reviews
6.0 km away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Hotel Lavas Tacotal you can enjoy the natural greatness of the Arenal Volcano. Its amazing conic shape and constant volcanic activity, the Arenal Volcano is one of the most important attractions in Costa Rica. Walk through trails of solidified lava, ride across exhuberant forests, the activity of the Arenal Volcano during the day or by night. The amazing spectacle of incandescent lava flowing from the crater is truly breathtaking. The hotel amenities includes air conditioning, maid service, pool, restaurant, tennis, bar, laundry, spa, 24 hour security, souvenir shop, and private parking. handicap facilities, and non smoking rooms are also available. The room amenities includes cable TVs, balcony, safe deposit boxes, telephones, mini bars, and Internet connection. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas Tacotal

Address: 10 Km West from downtown La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 2772-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: €67 - €91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lavas Tacotal 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Lavas Tacotal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavas Tacotal Hotel
Hotel Lavas Tacotal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Lavas Tacotal staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Lavas Tacotal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose rooms towards the back of the property nearer the volcano. But all are good.”
 of 5 bubbles 982dannyb, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the cute bugalos. They are more spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles SummerLover71, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Any of the cabin type lodgings have great views of the volcano.”
 of 5 bubbles scotti667, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I would definitely choose the upper rooms”
 of 5 bubbles nathaliecA3472JC, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The hotel-like building at the bottom of the complex is newer. Cabins - avoid.”
 of 5 bubbles TreadLightAdventurer, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5