We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Thilanka

Hotels.comUS$80*
View Deal
#12 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$166*
US$80*
US$166*
US$80*
US$166*
US$80*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 842: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Thilanka
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great Stay here in Kandy. Lovely location and pretty central. Relaxing hotel with great pool. Only bad thing and suggestion would be that the WIFI is only available in the lobby and pool side. great inconvenience when in your room. otherwise this hotel would be a 10/10 !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randheera F
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Greeting from kandy Thilanka Ayubowa, Thank you very much you share the comments about us in trip advisor .We love to read that you enjoy all you’re stayed at thilanka. Because that’s is the what we want for you and your visitors We apologize for any inconvenience caused to you and that certain aspects of the service received by you...

Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a 1 night stay here as we were doing a tour. Hotel was clean and staff were friendly. Rooms were big and had a nice view. Monkeys were on the balcony and in the grounds but the staff kept them under control as they were a bit cheeky. Good hotel nice wee bar with a nice view. Good evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theroadtoparadise
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your complimenting review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you had a truly enjoyable experience and our products and services were meeting your expectations. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back. Wish you a pleasant day

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was our second stay at this hotel and we found the hotel excellent. The rooms and the facilities were very good and more than than the staff is Super! They are externally humble and portrayed the true Sri Lankan culture and hospitality. Super efficient bunch of people! We are Glad we made the decision to stay at the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lakshika G
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Ayubowan! Greetings from thilanka kandy ! It is with great pleasure that we note your endorsement on our product and services. We Endeavour to ensure a memorable stay for our guests and are happy that our team assisted you in taking away great memories of your visit. We will continue to develop and improve our product and services in order...

New Germany, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is the best hotel i find kandy, its up on the hill but can be easily reache by a vehicle or a tuk tuk, Every person in this hotel is tryiing their best to give the best during your stay, houskeeping reception and the kitchen crew made our stay so beautiful. we have had a wondeful experience in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anoja c
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from thilanka kandy ! We highly appreciate your review of the Thilanka Kandy. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our services and facilities Your feedback is already been shared with the team. that our team assisted you in taking away...

Waterloo, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed our two night stay at this hotel. The view was amazing, the beds were very comfortable, the pool was refreshing, the staff were always helpful and friendly, and the dinner and breakfast buffets had a wide range of local and international selections to suit everyone's taste.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WanderingPete91
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from thilanka kandy ! Thank you very much you share the comments about us in trip advisor .We love to read that you enjoy all you’re stayed at thilanka. Because that’s is the what we want for you and your visitors.We strive to exceed our guest expectation and create memorable experience . We look forward to...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived at the hotel with the impression that it was going to be a surreal experience here but we were proved wrong. The food and the scenery on the contrary was quite good, however the service given by the hotel staff was horrible. We were shown a lot of negative attitudes by the hotel kitchen when we ordered food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chamil E
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from thilanka kandy ! The Comments made by you are noted. We apologize for any inconvenience caused to you and regret that certain aspects of the service received by you have not met your expectations. Your feedback is already been shared with the team.necessary action will be taken for the betterment of future guests. We are...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Gives such a wonderful view from the top of Kandy city. Really it was nice to be here in last month .i loved this view so much because i expected a calm good place to stay when i travelled to kandy .. Fresh fruits and it offfers overseas and local foods both . Had a really nice time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank expertrooms
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from thilanka kandy ! Thank you very much you share the comments about us in trip advisor .We love to read that you enjoy all you’re stayed at thilanka.We look forward to your next visit to the thilanka kandy! Thank you, Thanking you

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night whilst touring the cultural triangle, ideally situated just 15 minutes down hill walk from the temple of the tooth and the lake. Room was well appointed, the evening buffet was expansive and had a nice a mix of different Sri Lankan dishes and both Western and Asian choices, make sure you leave room for the wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank addisdas
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from thilanka kandy ! We highly appreciate your review of the Thilanka Kandy. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back Thanking you

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. Not the flashiest hotel but certainly adequate. Good food at the buffet for both breakfast & dinner. Rooms were comfortable only downside was the extra bed was a sofa bed and they are never great. Staff were excellent and very helpful overall a good stay in Kandy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kayjay349
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from thilanka kandy ! Your kind sentiments in respect of our food and service is a source of encouragement to us. It was indeed a pleasure to have had you with us. Thank you very much you share the your comments about us in trip advisor We certainly look forward to welcoming you back. Thanking you

Dubai
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, the rooms need upgrading but are functional, however the bathroom had been partially refitted. There is virtually no storage space so don't bother to unpack! We had a problem with the AC one night but they managed to fix it for the second night. The Views from our rooms were lovely but we didn't use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarriottFamily
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from thilanka kandy ! Your feedback is already been shared with the team to have them closely investigated and necessary action will be taken for the betterment of future guests. we take all feedback seriously and sincerely regarding that we did not meet your expectation. We apologize for any inconvenience caused to you. Thanking you

1,012 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (739)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (71)
Viewed
View from Room (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (154)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (231)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (212)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Normal Deluxe Room (26)
Viewed
Normal Deluxe Room (Alternative) (27)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Suite Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (42)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
0.5 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
975 reviews
4.0 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
718 reviews
1.6 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.8 km away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
1,917 reviews
2.0 km away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Hotel Thilanka

Address: 3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Price Range: €68 - €209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thilanka 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Thilanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Kandy
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#7 Family Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Thilanka staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Thilanka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the Kings Rooms they are the best.”
cecilratnayake, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lake Views”
BazH11, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a lake view”
sheilar333, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are many kinds of rooms. Ask to see them before taking.”
Periakka, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Always book a room with a view of City and mountain range”
HDSPat1984, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$80* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$80
Expedia.comUS$80
AMOMAUS$166
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates