We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Show Prices
#9 of 65 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,806: English reviews
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEW

This was a lovely hotel overlooking the river but with a great pool area. The food and beer was expensive, so we ate from the bar menu which was adequate for what we needed. We were only there one night but would have liked to of stayed another night just for the pool. The traffic in Kandy was horrendous so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tageen1
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very nice and clean hotel, rooms very smart and very clean. Great location over looking the river. The gardens were very well kept and tidy and the swimming pool was great. Staff excellent and friendly. The buffet meals were very good with plenty of choice to suit every ones taste.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikemiddler1
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spent one night after wedding on our vacation.Chose the hotel because of the brand. but we were disappointed from the very beginning. Pros; 1. Nice food at the pool and the main restaurant 2. Friendly staff in the restaurant 3. Calm & quiet environment 4. Pool Guy was helpful Cons; 1. Prices that we booked for, is different from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kasuni P
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor . We thank you for your detailed feedback, we do regret that there were certain aspects of your stay with us which did not have a positive impact on your holiday experience. All aspects highlighted by you have been taken note of and looked into.We...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

One of the best buffet meals I and my partner ever had! We had a comfortable stay here while we explored Kandy. The room was basic and quite dated in its dark chocolate brown decor. I think the rooms at least could do with an update. The rest of Hotel was well maintained and showed potential of becoming a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candida S
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor . We are extremely pleased to know that you had an excellent and enjoyable stay with us. I would also like to thank you for your very kind words in relation to the resort and its facilities.We are also happy to note that you enjoyed the...

london
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent two days here on our tour. Liked the hotel very much large room and all the amenities you need lovely view from balcony. The bar was brilliant very large white and bright over looking the pool and river beyond, and hills with trees and houses built-in Hills. Staff very helpful. Bar had live music at night. Food very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kyanalbi
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on trip advisor . We are glad to know that your stay with us was a comfortable one and that you enjoyed all the facilities and services we had on offer . We look forward to your next visit . Wish you a pleasant day .

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights. Hotel and staff are really lovely with a nice bar overlooking the river to sit in and relax in the evening. The restaurant is very good. Not really a buffet dinner fan however the food here was really excellent with a huge choice. Breakfast choice was excellent too. Rooms were nice and comfy and big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neilers
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest , I am pleased read that you had such a wonderful time with us. We certainly try to make sure our guests have the time of their life and I’m happy to learn we succeeded. Thank you for your kind words and I would share your comments with our team members who helped make your visit a memorable...

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Cinnamon have got it right with this hotel. It has everything other 4 stars lack. Wonderfully appointed areas. Good ambience. Attentive staff. Cheap beer! I thought the buffet dinner was somewhat overpriced but the a la carte wasn't. The only annoyance was that the cleaner changed the air conditioning to a lower temperature each day so, when we returned to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we are delighted to know your stay was a great one that highlights the fact that you enjoyed all our facilities and services . We thank you again for staying with us and would be thankful to have the opportunity to serve you again in...

Manama, Bahrain
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is bang on the main lankan river passing thru Kandy, our room was at the very front of the courtyard giving us an amazing view of the river and surrounding greenery. Staff is good as in all cinnamon hotels that we stayed in. Rooms are adequately appointed though a little small compared to that on other properties of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank divy03
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had a great experience. We are all privileged and humbled by your kind words and complements towards our team. I will share your feedback with everyone to continually inspire them as we always aim to...

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights on our tour. The hotel was lovely with a large reception area and a drink on arrival. The bar is modern and the staff were good. In fact it was the only hotel on our tour that we actually sat in the bar before and after dinner. We had lunch on our first day in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your overall stay.It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us. We have taken note of your concerns and it would be looked into. Once again we would like to thank you for choosing Cinnamon Citadel...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were there for lunch on Sunday and the food was really good, the buffet had a good spread of salads , Srilankan and western items. The view from the hotel was super overlooking the Mahaweli river . Wonderful for a nice peaceful vacation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manika61
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest , I am pleased read that you had such a wonderful time with us. We certainly try to make sure our guests have a great time with us, and I’m happy to learn we succeeded. Thank you for your kind words and I would share your comments with our team members who helped make your visit a memorable...

1,747 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1545)
Viewed
View from Room (126)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (287)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (233)
Viewed
Room/Suite (215)
Viewed
Dining (130)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (504)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (194)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (31)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Superior Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
5.7 km away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#8 of 65 in Kandy
1,802 reviews
2.8 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#12 of 65 in Kandy
791 reviews
14.7 km away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 65 in Kandy
635 reviews
3.5 km away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#3 of 65 in Kandy
565 reviews
2.3 km away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#14 of 65 in Kandy
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range: €99 - €241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#4 Family Hotel in Kandy
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cinnamon Citadel Kandy staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Cinnamon Citadel Kandy staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were down! on level 3 which seemed odd but the balcony overlooked the river and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles tageen1, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all the rooms look out over the river but if on ground floor you can walk from you patio to the edge of the river”
 of 5 bubbles mikemiddler1, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“make sure the get the correct price and the correct bed.”
 of 5 bubbles kasunip2017, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try getting a room overlooking the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles divy03, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“River view is good but not all river view rooms have great river views!”
  • River room view
 of 5 bubbles ianEdinburgh, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5