We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Plantation Island Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$232*
US$183*
Great Deal
US$214*
US$192*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,638 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,618: English reviews
Start your review of Plantation Island Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My family of 5 had our first trip to Fiji a couple of weeks ago. We stayed at Plantation Island for 5 nights before heading into the mainland for further stay. Plantation Island was the BEST! We switched off our phones, enjoyed swimming, eating, water sports (all free), bike riding and exploring what the island has to offer. The highlight...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Naomi S
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Naomi We are delighted to see that your holiday was so successful, especially because our team made you all welcome with their natural Bula spirit... Fiji is lucky to have many return visitors, no one though would come back if the first visit wasn't great. Hope to see you back soon! Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I came here with a group of friends for a wedding. Stayed in this resort for 5 days, 4 nights. Got the 2 bedroom garden bure for a group of 6 people. Facilities best suited for a family trip. They have bicycles and lots of free water-sports activities to choose from. They also had a beach volleyball section which we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Demi Luv D
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Demi Good news that the Wedding went well and you had a decent break at the same time. Your observations are correct, we certainly are geared for families but hope we also cater for couples and others. Good thing about Fiji is there is a destination for all not to far apart... Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is our 3rd trip to Plantation, this time we stayed in a Garden Bure. It was clean and comfortable, and the grounds are always neat and tidy. They are doing works there at the moment but this did not impact on our holiday. The staff are great and always smiling. We are already planning a return trip in a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank shirl51
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula It is especially good to see that we are achieving some consistency and your visits meeting your expectations. Our staff constantly impress us with their never ending smiles and bula spirit, we all look forward to visit number 4! Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So happy we decided to venture out to Plantation Island as part of our first family holiday to Fiji. A Fiji holiday is not complete without a stay at the islands in my opinion. We stayed in a Beachfront Bure which was amazing, beautiful views from our doorstep. Room was clean and we serviced and everything we had hoped for....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michelle B
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Michelle We are so glad you all enjoyed your first holiday to Fiji, and hope we are part of the second one! Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly upon arrival, we had requested an early check in as we where attending a wedding at this venue. The reception staff advised that the room was not available until 2pm, so we went to explore the facilities, when getting back to reception at 2pm to collect our room key, we where then advised to take a seat (for 20minutes)...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank gmorgan225
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Ms Morgan Thank you for your review although we do not agree with your remarks. We do regret that you left with these negative impressions. As explained to you Check-in time is 2pm. At times of high occupancy when all Bures are fully booked, then we cannot change you to a different category upon request. We have commenced a...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great time at plantation island. Stayed 6 nights in a beach facing Bure with our friends in the ajoining unit. The room was relative basic but clean, tidy and had adequate room for our gear. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Our daughter went to kids club and found it to be great. The various...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patricia O
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Patricia Delighted that the whole family had such a great holiday here at PIR - staff, food, services and accommodation all met your expectations. We trust you can all return to paradise shortly! Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great beach, excellent snorkeling, and caring staff. Food is at best fair, and needs improvement. We had a problem with a group in an adjoining bure that started drinking at 3pm. Finally after 3 trips by security asking them to stop the noise ,drinking, swearing and poor behaviour they settled down at 2am. Management was able to shift us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Bruce Two things we cant prevent, bad weather and the moronic behaviour of a very few Guests! It's good to know that we did our best to control them and were able to move you - I hope you haven't judged us poorly because of them. We would not consider imposing a "curfew" on so many wonderful guests that...

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful island with perfect facilities for the kids. After reading many reports I had to write in support of the resort. Staff are mostly very friendly and Jim in the bar and Angry Bob are champions. Don't expect a 5 star resort and you will find this island lovely. Rooms were incredibly clean and spacious. Very relaxed and laid back...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 535jeff
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Thanks for the feedback, our staff are great and I agree we have some characters in the Bar and Jim does a great job! Black Coral Restaurant has come a long way in the past 12 months with a lot of hard work, and its very good to see that these efforts are paying off... We hope you can...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Plantation Island Resort met all our expectations. The Bure was very comfortable - large bed, kettle tea, coffee and sugar available, fridge, and a large enough bathroom. The gardens are well kept. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. There was work on one side of the resort to improve the beach but it really didn't impact too badly on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah H
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Sarah Great to read, we genuinely look forward to your return to Plantation! Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our 2nd choice and had mixed feelings as we are seasoned travellers to Fiji. We began our trip at the Sheraton and then had a cruise on Captain Cook Cruises. Last stop Plantation Island for 5 nights. We were concerned about the waterfront renovations and had considered changing. After discussing with our agent, we decided to try the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Noo286
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Thank you very much for your review, feedback and observations. It is really good to read that you had a great time here at Plantation Island Resort. We are not surprised however very happy that you were pleasantly surprised! Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

2,192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1621)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (371)
Viewed
Dining (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (153)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (162)
Viewed
View from Room (143)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (629)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (451)
Viewed
1 Bedroom Garden Terrace Room (58)
Viewed
2 Bedroom Garden Bure (55)
Viewed
Amenities (58)
Viewed
Beach (51)
Viewed
Beachfront Bure (49)
Viewed
Kids Pool (5)
Viewed
Oasis Pool (17)
Viewed
Ocean Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Studio Garden Bure (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (120)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (45)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.5 km away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
694 reviews
0.8 km away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
722 reviews
18.8 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
878 reviews
5.7 km away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
852 reviews
20.0 km away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: €148 - €393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Plantation Island Resort staff and other travellers.
114 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (114)

Questions? Get answers from Plantation Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The garden bure near the pool was great for our family!”
753naomis, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“beach front views!”
, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“West side rooms front a gorgeous sandy bay shrouded in coconut trees also very close to all amenities.”
535jeff, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Beachside bungalows are worth the little extra!”
nickpM7874OZ, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“dont expect too much”
jasonbK223II, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$183* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$214
PricelineUS$192
TripAdvisorUS$183
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates