We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 27: English reviews
Start your review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren
 Click to rate
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you aren't going for the golf stay clear of this soulless mausoleum of a hotel. We thought we would be staying in the centre of Shanghai but at the last minute we were told we would be staying in this dump which is in the Shanghai equivalent of Watford but without the charisma. Foam filled pillows that felt as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tripad2017
uk
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here two nice for business as it is close to the port where we needed to be, read a few reviews so wasn't expecting 5 stars. Room was golf course view double clean and comfortable and spacious and everything worked. Hotel is not close to shops or restaurants. It has a Chinese and Japanese restaurant and both were ok...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dooseyUk
Chris S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your stay. Welcome back to our hotel again.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 30 November 2016

This was our last hotel on the trip,golf course resort. Very large cold foyer, patchy wifi, absolutely nothing around the hotel as in shops or restaurants. Breakfast selection ran out when I asked staff about refilling items they said none left.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry-ann C
Chris S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing our hotel. we are a resort hotel near a 36 hole golf course. Your comment is very important to us. We will keep up the good service. Hope you come back again and see our improvements.

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The rooms in this hotel are in need of refurbishment. They are very dated and most of the woodwork is chipped around handles, sockets are coming off the walls and the lighting control panel by the bed is upside down. This is probably as it has fallen off the wall before. There is also a clear language barrier between staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RaoulDJ
Chris S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us. We apologize that you did not have a perfect guest experience with us. We are renovating our guest room recently. Hope to welcome you in the future and you can see our improvements. Thanks again for your stay.

Indonesia
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The location is far away from the downtown Shanghai. Stayed there for 2 nights in a golf course view room. The road to the hotel was dark at night and it's in the middle of nowhere. No convenience store nearby the hotel within walking distance. The room was standard and wifi was signal was a bit weak in our room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Perseus2324
Chris S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us. Welcoem back again.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 26 July 2016

In a great setting with lovely views of the golf course from the balcony of the rooms, but that is about all this hotel has going for it. A strange smell lingers around the place, and the rooms are not very clean or fully functional (my shower was only working sporadically). Bed was uncomfortable and I'm not sure my aircon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 766sebastianp
Chris S, PA TO GM at Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren, responded to this review

DEAR GUEST, Thanks for you stay and your comment. Your comment is very important to us. We apologize that we did not provide a perfect experience during your stay. We will follow up the problems you mentioned. Hope you will come back in the future and see our improvements.

Frederikshavn, Denmark
Reviewed 28 April 2016

This is a great hotel with a good location inside a Golf course, It's the first time I have been on a hotel in Shanghai with a green view. They have the fastest WiFI experienced in China, maybe due to a lack of guests. Room is very nice, and the breakfast is ok.... Now to the odor, as soon as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TM2205
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Cold, dirty, terrible food and awful service. We are wearing jackets inside, the breakfast food is clearly lasts nights leftovers and bread is stale. Rooms need to be cleaned properly, like vacuumed! Staff look at you like they wish you weren't here, do things like tell you where the restaurant is, but not tell you it's closed! So you walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare T
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying us. We apologize that we did not give you perfect guest satisfaction. Regarding all of your problem you had during your stay, We have reported to the related department heads. They will follow up quickly and ensure these problems will not happen again. Hope in the near future you will come back again and...

Suzhou, China
Reviewed 26 November 2015

AC was not working in the room. After coplaining and 2 hours waiting. nothing was solved. Room was changed and in the new room water was cold only. Breakfast was quite "pour". The feeling was that the hotel was empty and everything was in "safe money" mode. Shuttle bus to Metro is so and so and there is nothing in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo B
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and sharing with us your comments. We are sorry that we did not give you a 100% perfect stay in the hotel. We are a hotel next to a golf club and you can enjoy the nice golf view in most of our rooms. Also our shuttle bus can take you to and...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 11 November 2014 via mobile

For a recognised international hotel brand you would expect service staff to speak English. The front desk was perfect but as for breakfast restaurant staff, other than good morning their English is non existent. Also their failure to clear tables to allow others to sit down for breakfast is terrible, I stayed 3 nights and cleared tables for breakfast twice....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stylishgolf
Richard R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren, responded to this review

Dear Stylish Golf, Thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay at Crowne Plaza Lake Malaren. we apologize for the gaps in service from our Food & Beverage team and worse yet for experiencing problems with pests served with your tea; we strive to deliver a great guest experience and as such are disappointed that we...

187 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (90)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Anting
#132 of 4,966 in Shanghai
75 reviews
Holiday Inn Shanghai Nanxiang
#187 of 4,966 in Shanghai
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waigaoqiao
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
#80 of 4,966 in Shanghai
309 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
#91 of 4,966 in Shanghai
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Lake Malaren is the first international hotel in the Baoshan district, a fast developing, northern suburb of bustling Shanghai. Known for its rich and natural settings on the Lake Malaren Resort, Crowne Plaza Lake Malaren Shanghai is a mere thirty minutes away from Shanghai's city center. The adjoining Lake Malaren Golf Club operates 2 Jack Nicklaus PGA accredited 18-hole courses surrounding the hotel and was certified as the First Silver Signature Sanctuary in China and Asia by Audubon International in 2006. The resort and both golf course are part of the greater Lake Meilan Luodian New North Town development.The newly opened Metro Line 7-Meilan Lake Station is a short 3-minute drive from the hotel. And just 60 minutes to Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport or 90 minutes to Shanghai Pudong International Airport by subway.It is also a short 30 minute drive from the hotel to the city center and easily accessible to Shanghai Pudong International Airport with 75 km by outer-ring road (G1501) and 30 km to Shanghai Hongqiao Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren

Address: 6655 Hutai Road, No.9 Meilan Road, Shanghai 201908, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Price Range: €70 - €134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren 4.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#145 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#387 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Colorado Springs, Colorado

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't bother.”
 of 5 bubbles tripad2017, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only come here if you need the convenience of the location and not looking for any sort of quality.”
 of 5 bubbles RaoulDJ, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Gold course view”
 of 5 bubbles 766sebastianp, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“verificare che funzionino il riscaldamento e l'acqua calda”
 of 5 bubbles LorenzoB637, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Great looking golf course.”
 of 5 bubbles nicoleg204, 27 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5