We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mark Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mark Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Start your review of Mark Hotel
 Click to rate
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

I was transferred to this hotel after the hotel I had booked and paid for bumped me in favour of another booking. Actually it was the 2nd hotel I was driven to at 3am after arriving solo in Kolkata- what an initiation. I just wanted a shower and bed so over looked the initial shabbiness of the room. Turned the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanieMackay
kolkataMark, General Manager at Mark Hotel, responded to this review

It was unfortunate that you had to face so many issues. However we have taken steps to refurbish the room you stayed and gave it a new look. If you do happen to be in the city ever, kindly allow us to host you for Lunch or Dinner with compliments from the Management. We hope to see you soon. General...

Reviewed 15 August 2016

We booked the hotel for one night before heading out for Shantiniketon, but decided to come back and stay there for the rest of our trip in Kolkata- because we loved it there! For 3000 Rs. per night, we couldn't have found a better place to be in. The Hotel is a bit difficult to find if you don't know...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ayesha S
kolkataMark, Manager at Mark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patron, We thank for your review and your kind words. Hoping for your continuous support and patronage. General Manager Mark Hotel

Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

Did a mistake, never ever again, NO WIFI don't give boardrooms even on a sunday for 2 hrs when it has no reservations, was asked to pay full day fare. Reception staff rude, wifi not working and rubbish reason being given for that

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raunak M
kolkataMark, Manager at Mark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We understand you had a bad experience at our hotel and apologize for the same. However you must understand that that services like a hall charge has air-conditioning, lighting etc, for which there are charges not only in our hotel, but worldwide. But the issue with the complimentary wi-fi has been resolved and henceforth you will find un-interrupted...

Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Reviewed 20 September 2015

There is no good reason to choose this hotel in the shabby part of town unless you have daily business around there. For instance, if the plan is to go shopping daily around New Market, hangout with friends and family, movies, etc all centring around New Market then this hotel would be one of a few dozen to choose from,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanim A
Reviewed 26 January 2015

Good location,friendly and helpful door staff.Rooms were ok but wi-fi was patchy,it kept dropping out,excellent wi-fi reception in lobby.Breakfast is average.Housekeeping service was slow.Felt ripped off when paying bill at end when paying between the Expedia rate and The hotel rate,there are much better hotels for the same or better price.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Paul B
kolkataMark, General Manager at Mark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patron, We thank you for staying with us. However we understand that you have been inconvenienced due to wi-fi network availability. Nevertheless we have installed network boosters to solve the problem and hope that you would not face this issue anymore on your next visit. Thanking you for your co-operation. General Manager Mark Hotel

Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Reviewed 21 January 2015

Don't ever go to this hotel if visiting Kolkata. The worst pathetic food and service is disaster. Minimum wait for tea / snacks is 1 hour. You don't get basic amenities like soap, toothbrush etc. Worst breakfast ever had in any of the hotels

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank shirishawasthi
kolkataMark, General Manager at Mark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patron, It was unfortunate that you have faced inconvenience and we apologize for the same. However we have now placed complimentary tea/coffee maker in every room and even kept a tea machine for quicker service for tea/coffee. We may have missed placing amenities in your room, however we now have regular check to make sure each room have amenities....

Reviewed 14 January 2015 via mobile

Big room, big and clean bed...housekeeping is good also. Location is just great..bathroom is so so...it can be more clean and well maintained.. Breakfast is buffet and average... Overall it was a good stay..

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank OrnifromBD
kolkataMark, General Manager at Mark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patron, We thank for your kind words in your review and promise that we would continue making it better for our guest. We now have introduced Live South Indian Breakfast to add more indian-ness to the Complimentary Buffet Breakfast and also change menu every day. Hoping for your continuous support. General Manager, Mark Hotel

Reviewed 6 January 2015 via mobile

You can stay according to range but there is a quality issue like towels were old . Hospitality was good , room is also clean. In buffet breakfast there were very few options to have ,but whatever it was ok .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vivek a
kolkataMark, General Manager at Mark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, It was unfortunate that you had received old towels during you stay with us. However we have now changed the Laundry Vendor to a more professional one and the linens are cleaner and fresher. We also have introduced Live South Indian Breakfast to add more indian-ness to the Complimentary Buffet Breakfast and also change menu every day. We...

Pécs, Pecs, Hungary
Reviewed 5 January 2015

If you don't notice the name of the hotel on the Marquis Street, you won't find it, because the reception is at the end of a tunnel... I had never traveled so tiny elevator which is working in this hotel. I arrived with my colleagues, we booked rooms in the same category, but my room was much worse. The walls...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoltán W
kolkataMark, General Manager at Mark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patron, We thank you for your stay with us. However it was unfortunate that you had to face some issues with your room and we apologize for the same. It is my pleasure to let you know that all rooms have been renovated. We have even changed our Laundry vendor to a more professional one to take care of...

Thane, India
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel is situated in the crowded Kolkata Market, 5 min walking distance from par street. The positives about the hotel & negative about the hotel is location. It's exactly in the market so 1st time it's bit difficult to find the hotel but at the same time for business travelers or travelers who want to see the heart of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kedar I
kolkataMark, General Manager at Mark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you to stay with us at Mark Hotel. You kind words in your review encourage us to do better. We are delighted to let you know that we have introduced Live South Indian Breakfast to add more indian-ness to the Complimentary Buffet Breakfast and also change menu every day. Hoping to see you again. General Manager....

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.1 km away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#33 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
167 reviews
0.3 km away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#45 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
245 reviews
0.2 km away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#67 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Aafreen International Hotel
Aafreen International Hotel
#104 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
22 reviews
0.2 km away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#158 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
149 reviews
0.4 km away
The Corporate
The Corporate
#132 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Mark Hotel

Address: 31/2 A Marquis Street. | Beside Jamuna Banquets,, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: €78 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mark Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I guess rooms nearer to elevator or wifi router would be better. there aren't any views around so dont bother with windows and such.”
bhondagaji, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Wi-fi too patchy on Level 5”
paulbN9881GY, 25 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Please don't book this hotel, if you get it for free also.”
shirishawasthi, 21 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Plz see the room before finalizing”
KedarI, 19 Jul 2014 | Read review
“all rooms are similar”
shashi2210, 16 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5