We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ashok

TripAdvisorUS$108*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$141*
US$108*
Great Deal
US$141*
US$130*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Ashok
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

562 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Ashok
See the most recent reviews
Showing 511: English reviews
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 5 June 2015

Stayed there 2 nights. The hotel organises airport pick up but I could not find the driver. After 2 calls it was sorted. The rest of the stay was good. The rooms are old but functional and big. Lots of amenities. Breakfast buffet is poor and all I tried did not have any taste... The location is excellent for embassies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ludo-Owen
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Owen, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us & sharing your feedback with us. The Ashok constantly strives to ensure that all the guests get efficient and consistent services. We thank you for appreciating our rooms, its amenities and about the location. We sincerely apologise for the delay in airport pick-up....

Reviewed 2 June 2015 via mobile

It was a pleasant surprise to be at the Ashok.had heard many things good and bad.but it was really good here. Ambiance was great.great location.friendly staff.good room and great food.really looking forward to come back soon and advice friends to come and enjoy the great hospitality..at The Ashok

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darryl T
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Darryl, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sparing your valuable time in sharing your feedback with us on tripadvisor. We are glad to hear from you that we were able to keep up to your expectations and we really thank you for appreciating our Rooms, delicious food served...

Guwahati, India
Reviewed 28 May 2015

The hotel has the typical requirements of a 5 star property and is in a great location close to all the attractions in Delhi and also all the major New Delhi Government offices.But, somehow it does not have the same class and swankiness of other Delhi 5 stars. But, still mostly it is not the cheapest 5 star in Delhi....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joutishman
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Joutishman, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sparing your valuable time in sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. It is indeed a pleasure to know that you appreciated about the location of our hotel & we have also taken note of your comments regarding the experience about the...

Reviewed 28 May 2015

Was in Delhi for work, stayed at the Ashok. I must stay, it is a grand hotel, very well maintained. Cordial staff, excellent rooms, and great hospitality. Looking forward to staying here the next time I'm in Delhi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pranav_san
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Pranav, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sparing your valuable time in sharing your feedback with us on tripadvisor. We are glad to hear from you that we are able to keep up to your expectations and we value your patronage. It was indeed a pleasure having you at...

kentcuky
Reviewed 28 May 2015

The Ashoka New Delhi has been around since 5 decades and it still has its own grand hospitality tradition. Very cooperative staff and decent facilities... A Grade Breakfast and lunch and dinner at in house Restaurants... very convenient travel desk... Highly recommended.. The Hotel is very normal and you dont feel pressure from the staff to sell hotel services to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tkshah888
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Shah, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sparing your valuable time in sharing your feedback with us on tripadvisor. We are glad to hear from you that we are able to keep up to your expectations and we really thank you for appreciating our delicious food served at...

Pasadena, California
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Where to begin? Stayed here at the recommendation of a local friend who uses the hotel for business. Got a good rate thru him and was looking forward to the experience after reading other TripAdvisor reviews. The Good: My room, 560, was stocked with only two towels. When I called housekeeping they responded quickly and called maintenance for me to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lance I
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Lance, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank you for your important feedback about The Ashok at tripadvisor. At the outset, kindly accept my profound and sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your recent stay with us. However, the Hotel is known for its timely & class services but I am distressed that we could not match your expectations...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 23 May 2015

There is nothing that a little soap, water, elbow grease and paint wouldn't improve here except for the internet connection, which is inadequate an undependable. Everything is worn and plain tired. The furniture needs to be repaired. Lighting in the rooms could be improved. The ventilation system is noisy, The stairwell to the gym is unmarked and dinghy. And the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TeeJay23
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your recent stay at The Ashok May I, at the outset, proffer my most sincere apologies as it is apparent that we did not measure up. I would like to assure you that we are looking into your feedback with concern and every step...

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 11 May 2015

The major advantage of Ashok Hotel is it's location as it at close proximity of Rashtrapati Bhavan, India Gate and the Parliament. The rooms are comfortable however the washrooms are not tidy enough. The service is good although not prompt. You can give this property a pass.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anshuman89
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Anshuman, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sparing your valuable time in sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. It is indeed a pleasure to know that you appreciated about the location of our hotel & we have also taken note of your comments regarding the experience about the...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 28 April 2015

All I could say is that I booked the hotel for old world charm. Have been vising Ashok since it was painted white. Rooms are good, so is the "old world charm" about the entire structure. However that is not all I would look forward from a Hotel. Service standards were really bad. To list a few - 1. No...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank gaurava99
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Gaurav, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank You for choosing to stay with us and sharing your feedback. We regret that your recent experience with The Ashok was not up to the quality that we strive to deliver at all times. We are concerned to know about the issues you have raised during your stay with us. While we assure...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 24 April 2015

One of the best located hotel in Delhi and an iconic building. Changed its color long time ago as they did not like it . it has huge car parking and close to the seat of power. All road leads to the hotel. But that is where it ends. Wish it could be managed better like any other private hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank devinder s
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Devinder, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sparing your valuable time in sharing your feedback with us on Trip advisor. It is indeed a pleasure to know that you appreciated about the location of our hotel & we have also taken note of your comments regarding the experience about...

711 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (292)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (109)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (387)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Ashok Suite (64)
Viewed
Basant (36)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (20)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (96)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#446 of 708 in New Delhi
147 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#270 of 708 in New Delhi
93 reviews
4.9 km away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#47 of 708 in New Delhi
3,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
3.2 km away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 708 in New Delhi
2,552 reviews
3.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#38 of 708 in New Delhi
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imposing downtown hotel with distinctive royal feel completed with arches & turrets, situated in the Diplomatic Enclave. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ashok

Address: 50 - B Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Price Range: €89 - €234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashok 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel New Delhi
Ashok New Delhi
Hotel Ashok New Delhi
The Ashok Hotel
Ashok Hotel Delhi
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#61 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ashok staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Ashok staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think there are any good rooms.”
utas2010, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Smoking rooms stink...so stress on non-smoking rooms if possible”
Promit, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book the executive rooms... its a way better option than standard.”
joanth, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid at any cost, there are better choices”
523vandanam, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The electrical equipment looks old, but functional! Don't flip!”
, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$108* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$141
TravelocityUS$130
Expedia.comUS$130
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates