We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Peerless Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Peerless Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

598 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Peerless Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 573: English reviews
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2015

located near new market...good for foodies and shoppers alike....pleasant staff....complementary standard breakfast.. popular place ..easy to locate and get around...recommended for short stop and same time...be near the happening places of kolkata like park street. also has a cinema adjacent for those who staying alone..

Helpful?
3 Thank ram t
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, Subhomoy De General Manager More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

Location is excellent but its lil costly according to services they provide .. In room dinig is very costly and food is just fine .. I gave 3 stars to this hotel only because of the location !! Would recommend this hotel only for the location

Helpful?
2 Thank manikchil
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments in trip advisor. We have taken note of your comments regarding service and are working towards improving the same. Trust you will find a definite change in your next visit. We look forward to your continued support and patronage to The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. Yours sincerely, Subhomoy De General Manager More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2015 via mobile

The hotel is big and its one of the oldest property of kolkata.check inn was smooth and as compare to other hotels the price is cheap as well.might be the reasons are that the rooms are old but they are big.foreign travellers are quite high in this hotel. One thing please note that the worst thing is wifi is complimentry... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank shahidb4u
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. Your positive comments about Check - in process and food is much appreciated. We have noted the concerns that you have highlighted regarding Wifi. Just to inform, by policy we offer 50 MB complimentary per day. Look forward to welcoming you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. Yours sincerely, Subhomoy De... More 

Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2015

This hotel is located on one of the posh areas of Kolkata. You have the option to book a room with roadside view. Good location for shopping and sight seeing. There are very good restaurants nearby. In short a pleasant and affordable stay for business people.

Helpful?
2 Thank sroymondal
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, Subhomoy De General Manager More 

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2015 via mobile

Two of us stayed here for a conference. I had asked for a different, and far cheaper hotel, but the travel company used by my employers refused to book that one "because they knew nothing about it", although it was one of the official conference hotels. They recommended this one. At the Peerless, which is ostensibly a comfortable and secure... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronan P

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2015

the hotel is conveniently located near many good restaurants and shopping area. The staff was courteous. We enjoyed an Easter morning breakfast and it was tasty. Some points to improve-complimentary mineral water and complimentary wifi.

Helpful?
Thank SanMusafir
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments at the Trip Adviser. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are delighted for your appreciation of the service provided by the team. Your words will go a long way to motivate them to deliver a higher level of service to our esteemed guests. Looking forward... More 

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Stayed for the first time based on Corporate tie up and great review of the Most centrally located Business Hotel in Kolkata. Completely opposite of the same- Highly over priced esp in Food and Beverages with bad taste and preparation, and pathetic Room service. Too add on the Break fast spread is absolutely below standards. And the worst part is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Saurabhbansal1983
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Although the superior room was well laid out, the services attached to the room were non-existent. The superior rooms are in an annex which is badly served. I had no WiFi for my entire 6 night stay. I gave up notifying them after 3 days as nothing was ever done about it. I notified the front desk that my refrigerator... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank drian001
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, for your recent stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata and for your valuable feedbacks on Tripadvisor. We have taken up the issues mentioned by you as Wifi and mini bar not working seriously and the concerned departments have been briefed. We will certainly take necessary corrective measures and we will do our best to delight you, should you... More 

Pune, India
Level Contributor
147 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2015

The hotel is living and operating in its old world name and glory. Right from the time you enter, you have bored staff with a 'couldnt care less about you' attitude. The elevators are terribly small, the rooms below average and the price exorbitant. Even for breakfast, they cant manage the crowd and i had to wait 10 minutes for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sapta1234
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

At the onset please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We have taken note of your feedback regarding staff attitude and restaurant service and are working on improving on the same. Assure that you will find a definite change in your next visit. Looking forward in welcoming you back at The... More 

Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Other than the very poor WiFi service (hotel staff were not even apologetic about it), cannot find anything to complain about this hotel. Rooms were good enough to meet our expectation and services were pretty prompt as well. Must praise the environment, food quality, food presentation & courteousness of the waiters in the Aheli restaurant. Even if I do not... More 

Helpful?
Thank taufiqzr2000
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

At the onset we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Adviser. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. Your positive comments have been shared with all our staffs and it will be a source of encouragement to deliver enhanced level of service. We have taken up the... More 

166 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.3 km away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#38 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
167 reviews
0.7 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
651 reviews
0.4 km away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#40 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#28 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
158 reviews
0.9 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,588 reviews
2.1 km away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#17 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 168 rooms and suites at The Peerless Inn hotel in Kolkata are spacious and come in five categories to meet the needs of various travellers and each category is unique in design and luxuriously appointed. The excellent services and facilities live up to the expectations of its brand name. State-of-the-art business facilities and conference rooms effortlessly meet any business or social occasion of any scale. Dining options are interesting and entertaining and include an authentic Bengali cuisine restaurant. A health club and great in-room amenities provide the much required post work respite. Central location at Chowringhee Savour authentic Bengali cuisine at Aaheli Efficient business facilities ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Peerless Inn

Address: 12 J L Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: €72 - €179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Inn Kolkata
The Peerless Inn Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Peerless Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Raipur, India
over a year ago
Weehawken, New Jersey
3 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Peerless Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor room”
 of 5 bubbles 673mdrezaulk, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to take rooms facing Dharmatala area and on upper floors.”
 of 5 bubbles RoyDebashis, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Donot Stay Here”
 of 5 bubbles investigator008, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are great but the only thing that rooms facing the streets may be noisy due to heavy traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles 518clements, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms airconditioned and well appointed.”
 of 5 bubbles GerryC539, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay