We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

L'otel

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
L\\
L'otel
Panoramas (37)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for L'otel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 69: English reviews
Los Altos Hills, California
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Stayed for 10 nights. Room was clean, smoking free room was really no smell, which is most important to me. Bed was so so but I was able to have good sleep on it. House keeping can be more professional. Although the bed was made everyday but floor was not vacuumed, cup was not washed. No coffee maker in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 10sidecude
Kenneth Y, Manager at L'otel, responded to this review

Dear guest, I apologise for the housekeeping's error back in October. Clearly no excuse for that. We will continue to strive for quality in our guest rooms. Your feedback has been extremely helping and we appreciate it. Thank you!

Malden, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 August 2015

This hotel had clean and modern rooms. The staff was friendly and most spoke some English. It is a fifteen minute walk to the train station but I did feel like it was in the middle of nowhere. If I were to stay in Shanghai again, I would look for something closer to the city center. Another bonus was that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank whelanf
Kenneth Y, Owner at L'otel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind response. We will try and make ourselves a greater attraction to people even if they have to travel a little further! We appreciate your kind feedback and will always work harder to get better. Thank you

Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Currently staying at this establishment. Located 1.6 km (around 15 minutes) from Shanghai South Train Station through a local neighborhood. The room: we have booked a regular room. The room itself is very very small, good for one occupant. Two (as we are) is pretty tight! No coffee (only at a charge). Bathroom is fine. Garden: The "famous" garden is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank domra
Kenneth Y, Owner at L'otel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Maam, We're sorry that you had an unpleasant stay. We usually get positive feedback about our service and the warm heartedness of our staff. A lot of times things are conveyed with smiles and we try to teach our staff good body language even though their English does need improving. I would like to apologise for the wait upon...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Nice, clean hotel. Stayed here three nights and am checking out this morning. Location a bit out of the way. I was able to walk to the underground station in 15 minutes. Staff was helpful. I am outgoing and friendly and they responded to me in kind. Room was very. small however up to date and extremely clean. I am...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scottofhawaii
Kenneth Y, Owner at L'otel, responded to this review

Dear Scott, I'm just writing to say I'm thankful for your review sir. Hope to see you again soon. Room size is something we get a lot and we hope one day to make them a bit bigger! Thank you

Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

Extremely disappointing stay. The staff was unbelievably rude and disrespectful - I have stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world, and I have never experienced anything like this. The entire staff should be fired - starting with the supervisor (who does not speak a word of English). And by the way - although the hotel is supposed to be...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MayaNad
Kenneth Y, Owner at L'otel, responded to this review

Dear Maam, I'm responding to your review and I assume your travel partner's below. I am very sorry about the rude experience you had. We do our very best not to hire incompetent and rude staff as you said you had. Helen Xia has been working for our hotel for over 5 years. She is an experienced hotel manager and...

Washington
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

We are posting this open letter to the hotel's Menager, since no one replied to our emails. To the Menager. I am currently staying at L'otel. I would like to file a complaint. Your staff is rude, incompetent, insulting and disrespectful. We have had only negative interactions with your staff. We are very disappointed. 1. People barely speak any English...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MishaMints
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 17 July 2015

L'otel was a great place for us to stay, we were doing a lot of traveling around Shanghai on the train and having it be so close to the train station was really helpful! It seemed like it was mostly for Chinese business travelers, but no matter! We were totally comfortable there. The buffet breakfast was yummy with a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LandFTravel
Kenneth Y, Owner at L'otel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Maam, Thank you for your kind review. Our peacocks will be here to welcome you on your next stay. Thank you so much and we will keep trying to improve.

Irvine, California
Reviewed 30 June 2015

L'otel is about 10 minutes by walking from Shanghai South Station. Though it may sound short, it was not an easy walk under hot and humid weather, especially at night after a long day. I could not make frequent trips to and from the hotel. Reaching any major point of interest on foot may be somewhat unthinkable. I have seen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fscholar
Kenneth Y, Owner at L'otel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Maam, Thank you for your review. We do have a shuttle available for rent. Please ask next time yes! And we're sorry about the amenities in the room. We will look into adding some others in the future. We're a green hotel so we want to save the environment too! It's always a tricky balance. Thank you and see...

Reviewed 10 June 2015

Stayed in L'otel in transit to another. Picked it because of the good reviews. We were really satisfied with how nice the property was. It's a very green hotel with a huge garden and plants on the walls. It makes for a very cozy atmosphere. Our room was upgraded to a loft and it was a very nice room indeed....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raffy P
Kenneth Y, Owner at L'otel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Maam, Thank you so much for your review. Thank you also for appreciating our lofts. We hope to serve you again soon. Do come again.

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 19 May 2015

We stayed at L'otel in early May 2015. We enjoyed our stay the room was good, staff was nice. It just lacked the extra something, yes they had the peacocks but they were overshadowed by the nearby highrise construction. It was a mile walk to the Metro and a good 1/2 mile to a good market area. We stayed 7...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrienNVanessa
Kenneth Y, Owner at L'otel, responded to this review

Dear Brien, Thank you for your constructive feedback. We will work on that "little extra something" and hope to provide you with that next time you return. Thank you once again!

458 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (349)
Viewed
Amenities (34)
Viewed
Loft Studio (56)
Viewed
Loft Studio(Twin) (47)
Viewed
L’otel Room (38)
Viewed
Prime Suite (47)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Superior Twin Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Starr Hotel
#123 of 4,967 in Shanghai
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#96 of 4,967 in Shanghai
407 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Jing An Temple
Zhongshan Park
Mercure Shanghai Royalton
Mercure Shanghai Royalton
#157 of 4,967 in Shanghai
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
L'otel opened its doors in late 2008 as Shanghai's first totally non-smoking hotel, and one of the first to seriously pursue green living. It was the first in Shanghai to incorporate live plant walls, that not only improve air quality but are extremely easy on the eyes. It boasts a garden that is organically fertilized, MSG free food, energy saving LED light bulbs, hand ground soy-bean milk for breakfast, Simmons dual coil beds and even Tempurpedic pillows, proving you don't need to spend much or look far to find this hidden gem tucked away in the hustle and bustle of central Shanghai. Family run and owned, the pervading warmth and soulfulness brings guests a sense of community rarely found elsewhere. Come, see, and experience the L'otel for yourself. ... more   less 

Additional Information about L'otel

Address: No.385 Laohumin Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200237, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai South Railway Station
Price Range: €52 - €73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'otel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your L'otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#107 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from L'otel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from L'otel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to have meals before coming back to the hotel as there aren't any decent restaurants, just some small local shops around.”
 of 5 bubbles ansonp721, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You need a reliable mean of transportation if you want to get out the Hotel”
  • L'Otel
  • L'Otel
  • L'Otel
  • L'Otel
  • L'Otel
  • L'Otel
  • L'Otel
  • L'Otel
 of 5 bubbles 725DanM, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Suite was VERY large and gorgeous, regular room was beautiful as well”
 of 5 bubbles morganm459, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The loft is pretty cute.”
 of 5 bubbles 385raffyp, 10 Jun 2015 | Read review
“a loft room is spacious”
 of 5 bubbles losototravel, 26 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates