We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Plantation Island Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,595 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Plantation Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,575: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Rooms were clean. Had massages at sister resort. Good massages. Many kids at resort. Some staff members seemed annoyed when we ask questions. At the bar and also when we arrived. People at front desk were nice. Only ate breakfast there. 40.00 American dollars for breakfast. We thought that was a terrible price for 2 people...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kevin A
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Kevin Thank you for the review. Just to clarify the Full Buffet Breakfast is USD$20 per person, and as a couple possibly Lomani Island Resort would suit you more. Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Green Island, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great expectations when arriving at island,unfortuneatley that is where it ended. We were a party of 10,7 adults and 3 kids (under 12).Kids eat free if accompanied by an adult.However 1 restaurant was closed which cut down the choices.1 restaurant catered only for adults.That left 1 that had a theme night buffet every night (kids menus stayed the same)I think...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank MarkRaftery
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Mark As you communicated to our Front Office Manager at the time, and have confirmed here, you have written a poor review due to him collecting an unpaid Bill. Your family member dropped the Keys and inadvertently left with an outstanding balance. The staff were just doing their jobs (and they are Fijian)... We will pass your feedback regarding...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just had our 3rd trip to Plantation Island in mid Jan 2017 and it is still the top of my list for a relaxing family holiday. If you have kids - any age, then Plantation Island is a must go. Although our kids didn't attend the kids club as they feel they are a bit too old, the children...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank leighstravels
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Leigh We appreciate the review, and we all look forward to you all returning next year! Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After returning from a 10 day stay just yesterday I can honestly say that apart from a few minute 'niggling’ disappointments, my family of 5s holiday was amazing. I think some of the unrealistic and non-Fijian expectations that 'city folk' have is that this wonderful resort should feel like you’re staying at a fine posh hotel (Musket Cove will cater...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kyliee07
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Thank you for your review, great advice......I have embraced it! Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 10 days here in mid Jan' 17. We had our 4yo and 7yo kids with us who really enjoyed it. We stayed in a garden Bure and feel it was really good value. Great for two small kids and 2 adults who need some privacy. Very clean and tidy and a lot of room to spread your stuff...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank TheKlWl
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula It is terrific to read that you had a great time, you found your Bure to be suitable and that our team attended to your maintenance issues quickly. Your praise for our Housekeepers is appreciated and I will pass that feedback onto them. You are quite correct, we do not stock cutlery and crockery in guest rooms as we...

North Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a studio garden bure with a view onto the ocean. The decor is tired and the soft furnishings need cleaning/replacing and a bit of painting to freshen it up. Otherwise once we settled in we loved the place, plenty of activities and things happening especially for kids. You can grab a coffee, then snorkel straight off the jetty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jbster2015
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula We are delighted to see that you had a great time, and took advantage of so many of the facilities available - including Bula Bikes. I agree our staff are lovely, and go out of their way to please. The prices do include 25% Government Tax, and we do at all times endeavour to keep cost in a minimum...

Albury, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are a family of four who travelled with another family to Plantation Island where we stayed for 10 nights. We had a fantastic time, the rooms were clean and serviced daily. We purchased 1/2 board which we were very happy with and had no complaints with the food. The staff were amazing and so welcoming. We all had the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _simonenorris23
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula That is great to read, we look forward to seeing you back soon... Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Family of 4 with two kids, thank God for the water and fish for the snorkelling. We stayed for 7 days, probably 1-2 days too long in the same place. The accomadation is average, outdated with poor lighting and room service, or no room service at all, at varying hours very late in day or 9am. Staff are friendly, food...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Antony H
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Antony Thank you for your review, and we are glad we meet some of your expectations and certainly apologize for not meeting some others. In the past year we have purchased new Stand Up Paddle Boards, Kayaks, Canoes, Wind Surfers, Hobie Cats and built a new Beach Activities Bure. Many more improvements planned for2017 and beyond. You cant just...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Just returned from my second trip to Plantation Island Resort. Once again I loved the experience. For me a holiday is all about lying on the beach, swimming in the magnificent water, snorkelling, paddle boarding etc. It's such a bonus to have sandy beaches on the island which is missing from many resorts on the Coral Coast. My room was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BevvyM
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Great to read that your had a great second time here at Plantation Island Resort, if your relaxed - we are relaxed! We all look forward to your third visit... Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Reviewed 18 January 2017

Plantation Island was a great place to relax, unwind and bring in the New Year! This was my second visit to Plantation. Fiji time is actually a thing, and at first hard to adjust to, but once you accept it you really feel like you are on holiday, and appreciate living to enjoy time instead of having time dictate to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Zara A
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Zara Thank you for your review, and we are delighted that you had such a great time! It certainly seems like you have really captured the very essence of Fiji, and Plantation Island Resort... Hope you can return soon. Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

2,161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1590)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (359)
Viewed
Dining (106)
Viewed
Room/Suite (153)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (159)
Viewed
View from Room (143)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (615)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (451)
Viewed
1 Bedroom Garden Terrace Room (58)
Viewed
2 Bedroom Garden Bure (55)
Viewed
Amenities (58)
Viewed
Beach (51)
Viewed
Beachfront Bure (49)
Viewed
Kids Pool (5)
Viewed
Oasis Pool (17)
Viewed
Ocean Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Studio Garden Bure (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (120)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.4 km away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
665 reviews
0.8 km away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
704 reviews
18.9 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
855 reviews
5.8 km away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
822 reviews
20.0 km away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: €149 - €329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Plantation Island Resort staff and other travellers.
101 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (101)

Questions? Get answers from Plantation Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beach front bures are quieter, despite being in front on the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles raffertye, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We didn't stay for the night, just made a day trip so cannot comment.”
 of 5 bubbles coogee3, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“best value for money”
 of 5 bubbles louisanicolson80, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Family Garden Bure”
 of 5 bubbles 17briano, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have stayed poolside, garden & beachfront each has positives & negatives. Beachfront has best view (though not so good for very tall people)”
 of 5 bubbles Kyliee07, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5