We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Maya

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Maya
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 80: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Silva, Nuwan & team have thought of every last detail to create the perfect, relaxing holiday experience at Maya. Rooms, pool, yoga pavilion and rice paddy views are all superb and Wasana's cooking is a real highlight. There are plenty of local excursions - the team organised a fantastic picnic breakfast trip to Uda Walawe - and 6 nights at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Where to start on how much I love Maya?! I booked out the whole villa twice this year (in May and September) and brought a group of people over from Australia for a yoga and meditation retreat. My guests had nothing but glowing reviews to give about Maya and I couldn't agree more with those thoughts. Dealing with the owner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachSydney2010
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The pictures don't do this place justice!! It's a beautiful peaceful paradise with fantastic food, a great team that look after every need you might have, an amazing yoga shala that looks out on to rice paddy fields, just 5 double rooms tastefully decorated to a high standard, access to yoga teachers, tai chi and massage. This is the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siva R
Colombo
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

This is a gorgeous peaceful property with fantastic staff. The food is divine! We loved such a peaceful property. The management and staff are very nice. Stay here if you love peace, luxury and serenity among lovely people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dat-gal-88
Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Fantastic place. We had it for our own. 5 rooms and us 5 were alone! A treat! I understand the low attendance since it is remote, 10 min away from the nearest village, so, far from alternative restaurants. We stayed for 3 nights. Prices were like in Europe. A rip off. We have been one week in Sri Lanka and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcos R
Nicola F, Owner at Maya, responded to this review

Thank you for your review although I am sad that you felt unhappy at Maya despite us offering your family a complimentary room for your entire stay. We always offer a 3 course menu for lunch and dinner in our meal rate with generous portions and a creative menu prepared daily by our chef to ensure the freshest ingredients. The...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 30 May 2016

It's very nice, beautiful landscaping and decent facilities. Food was good enough that we recommended it by people at Aman group (better than Aman?). Service is genuine. Expectations for this place were not too high so there were few disappointments - if I could change one thing it would be to lower the decibels at the local mosque.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank IIJAYESS
Nicola F, Owner at Maya, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. I am pleased you enjoyed the beautiful landscaping, food and service. The mosque you were referring to is actually the local village Buddhist Temple. As it is not a mosque there are no calls to prayer, but every Sunday morning there is some music for the Sunday School...

Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

We stopped at Maya for lunch.. its a beautiful old villa converted to a boutique hotel. Gorgeous property facing the paddy fields.Dinesh welcomed us very warmly and the staff were very friendly and nice. The food was amazing too ! It's definitely a piece of heaven.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dilini B
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We had an absolutely incredible stay at Maya. It is absolutely beautiful, with incredible service and delicious food. The perfect place to relax, swim, yoga, read, beach, tan, eat and drink. Difficult to find such attention to detail anywhere else. We will definitely be back soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannahbhayward
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

I just finished a week of pure bliss at Maya on a yoga retreat and it was perfection! The location is stunning, the food and service were outstanding and the rooms and outdoor areas are beautiful. Such a special place!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Misty T
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

I just completed a yoga retreat here and it was amazing. Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely staff and the food was simply delicious. Peace and quiet, completely relaxing. Lovely spacious rooms and beautiful gardens to relax and enjoy.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SarahWoody21

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tangalle
7.3 km away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
7.4 km away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 14 in Tangalle
291 reviews
7.3 km away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#8 of 14 in Tangalle
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
#9 of 14 in Tangalle
61 reviews
39.2 km away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
292 reviews
19.6 km away
Talalla Retreat
Talalla Retreat
#1 of 1 in Talalla
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Maya is a fully staffed luxury boutique villa in a 2 acre garden, with a 20 meter pool, surrounded by lush paddy fields yet only 15 minutes from the beaches near Tangalle. The 5 suites can be booked individually or guests can book the whole villa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maya

Address: Temple Road | Aranwella, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Price Range: €241 - €409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tangalle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maya staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 months ago
Guadalajara, Mexico
5 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Maya staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All beautiful rooms. Prefer the new wing but all have access to a pool right outside your door.”
 of 5 bubbles 875sivar, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Villas are amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles 699dominiquel, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the new wing seem more private, we stayed in both Ehala and Kohomba - stunning!”
  • Garden view in Kohomba room
  • Ehela room
 of 5 bubbles S1744CHjessicam, 9 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Difficult as all five are fab in their own ways”
 of 5 bubbles bettystaffs, 8 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Choose one of the suites in the new block if you want a private courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles LondonCLK, 3 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay