We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sheel Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mumbai (Bombay)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sheel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 21: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This place is utterly filthy and a soulless dungeon. As I write this I can see mice scampering along the filthy sticky carpet. I got up a minute ago and one ran across my foot. The bedsheets are white and covered in little specs of blood from bedbugs -- do they even wash the sheets? I'm going to leave with...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank id_just_stay_home
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2013

A good deal for Mumbai but not as cheap as other reviewers have said - we paid 550 rupees for twin room (shared bathroom) - private bathroom was 1050 rupees. Basic (just beds in a small room) but very well located. The room was clean (ish) and clean sheets were brought for us - though we were a bit started...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mrswonderstuff
Jitin G, Owner at Sheel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrswonderstuff, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad to have served you. Regards.

London
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Thanks to the other reviews we decided to go with this hotel and were not disappointed :) The rooms are cheap and basic, we paid 400 rupees for a twin room and shared a bathroom (bucket jobbie/squat toilet). They don't serve food but there are plenty of restaurants and streets stalls nearby, so you are not short of places to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TomHPhoto
Jitin G, Owner at Sheel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TomHPhoto, Thank you for the vote of confidence. Please do recommend us to your loved ones as well. Regards.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This place is CHEAP, there's very little in Mumbai that can even come close to the price. Keep that in mind, because you are going to be disappointed if you think that 500 rupees is going to get you much in this city. However, what this place may lack in cleanliness and appearance, it makes up for in price, location,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IDreamedOfThis
Jitin G, Owner at Sheel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DreamedOfThis, Thank you for your valuable feedback. Regards.

Coimbatore, India
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I was in Mumbai on 24,25,26,27 September at SHEEL HOTEL I am from Tamilnadu,Coimbatore i booked my stay through Phone from Coimbatore,they confirmed my booking,when i arrived to hotel the room cleaning was going on,but they obliged me, by arranging to have bath and nap further provided a safe place to keep my luggage,after 2 Hrs i was shifted to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank grandben1210
Jitin G, Owner at Sheel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear grandben1210, Thank you for the vote of confidence. We thrive to make our guests feel at home while their stay at the Sheel Hotel. Regards.

Poland
Reviewed 20 May 2012

If it was mentioned in Lonely Planet you would have to pay 800 Rs for a double room and it would be absolutely impossible to find the room there. Thank God LP didn't find them and you can stay there for 440 Rs (double). It is extremely close to Victoria Station so great location, and for small money you have...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank neonn
Jitin G, Owner at Sheel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear neonn, Thank you for the vote of confidence. We are glad to have served you. Regards.

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Cheap rooms cheap value cheap price very very basic rooms not clean and bathroom not clean also

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Apworldrider
Jitin G, Owner at Sheel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Apworldrider, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad you pointed out our faults. We will make it a point to never repeat our faults. Regards.

Sacramento
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Sheel Hotel is a nice hotel and the cheapest option we found in Mumbai. The staff is really friendly and the rooms are clean. It is in a great location, right next to the CST (or VT) train station and across from the Post Office where you can ship packages home. Good value hotel in a great location! I highly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jwarren525
Jitin G, Owner at Sheel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jwarren525, Thank you for your kind words. We thrive to make our customers feel at home while their stay at The Sheel Hotel. Regards.

Vals, Switzerland
Reviewed 23 December 2011

After a long search for a rather cheep hotel we finally found the Sheel Hotel. It is not the higher standard than the usual 600 IRS hotels in Colaba (means very small & all with shared bathroom), but when you have to stay a longer time in Mumbai you will be glad having a cheeper option. Compared to hotel prices...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mrgambit
Jitin G, Owner at Sheel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mrgambit, Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad to have served you. Regards.

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Very attractive prices from USD 10 to USD 24 Per night rooms. Rs.200 for Dormitory but not for foreigners due to security reason,Rs.440 for non a/c common bathrooms,Rs.625 for A/c common bathroom,Rs.1040 for A/c Attach bathroom with TV.Taxes all included. This hotel is opposite to Victoria terminus railway station and 10 mins walking distance from Colaba.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Guide_Paul
Management response:

The price were going to rise from the Month of August 2012 from 20 to 50%.

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Gateway of India
Benazeer Hotel
Benazeer Hotel
#334 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
16 reviews
Hotel Oasis
#242 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
116 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Landmark Fort
Hotel Landmark Fort
#271 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dreamland Hotel
#285 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
9 reviews
Gateway of India
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#119 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
134 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#82 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This property is perfect for budget travelers and backpackers due to price and location. This hotel is opposite to Victoria terminus railway station and 10 mins walking distance from Colaba. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheel Hotel

Address: 23 Dwarka Das Street, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Gateway of India
Price Range: €13 - €15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sheel Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Sheel Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a window.”
 of 5 bubbles neonn, 20 May 2012 | Read review
“Seek for room with window.”
 of 5 bubbles jwarren525, 3 Jan 2012 | Read review
“Try to get a room with a window”
 of 5 bubbles mrgambit, 23 Dec 2011 | Read review
“There are dogs,but friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles Guide_Paul, 25 Jul 2011 | Read review
4 of 4